We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delaney Irish Pub in the Federal Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Federal Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Federal Hotel to your Saves list
Federal Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Jalan Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 284 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Delaney Irish Pub in the Federal Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I didnt stay in the hotel but visited this Irish pub a few time during my last 3 visits to KL. What appeals to me is the relaxed atmosphere, the food and most of all the staff are superb. Well done to all involved.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    182
    151
    63
    48
See reviews for
124
146
35
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Ambience was very good and reception was very prompt. Location of this is in the heart of Bukit bintang. We booked a standard room. Room was clean ,washroom had no issues. Comfortable bed. Good value but room size needed to be a little bit more when compared to other standard rooms. Complimentary Toileteries were good.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We read mostly negitive reviews of this hotel on Trip Advisor. However, we were to meet some people there and needed to stay for at least two nights. We upgraded one level above the least expensive double.
it is an older hotel, but in a very good area for shopping and observing ciity life. Our room was spacious with a wonderful king size bed with clean white bedding. it was well cleaned each day. We always found helpful people at the desk. Watch out for the people at the lower level desk, though. They work for a different company and are more expensive and manipulative.
We thought the breakfast was fine, in fact good, after we figured out where we could find everything we wanted. We also had a fun time watching a thunderstorm at the revolving restaurant on the top floor while having happy hour wine and appetizers.
We had three more nights to spend in KL after out Borneo trip, and chose to stay at the Federal, mostly because of the location and comfort.
We are in our 70s and try to stay in more or less local hotels.

Room Tip: Worth it to upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The rooms is small and breakfast without much choices.
Amenities near Hotel is aplenty.
Located near Biggest IT mall and Heart of Bukit Bintang,
but traffic is very bad due to construction of MRT rail system.
Walking Distance to Berjaya Times Square.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed here a couple of nights when we were passing through KL and even after so many years, the hotel's keeping up...the rooms have been renovated and are very comfortable, the pool area is deserted during the day although it is quite nice, even though the pool could do with an upgrade, too...
Efficient people at the reception, which was a nice surprise.

The location is unbeatable, right in the Bukit Bintang area, which is great for shopaholics (especially the electronic maniac types as Low Yat Plaza is right next door).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The room is small . Clean and presentable. Not much view as it is centre of city. Near all the foot massage parlors and shopping area. Walking distance to Chinatown and Times Square. Near many restaurants . It is a good hotel located centrally in Bukit Bintang

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Positive: This is an older, well established, large hotel with a large number of amenities including a nice pool although surprisingly no fitness centre. It is in a great location on a busy street in the middle of the major shopping and dining area of Bukit Bintang. We were upgraded (on their initiative, perhaps because we were staying for six days) to a medium large room overlooking the pool, which was a nice size room with separate chairs and small coffee table, and a work desk. The bed was huge and comfortable, the room has a medium sized safe (not quite big enough for a 15 inch MacBook) and the bathroom was a good size and well appointed. We had room service dinner one night and it was a basic menu but good quality, generous, tasty and piping hot food. All staff in all positions we encountered were friendly, attentive and helpful, which is not as common as you might expect, and certainly appreciated.
Negative: Our upgraded large room was unfortunately equipped with an adjoining room door which had no soundproofing and on a night there was a family next door we could hear everything all night. Soundproofing to corridor also not great. It took us a couple of days to get used to the lingering smoke smell in the room - it appears hotels in Malaysia still allow smoking in the rooms. We struggled to warm the room up, despite having maintenance reset the ventilation temperature. The room had aircon if we needed it but the default ventilation was too cool and there were no heating options. The ambient temperature in the corridors and public spaces was chilly too - great for businessmen in suits and ties, not so good for scantily clad tourists! The free WiFi only applied to one device at a time, and in addition was dire, varying between occasionally snappy to largely pitiful and virtually unusable. We were unable to connect an iPhone to the network throughout our stay as the signal was too weak, and our iPad and laptop struggled to stay online, not only in our room but in the lobby, and nothing at all possible around the pool. This was pretty disappointing in a four star hotel in a country that has such high speed, unlimited internet. Overall however, we were happy with our stay here and will probably stay again.

Room Tip: Pool side are quieter and larger, but watch out for adjoining room doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Federal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Federal Hotel

Address: 35 Jalan Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 284 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Federal Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right smack on Bukit Bintang, surrounded by shopping malls and restaurants (Chinese, Western, Japanese, Korean, Indian and Middle Eastern). The famous Alor Street (Jalan Alor Hawker Street - local foods) is opposite the hotel; and two monorail station are mere 5 minutes walk. The largest IT lifestyle in malaysia, LOW YAT PLAZA is besie hotel's rear entrance. For those who enjoy nightlife; there are pubs, clubs beside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Federal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Federal Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Federal Kuala Lumpur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Federal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.