We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel at central location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Federal Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Federal Hotel to your Saves list
Federal Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Jalan Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #100 of 286 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good hotel at central location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The room is small . Clean and presentable. Not much view as it is centre of city. Near all the foot massage parlors and shopping area. Walking distance to Chinatown and Times Square. Near many restaurants . It is a good hotel located centrally in Bukit Bintang

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    188
    156
    65
    51
See reviews for
129
150
36
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Positive: This is an older, well established, large hotel with a large number of amenities including a nice pool although surprisingly no fitness centre. It is in a great location on a busy street in the middle of the major shopping and dining area of Bukit Bintang. We were upgraded (on their initiative, perhaps because we were staying for six days) to a medium large room overlooking the pool, which was a nice size room with separate chairs and small coffee table, and a work desk. The bed was huge and comfortable, the room has a medium sized safe (not quite big enough for a 15 inch MacBook) and the bathroom was a good size and well appointed. We had room service dinner one night and it was a basic menu but good quality, generous, tasty and piping hot food. All staff in all positions we encountered were friendly, attentive and helpful, which is not as common as you might expect, and certainly appreciated.
Negative: Our upgraded large room was unfortunately equipped with an adjoining room door which had no soundproofing and on a night there was a family next door we could hear everything all night. Soundproofing to corridor also not great. It took us a couple of days to get used to the lingering smoke smell in the room - it appears hotels in Malaysia still allow smoking in the rooms. We struggled to warm the room up, despite having maintenance reset the ventilation temperature. The room had aircon if we needed it but the default ventilation was too cool and there were no heating options. The ambient temperature in the corridors and public spaces was chilly too - great for businessmen in suits and ties, not so good for scantily clad tourists! The free WiFi only applied to one device at a time, and in addition was dire, varying between occasionally snappy to largely pitiful and virtually unusable. We were unable to connect an iPhone to the network throughout our stay as the signal was too weak, and our iPad and laptop struggled to stay online, not only in our room but in the lobby, and nothing at all possible around the pool. This was pretty disappointing in a four star hotel in a country that has such high speed, unlimited internet. Overall however, we were happy with our stay here and will probably stay again.

Room Tip: Pool side are quieter and larger, but watch out for adjoining room doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Unfortunately our stay here was not as great as expected, bad carpets, poor condition of rooms, they smell, the rooms that we were in had no views, the wifi was not working after several attempts I just decided to use the 3G on my phone and created our hotspot. Overall, not impressed with what they had to offer for the price we paid.

Room Tip: Only choose this if you want to stay close to the main Bukit Bintang area and you're happy to pu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damansara
Level Contributor
95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Great location even though its one of the oldest hotels in town. I think they have given the hotel a facelift and renovated the rooms, too. From here you can almost go anywhere in the Bukit Bintang shopping area. All within walking distance. For gadget n tech shoppers, just next to it is the famous Low Yat Plaza...

Room Tip: Rooms on higher levels and not facing the main road, could be quite noisy from the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

What a harsh reality after dreamy Malaysian province! Receptionist described as "complimentary higher than you booked" the room that paled before the ones in both Port Dickson and Melaka - though we actually advance paid a quadruple (!) rate. All basic and working amenities, decent beds, the safe locker, regular bathroom and set of individual towels - but (unless one travels in Russia) these are no achievement. KL is too hectic but that hardly an excuse when are're left stranded on the departure day 'cos the nightshift staffer failed to pass your taxi booking order on. On probe one eatery (basement Club) turned "special occasion booked" - and Reception can't even understand. "Multiple Award winner" Indian restaurant turned to be a section sharing one kitchen with "regular" restaurant, and then the latter one has weird schedule for "specially guest priced" buffet dinner. If you, like us, happen to be fish / veg aficionados Malaysia is not first place to go and this hotel's ground floor restaurant menu falls flat altogether. "We don't satisfy a VIP like you" the waiter let out wrily, but I was finally rewarded with special Fish Curry (not on menu), tipping the waiter well. Okay the trying of their revolving elitist top-floor eatery helped none - although I had to fill in a positive (!) response review form. Too over priced and just poor on dessert, too little choice and obviously not patronized (except for us). The hotel, started out in 50s', needs refurbishment and better commitment than the attitude of the pool towel attendant who would close service before due hour bacause of the rain. It's utterly disgraceful on the restaurant staff to let you know you're unwelcome by cleaning tables and stuff while the breakfast time is still on. On counter, they try to sell you overpriced tours like it were indeed Russian tour agency catering for rural dupes. You either go and act the dupe or turn on your inner guard. Food quality around KL eateries seems inferior to province, again. In fact, we got close to poisoning once. The hotel cuisine is bland. The only honest help came from bellboy who hopped a taxi for us so we at least caught our plane.

Room Tip: Presumably, top floors are better to cut distance from Oriental street buzz
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The area is very busy, many Restaurants on walking distance... From cheap outdoor places in Jalan Alor to expensive (and cheap ones) in Pavilion Shopping Mall, and anything in between.You should like 'noise' in every aspect and enjoy all kind of people walking the street for 24 hours per day, incl. local and foreign tourists, 'massage girls', Arabs with their wifes in Boerkhas. If you like it so far, then the Federal will fit in great for you... Really good comfort at a reasonable price... Live and let live!

Room Tip: Tell them what 'noise level' you want.... Some rooms are very quiet, in some you hear outsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Location of this hotel is superb, easy access to shopping (from high end to the regulars!)
Food options are aplenty, ranging from all kinds of cuisine. Also nearby is the Low Yat Plaza - or fondly known as the digital mall of KL.

Got a studio deluxe, the room was Huge with a balcony, bathroom was with a spacious separate shower and a low bathtub.Toiletries provided is commendable - right down to comb and razor.

Apparently this hotel was purposelt built for Malaysia's independance celebration, this hotel does exude the "historical" look as well!! Clean and sufficient, amenities surrounding the hotel is aplenty.

Coffee house still serve nostalgic food of the 80's coupled with the garnishing styles of then. Chinese Restaurant still serves hearty big portion chinese food, traditional dim sum is still available at best there.Even the decor is of grand dame of Chinese Restaurants of days gone by. Old it may be, but good thing is that Nostalgic is still in the heart of its character. Hopefully they preserve it and not join in the race of modernizing it to detaching links of its past!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
Capitol Hotel
Capitol Hotel
#52 of 286 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 stars 779 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Royale Bintang Kuala Lumpur
The Royale Bintang Kuala Lumpur
#167 of 286 in Kuala Lumpur
3.0 of 5 stars 855 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melia Kuala Lumpur
Melia Kuala Lumpur
#61 of 286 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 stars 1,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
#73 of 286 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 stars 103 reviews
0.3 mi away
Furama Bukit Bintang
Furama Bukit Bintang
#65 of 286 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 stars 1,360 reviews
0.3 mi away
Piccolo Hotel
Piccolo Hotel
#82 of 286 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 stars 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Federal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Federal Hotel

Address: 35 Jalan Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 286 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Federal Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right smack on Bukit Bintang, surrounded by shopping malls and restaurants (Chinese, Western, Japanese, Korean, Indian and Middle Eastern). The famous Alor Street (Jalan Alor Hawker Street - local foods) is opposite the hotel; and two monorail station are mere 5 minutes walk. The largest IT lifestyle in malaysia, LOW YAT PLAZA is besie hotel's rear entrance. For those who enjoy nightlife; there are pubs, clubs beside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Federal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Federal Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Federal Kuala Lumpur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Federal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.