We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Option for Megamall Shopping” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cititel Mid Valley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cititel Mid Valley to your Saves list
Cititel Mid Valley
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lingkaran Syed Putra, Kuala Lumpur 59200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 274 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Good Option for Megamall Shopping”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed there for 2 nights. Beds are a little on the hard side but the best thing about the hotel is that it's on the shopping centre. Megamall is huge and after a full day of shopping it's good to just walk to your hotel to refresh yourself and then go shopping again...
We found the room to be clean, bath is okay, bring your own shampoo and special soap, they don't provide the flashiest of toiletries.

Room Tip: All rooms are of the same quality, this is my second stay here..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwinLow, General Manager at Cititel Mid Valley, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear Moi C

Thank you for your review and we are indeed delighted to learn that you have had an enjoyable stay with us despite some shortcomings.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Cititel Mid Valley when you travel to Kuala Lumpur again.

Compliments of the season to you and your loved ones.

Kind regards,
Edwin Low
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    233
    170
    40
    19
See reviews for
84
80
45
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I have been staying in this hotel for years but the most recent one in Dec 2012 was a most "memorable" and unpleasant one.

Firstly, a long wait at the concierge even though it was nearly 4pm. Finally when it was my turn to check-in, the computer system was down and I am told to wait again. After getting my room key, I was told that they are unable to generate the WIFI login and password as the system was still unresponsive. Was told that the WIFI login and password will be sent to my room in 5 mins (via a phone call) after I rest in my room....waited and waited and still no ringing tone. I have to call and requested for the WIFI login and password.

I requested for a high floor room during room reservation but it seems that everyone I met in the lift stayed higher than me (I was given a room at 12 level). Maybe I should be more specific on what level is considered as "high floor".

The room is a tiny one with basic facilities provided (tv, safe box, small fridge, kettle & hair dryer). The WIFI access only allow 1 user to login at one time. Unlike the rest of other hotel, it will not throw out the existing user when another user tried to login using the same password and I have a hard time relocating the hotel free wifi login page in order to discontinue the free wifi access and let my room-mate to login using her smart-phone. Possible for the hotel to provide 2 users login for the free WIFI in your room?

The supply for the toilet roll was not replenished! My room was placed with 2 toilet roll when I checked-in for 2 nites stay. We were left with 1 toilet roll but the housekeeping did not replenished during room clean up. We have to call for replenish when we were really running out of supply! embarrassment!

The most unbearable incident was a small cockroach found in my room and I only discovered in on my last night of stay! It was hiding at the TV console, where kettle and free sachets of teas/coffee was placed. It kept crawling around and we have a hard time killing it as we do not want it to migrate with us when we check-out.

Apart from the above, this hotel has a superber location where you will have easy access to the mega shopping mall, KL central and Chinatown. I appreciate bedroom slippers were provided this time without request but the extra pillows still need to be requested.

I might consider to book a room next year but I do not wish to find another cockroach in my room again. Please improve on the pest control of your hotel room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwinLow, General Manager at Cititel Mid Valley, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear Shannahs_SG

Thank you for your review the contents of whihc have been noted with regret. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused during your recent stay.

The hotel system which was down but was immediately rectified by our IT team due to faulty cable. Effective next year, 2 WIFI passwords will be provided for each room.

The other highlighted issues have been addressed with the Rooms Division Manager and Executive Housekeeper, to improvise on the overall cleanliness of the room.

Once again, thank you for your time and we look forward to another opportunity to serve you better.

Compliments of the season to you and your loved ones.

Kind regards
Edwin Low
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papar, Malaysia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights after came back from Europe trip, the room is a little bit small for the high price, but the location is very good which is in the midvalley megamall, one of the biggest shopping mall in Kuala Lumpur, very easy access to shopping & dining area. There are tv, safe box, small fridge, kettle & hair dryer, wifi is free but limited for one access in a room.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwinLow, General Manager at Cititel Mid Valley, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear AinaRahim

Thank you for your review and we are indeed delighted to learn that you have had an enjoyable stay recently. For your next visit here, I suggest that you try out our deluxe room which is twice the size of the superior room. Effective next year, guests will be provided with 2 internet users per room.

My team and I look forward to another opportunity to serve you better when you travel back to Kuala Lumpur.

Kind regards
Edwin Low
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Labuan Island, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I stayed at the hotel with my husband for the first time and upon arrival, my first impression of the room is that it is not that small if you're traveling solo or as a couple(in my opinion). My husband thought it is enough room for two people unless you're trying to have a party in there. Since our luggage is mid size, we manage to fit both of it in the space provided. I was given free wifi but I didn't use it cause you would want to spend all your time at Mid Valley since the location of the hotel is directly linked to it. The link is at coffee bean by the way. We also didn't take the buffet breakfast(which you have to pay for) due to the fact that there's so many more choices at the mall but unless you want to start the day early, I suggest you take it. The shops at the mall do not open till 10am or 10.30am. Don't worry about making a mess in the room, the housekeeping staff will do their duty and make the room nice and sparkling clean again. The in-room dining menu is quite limited. Checking in was a breeze and it is the same for checking out. We had a late check out at 3pm instead of 12pm and they charge us RM100, however they told us that if we stayed till 6pm, it will be half day charged(which is approximately 145?). My husband and I love our stay at the hotel and would be glad to stay there again.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view of KL.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwinLow, General Manager at Cititel Mid Valley, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear ElleRen,

Thank you for your review and we are indeed delighted to learn that our services and products have exceeded your expectations.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you and your husband back to Cititel Mid Valley when you return to Kuala Lumpur.

Kind regards
Edwin Low
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I have stayed here many times with my family and we find this place to be very strategic to dine, shop and also travel to kl sentral via komuter. All in all, we enjoyed out stay. However, the free wifi for one user was not enough. We hope that the free wifi will be provided for two users per room. The rooms were okay and we slept well throughout our stay at the hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the KL city
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwinLow, General Manager at Cititel Mid Valley, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear Lisalam88,

Thank you for your review and we are indeed delighted to learn that you and your family have had an enjoyable stay with us. We are pleased to inform you that effective next year, each guest room will be provided with 2 internet users.

Once again, thank you for your continuous support and we look froward to welcoming you and your family back to Cititel Mid Valley soon.

Kind regards,
Edwin Low
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I only stayed at this hotel because the one I normally stayed in was fully booked. I was told horror stories about the rooms but I thought it was generally okay.

The rooms are dated and the furniture screamed "makeover!" at me. The free wifi in the room is adequate for business use although being able to register only a single device per room was a bummer for me.

The buffet breakfast that comes packaged with the stay was decent but nothing to shout about.

The best thing about the hotel was the price and for what one is paying, I suppose it represents good value. Having said that, I will not be booking this hotel again in a hurry.

Room Tip: Ask for the room at the end of the corridor. Sound insulation is not that great and there can be qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwinLow, General Manager at Cititel Mid Valley, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear F71,

Thank you for your review the contents of which have been noted. The hotel rooms are currently undergoing a refurblishment exercise and are expected to complete by Jan 2013.

Effective next year, all rooms will be provided with 2 WIFI users for the convenience of our guests.

My team and I look forward to another opportunity to serve you better.

Kind regards
Edwin Low
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Had stayed in Cititel Mid Valley for many times, always my choice of hotel when I go KL with my husband. It's a great location for eat, sleep and shop as it's link to Mid Valley Megamall where there are great varieties of food selection and shopping. It is also link to the Gardens Mall via basement 1. There's parking available in the basement if you drive. Rooms are clean and come with ceiling fans. Free wifi in the rooms, signal is quite strong. Deluxe room is definitely more comfortable than superior room as it is much bigger and the price difference is not a lot. Dragon-I restaurant is just located on level 1 (Cititel lobby) and it serves nice 'xiao long bao' too.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views and deluxe rooms are more comfortable than superior rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwinLow, General Manager at Cititel Mid Valley, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear blessedwoman08

Thank you very much for your positive review on us. We are indeed delighted to know that you and your husband have always enjoyed staying with us.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Cititel Mid Valley again when you and your husband travel to Kuala Lumpur soon.

Kind regards
Edwin Low
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cititel Mid Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cititel Mid Valley

Address: Lingkaran Syed Putra, Kuala Lumpur 59200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 274 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cititel Mid Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 646
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located within Mid Valley City; one of the most modern and integrated leisure, dining, entertainment and shopping destination in Kuala Lumpur, Cititel Mid Valley is easily accessible to major commercial hubs and popular tourist attractions. Adjoining to the hotel is two exciting malls; the Mid Valley Megamall and the upscale Gardens Mall, with over 630 retail shops featuring a smorgasboard of fashion, food, entertainment and family fun. Featuring two categories of well-appointed rooms and equipped with modern amenities, 646-room hotel comprises of Superior and Deluxe rooms with internet broadband, that is offered free to residential guests. For dining and relaxation, the 24 hours Citi Cafe is located at Hotel's lobby whereas the Citi Lounge is ideal for evening cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cititel Mid Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cititel Mid Valley Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Cititel Mid Valley Kuala Lumpur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cititel Mid Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.