We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful Hotel Not 4 Star!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Royale Bintang Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Royale Bintang Kuala Lumpur to your Saves list
The Royale Bintang Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 - 21, Jalan Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Family Stay-Cation
Ranked #158 of 274 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Kitwe, Zambia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Dreadful Hotel Not 4 Star!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed at this Hotel from 22 Dec to 26 Dec. We were a party of 14, and we booked in July 2012, we arrived at 12 midnight, very tired after 26hours traveling from Africa, we were met by very grumpy staff, some rooms were not ready, or had been given away, we were told we could only have smoking area rooms with single beds, until they had rooms available, but they could not guarantee when this would be! And if you book non smoking, that doesn't mean you will be given it. We eventually got non smoking rooms, and ordered room service, it took over an hour and they could only offer pizza, it was the worst pizza I have ever eaten, just a big lump of hard pastry with a smear of tomato paste and a sliced tomato. Breakfast next day was chaos, and the food was so terrible, that we left and found somewhere else to eat. We didn't dare try any other meals at the hotel. The rooms were dirty, carpets stained, one room had black water marks still wet on the carpet. Bed linen was very old, and gray and had holes in the sheets, which were not changed during our stay. One parties room was never even made up the whole time we were there, despite requests to do so. A few of us got bites on our legs and arms, mine have left marks still, and we can only assume that there were bugs/fleas in the rooms or beds. Bathrooms were dirty,old and really need upgrading, ours had water seeping through the floor tiles, I reported it and nothing was done about it. The bath towels also need replacing. The staff don't bother to help with anything, and the only thing Royal about this hotel is the name. It's not worth the money, and definitely should only be a rated 1Star. We stayed in 3 other hotels around Malaysia, and back in KL, and all were 100% better than that flea infested Hotel. There are 100's of good hotels in KL, we will never go back to this one, and we have travelled extensively throughout Asia!

Room Tip: You are not guarenteed a non-smoking room even if you request it, as we were told, it only on reques...
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    283
    228
    108
    99
See reviews for
170
230
58
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Very spacious room with excellent city view. Petronas Tower and Twin Towers can be seen . The room comes with bath tub and free wifi . A pleasure to stay in this hotel. It has its own underground carpark too. It is walking distance to many shopping malls , Times Square and China town . Along the main road is many foot reflexology and massage shops . We enjoyed our stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Went on a trip with 5 friends to KL and managed to book 2 superior rooms with an extra bed added to each room. I have to say they at least managed to accede to my last minute requests pretty well.

Perks:
- good location to the food street (Jalan Alor) and shopping belt (Jalan Bukit Bintang)
- complimentary parking for guests at the basement
- free wifi (request from the counter upon check-in)
- comfortable beds and clean pillows
- swimming pool
- nice gym

Not so good:
- the tv inside the room is kind of small. If you have an adjoining room where more than 2 people crowd of together to watch the tv programs, this will not be comfortable
- the food variety for the buffet is not so varied.

Well, this is actually quite an ok place if you do not have too high an expectation.

Will be back.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed during the New Year peak time and the service at the hotel was atrocious. The wait for check-in took 30 minutes and the check-in was slow and impersonal and the staff were trying best they could to deal with the large number of people trying to check-in but weren't coping well.
The carpet and wallpaper in the common hallways were stained and rubbish (like cigarette butts) was on the floor and some sections smelt musty and old.
Our room was tired and dated with stained walls and bed head, old furniture and filthy windows. Thankfully the beds were comfortable and the bathroom clean. The wifi was frustrating as you had to continually log-in and each day get a new password from reception.
Breakfast was a disaster. A huge line up each morning for a table, not enough staff, dirty tables, constantly out of food as they were not able to keep up the rate it was consumed. We actually dined out on our last day as the lineup was so long.
The hotel is in serious need of a refurbishment and additional staff. The staff are not friendly but it's not surprising as they cannot do their jobs properly.
It's certainly not good value and its not four star. I would suggest staying across the road at Sky Hotel for half the price, which is where we moved to.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakarta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The hotel location is almost end of Bukit bintang street, but it has good access to food and mall. It is a one way street, so not really easy to find a cab. Must walk through the other end of Bukit Bintang for easy cab finding. Jalan Alor with its famous street food heaven is just 5 minutes walk across the street. Pavilion mall is just at the left of the hotel and it is nice mall. There are some nice massage outlet accross Pavilion mall.

The hotel lobby is just a standard 3.5 star hotel. Room floor corridor is a bit outdated. The room interior alos needs some renov but the room size is okay, not too big and not too small. We don't mind about the room cause most of the time we are out from morning and back to hotel around 11pm. Just back to hotel, shower, rest, and sleep, then go out again the next morning.

Room Tip: Room view to Bukit Bintang street is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I stayed from 29-31st Dec 2012. The entrance of the hotel was quite nice, however, much less can be said about the interior. The hotel's furnishings could really do a make-over desparately.
They also could do with more front counter staff, to expedite check in. The lady behind me couldnt stop whining about it. Almost drove me mad!

I stayed on the 15th Floor, didn't really have a nice view, but didn't bother me as I was out most of the time. The beds were fine, clean sheets, nice shower. But again, the tiles and carpets could do with a remake.

I didn't try their breakfast, so I do not know if its good. However, everytime I passed by the restaurant where breakfast was served, had snaking queues. I think its a better option to eat out.

There is no cable, with an exception on 1 TLC channel, and does not receive signal when there is a thunderstorm or it is raining.

To my opinion, the best bit about this hotel was its location. I stayed till late, and it doesnt take me a significant time to get back from the shopping malls.

Overall, it was a so-so experience for me.

Room Tip: Choose higher floors, 17 and above for the deluxe rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

From check in...."sorry sir no double beds available" to "the engineers are working to fix the hot water supply to your room" to "We're over sold so unfortunately we dont have any where to move you too".
This 4 day Xmas visit to friends in KL was ruined by this hotel. Terrible staff training on handling complaints. A room on the 17th "EXECUTIVE" Floor..Nothing executive about it, TV picture snowwy & constantly rolling, broken telephone so could not even call reception, not to mention no hot water for 48 hours and a 20 minute queue for a buffet breakfast I wouldnt feed a dog!
I checked out 2 days into my staff to the insistance by the General Manager I still pay 50% of my bill. Disgusting ! Christmas ruined. Dont stay there!

Room Tip: Dont stay there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royale Bintang Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royale Bintang Kuala Lumpur

Address: 17 - 21, Jalan Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#56 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royale Bintang Kuala Lumpur 4*
Number of rooms: 418
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best 4 Star City Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Fastbooking, EasyToBook, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Royale Bintang Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royale Bintang Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Royale Bintang Kuala Lumpur
Royale Bintang Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Bintang Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royale Bintang Kuala Lumpur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.