We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a room makeover” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Kuala Lumpur to your Saves list
The Westin Kuala Lumpur
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   199 Jalan Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 286 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
brackley UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Needs a room makeover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Yet again another hotel that is very close but misses some of the crucial points, I agree with other reviews that the rooms are tired and not what you expect from a Westin, initial impressions are good and the hotel is in a good location, pay for the club floor and it is worth the extra, plus you will want to spend more time there than in your room. I didn't understand why some of the "upmarket" hotels don't get these small points right as I will probably look elsewhere on my return to KL.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HratchKhatchanian, General Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Greetings Triyanya

We thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review our hotel.

We do understand that despite our regular maintenance, the hotel is beginning to show its age. We do have plans to refurbish the rooms but is not able to let you know the exact time now. As you can see, we have renovated our Chinese Restaurant, Five Sen5es and the Executive Club Lounge.

With this assurance, we hope you would give us another opportunity to serve you again.

Look forward to your next visit soon.

Take care and be well


Hratch Khatchanian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    881
    567
    199
    68
    44
See reviews for
368
495
141
477
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This hotel is in a great location in KL but is well overdue for some maintenance.
My room had a lot of scuff marks on the floor and furniture and the faucet in the bathroom basin had clearly had a lot of work done on it and leaked the whole time I was there. It also failed to deliver any hot water to the basin as the mixer had not been correctly rigged.
The breakfast restaurant is no good for a business person wanting a quick breakfast. The food is spread so far and wide it is impossible to get a clear indication of what breakfast choices you have. The coffee service is really slow and on one morning none of the toast machines were working and not one of the staff seemed keen to take responsibility for it.

On a positive note I enjoyed an outstanding food experience in the Five Senses Restaurant within this hotel which specializes in Cantonese cooking. The food is exquisitely presented and the staff were very attentive and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HratchKhatchanian, General Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Greetings 45South

We thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review our hotel.

Without denying the fact that the hotel is growing old in spite of our constant efforts to maintain it. We do have intention to renovate the hotel but is not able to let you know the exact date now. We did not receive any feedback from other guests about the hot water issue but will get Engineering to check on the mixer - thank you for letting us know.

On a lighter note, good to hear that you enjoy the food in Five Sen5es.

Once again, we sincerely appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Take care and be well


Hratch Khatchanian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

It is my first time at the Westin Kuala Lumpur and definitely will not be my last. Staff was friendly from the door man to the front desk, club floor team and F&B. We stayed at the Club Floor choices of breakfast and canapés are just what is supposed to be. We went for Sunday Bubbalicious brunch and it was extremely superb! Varieties of food, presentation and service are impeccable. Overall, I had an outstanding experience at the Westin KL. I can't wait to come on my next trip.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HratchKhatchanian, General Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Greetings joseph_tan_wong

We thank you for giving us an opportunity to serve you and extremely delighted to hear you had a wonderful experience.

Good to know you have intention to return and all of us here can't wait to welcome you back.

Take care and be well



Hratch Khatchanian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeddah
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stayed 4 nights, I enjoyed all this hotel has to offer, the breakfast quality is excellent,there is a lot of choices available i enjoyed the Indian breakfast. Location is perfect, it is just accross the shopping malls.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HratchKhatchanian, General Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Greetings FerasA

We thank you for staying with us and happy to hear you like our breakfast adventure, which is our signature breakfast incorporating SuperFoods.

Look forward to your next visit soon.

Take care and be well



Hratch Khatchanian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are relatively large but amenities are in need of an upgrade. What made our stay was the staff. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful which makes a world of difference when you are not familiar with the city.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HratchKhatchanian, General Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Greetings LuxuryHK

We thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience - happy to hear our team provided personal and instinctive services.

With regard to your comment about the hotel need an upgrade, yes we are aware the hotel is getting old despite our continuous efforts to maintain it. We are definitely looking at the possibility of doing a major renovation but unfortunately we are unable to let you know the exact date now.

Once again, we appreciate your feedbacks and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Take care and be well



Hratch Khatchanian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seremban, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed in for fiancee's birthday using the complimentary voucher from Starwood Privilege Membership. Upgraded to the club room as Westin KL was doing a promotion online.
When checking in at the lobby, was told that I'm entitled to private check in on the club floor, which I already know but I wasn't informed when checking in to Le Meridien KL & Sheraton KL. A plus point to me.
Room was very spacious and the Heavenly Bed really lived up to it's hype. Fiancee loved that bed so much. Club lounge provided an excellent view of Pavillion and staffs there are all helpful & friendly.
We had our breakfast at The Living Room, food choices were okay but not great, but the pastry selection was awesome. Can't ask for more.
Location is really strategic, cross the street and you're at one of Malaysia's most happening mall. Had a late night movie and didn't had to worry about driving back as our room was just a walk away.
Would definitely return again!

Room Tip: Get a club room if possible. The club lounge is irresistable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HratchKhatchanian, General Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Greetings kenlui85

On behalf of the team, please convey our belated happy birthday wish to your fiancee - very happy to hear both of you had a great time.

Yes, please come back to stay with us again whenever you are in Kuala Lumpur.

Take care and be well



Hratch Khatchanian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed at the Westin Kuala Lumpur - checking in was a breeze and courteous. Took the lift to the 27th floor and the room had a nice view. As usual the Westin Heavenly bed is still to die for, the rooms comfy and the bathroom huge.

We had a lovely stay with lots of happenings around the Westin - Pavillion shopping centre just right across which will cater to all your shopping needs. Best of all the other shopping centres are just a walk away.

Its the best location anyone could ask for me.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HratchKhatchanian, General Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Greetings YewJin2000

We thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and happy to hear you had a great arrival experience - this is how it should feel at The Westin.

Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Take care and be well


Hratch Khatchanian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.0 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Kuala Lumpur
JW Marriott Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#7 of 286 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 stars 1,515 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Kuala Lumpur
Grand Millennium Kuala Lumpur
#38 of 286 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 stars 1,302 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
#8 of 286 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 stars 1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#4 of 286 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 stars 1,019 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel
0.7 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#1 of 286 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 stars 5,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kuala Lumpur

Address: 199 Jalan Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#19 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#23 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#25 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 443
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your The Westin Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Westin Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Kuala Lumpur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.