We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be mixed up with the "Imperial" KL” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Sultan Ismail, Kuala Lumpur 50250, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Spa for 50 Bookings
Ranked #29 of 278 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Geraldton, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Not to be mixed up with the "Imperial" KL”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We arrived in KL just before midnight, All went smoothly at the airport and the pre-paid taxi got us into KL in good time. Then it all went haywire. After being stuck in traffic jams for hours we finally arrived at the "Imperial" hotel, a seedy type of hotel in a seedy (but colourful!!) location. After convincing the taxi driver to call the Sheraton and helping him set the GPS, we arrived at our hotel 3 1/2 hours after leaving the airport :( Our check in was very efficient and we were whisked up to our room within minutes, We were in a Delux twin room with 2 double beds and the room was very spacious. A huge bathroom and also room to store luggage etc with the safe. The room was a little dated and tired but the size and comfort more than made up for it. The lobby, restaurant and bar areas all lovely and the service was excellent, each staff member we had contact with was courteous and friendly with a smile. The hotel is a little out from KLCC and Bukit Bintang but there is a mono rail station only 50 or so metres away or its an easy taxi ride. We had only one meal at the hotel which was lovely although quite pricey by KL standards. We enjoyed our 3 night stay, being spoilt in lovely surroundings. I like the fact that it is not brand new, it has some character and charm, The hotel is spotlessly clean (what I saw anyway), pleasant staff and a little different to the "same, same" of many hotels.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephan_sieberg, General Manager at Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear Shirls86 and friends,
With deep regret we read your comments in regards to the torture you went through coming from the airport to KL. Thank you for your honest feedback and we are all happy that finally you enjoyed your time at Sheraton Imperial and experienced a wonderful and pleasant stay at our property. Thank you very much for taking the time to write this feedback and all the positive comments and compliments. I definitely will pass all your feedback to my team and thank them personally for a well done job and very good customer care.
Hope to see you again.
best regards
Stephan Sieberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,092
    653
    191
    70
    42
See reviews for
359
788
198
411
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canary Wharf
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

A group of us stayed here in the first week of May 14. First impressions - wow! The location, lobby area, check-in was all without fault. On the positive side, the Sheraton is centrally located and within easy reach of the main attractions and shopping areas. Breakfast was awesome with a ample selection to cater for even the fussiest eaters; situated in an equally nice restaurant with 5 star surroundings. All in all a very pleasant way to start the day. The swimming pool and Spa area were immaculately kept and we took full advantage of the steam and heat saunas. Lots of bathrobes and towels were provided. There are free computers and Wifi in the lobby area. The WIFI was relatively fast and suitable for face timing.

I did have some negative comments to add. Firstly the hotel was running at 40 per cent capacity and even though we requested a room with a view of the Petronas Towers, we didn’t get this. We were however given a room high up - floor 26th I think. The lifts are fast so no issues about spending extortionate amounts of time in the lift. Unfortunately our room appeared quite dated and there were some areas in the bathroom that could probably do with refurbishing (shower seals for example) We didn’t receive any complimentary water, toiletries on arrival nor enough robes, slippers or towels for 3 persons. This is minor. The biggest issue was the noise from the nightclub below. I mean wow! From 12 midnight to the early hours you could feel the bass through your pillows. It's like you were actually at the club - but you weren’t and might as well have gone because there was no way of sleeping through it - not for me at least.

So overall a pleasant stay but deducting one star - possibly 2 stars but either way, not a 5 star experience. I think there should be a warning about the club or at least clarify the days that it operates. On the face of it, Sheraton has the wow factor on the surface but as you delve deeper – the cracks are beginning to show.

Room Tip: As far away from the night club side as possible...unless you like partying at 3am of course
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephan_sieberg, General Manager at Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear The-don786 and friends,
Thank you very much for this honest feedback and we all apologize for the shortcomings in regards to room availability and amenities which I will address to our Front Office and Housekeeping team. This does in no way reflect the usual high level of quality and service and I agree that even during low occupancy more attention should be paid to these details. Sorry for the inconvenience caused with the noise from one of the clubs nearby which disturbed you during the night. Please again accept our sincere apologies but we do hope that you will consider the Sheraton Imperial again for any next visit and we will take special care of all arrangements to regain your trust and convince you about our hotel an its services.
best regards
Stephan Sieberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

Excellent locaton, perfect view to Twin towers. Hotel staff is very kind, rooms are fancy and comfortable. Breakfast is fantastic and room service is fast and with high quality. I really enjoyed my stayed here.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephan_sieberg, General Manager at Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear ABalzan,
With great pleasure we read all your positive comments and feedback and would like to thank you very much for posting your experience. We loved all you compliments and send a big Thank You to Shanghai.
best regards
Stephan Sieberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Very impressive inside, bedrooms were clean and updated everyday, we stayed with 3 kids joint rooms, staff very helpful and speaks English well. Breakfast, continental and lots of variety, very good. Location is great with close to all amenities.

Room Tip: Only down side we noticed was rooms not facing twin towers were noisy at night with night club music...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephan_sieberg, General Manager at Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear family asbmkb,
Thank you very much for your high rating of our services and all the compliments in regards to your recent stay. we are convinced that your experienced our facilities very positively and ejoyed your time in KL.
Best regards and greetings from Malaysia.
Stephan Sieberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

The location of the hotel is great. Nice rooms and services. Warm and very helpful staff. Stayed on the 26th floor and could get a view of the twin towers from my room window. The variety of the food at breakfast buffet was impressive.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephan_sieberg, General Manager at Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear couple rajat_ag,
Great review and we all would like to thank you very much for taking the time to post this experience feedback and we are glad you enjoyed the view of the Twin Towers from your room on 26th floor. I will pass on your comments in regards to the superb breakfast to our culinary team and we are looking forward to welcome you again in the not so far future.
best regards
Stephan Sieberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

This was our first time in in Sheraton Imperial and i must say the hotel really live up to its name . though we were pretty busy shopping around the time we spent at the hotel was relaxing and time well taken care of . Front office staff is very helpful and make you feel at home all the time . Will return definitely ..

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephan_sieberg, General Manager at Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Chandana0916,
It was a pleasure to receive all your compliments and the high rating of 5 stars. Thank you very much for taking the time to post this feedback and we are ready to be your host again whenever your travel will bring you back to KL from Sri Lanka. As you might have seen a new shopping mall will open doors end of the year right opposite the hotel.
best regards
Stephan Sieberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I visited this hotel in January for a meeting; after a flight from the UK I only had one night in KL so perhaps I missed something but there didn't appear to be very much in the immediate area. other reviews refer to the efficiency of the monorail but the hotel doorman didn't mention that to us.

The hotel itself was welcoming, but a private party was very noisy. The restaurant offered a very wide range of cuisines from all over the world (the "western" dish appeared to be Shepherds Pie) including Sushi, curry and a range of other dishes.

Breakfast was again a wide range of cuisines, although chicken sausages and beef bacon are not to my taste and I wasn't really up for a curry at breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephan_sieberg, General Manager at Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear dfscot,
Even if your visit in January is a while ago we appreciate that you still took the time to post this positive review and would like to than k you for all you valuable comments. We are sorry that a private party disturbed you stay and apologize sincerely for the noise. Thank you as well for all the positive feedback in regards to our food at Essence Restaurant and we are convinced your experienced the cuisines of Asia.
Greetings from KL to Glasgow and we hope your travel will bring you back to Malaysia in the future giving us the opportunity to be your host again.
Best regards and again thank you for this high rating and recommendation.
Stephan Sieberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel

Address: Jalan Sultan Ismail, Kuala Lumpur 50250, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#18 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#23 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#24 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#26 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 385
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel welcomes you with warm Malaysian hospitality. We are conveniently located within the business and commercial district, making it easy for you to get to your workplace and city attractions. The hotel is minutes away from world-famous landmarks such as the KLCC, Petronas Twin Towers and KL Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood APAC, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Sheraton
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.