We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Sultan Ismail, Kuala Lumpur 50250, Malaysia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
50% off room rate
Ranked #11 of 261 hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed with 4 girlfriends for 3 nights. Good location right near monorail. Stunning hotel, good pool area and must dine in the Italian restaurant by the pool, excellent food. Would recommend this hotel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Imperial_KL, General Manager at Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Imperial Hotel Kuala Lumpur. We appreciate your positive comment about our hotel, Villa Danieli - Italian restaurant, location and pool.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Imperial again if you're in KL. Best Regards, Chuck Abbott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,776 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,014
    531
    146
    54
    31
See reviews for
304
683
177
339
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed here on a recent stopover on our way back to the UK. We had spent the previous week at the Shangri-La Rasa Ria in Borneo so it was always going to be hard to measure up to their standards.

We checked in smoothly and were allocated a spacious room with a view of the Petronas Towers. The room was nice but decor is a bit gaudy. We had been travelling since early morning and were hungry when we arrived so went to the Essence restaurant where we had a nice burger but were shocked by the price of the water. We asked for a glass of water each and were shocked to receive the bill and see that our water had cost as much as our lunch (be wary and check drinks menu before ordering).

Unfortunately we didn't get a chance to try the pool as the weather took a dramatic turn for the worse after lunch but it looked like a lovely pool.

There were a few things that we found irritating during our stay - air conditioning was set between 25 - 26c which was too hot for us and meant we didn't sleep well our first night, I let the staff know about this the next morning and they did have it set to a more comfortable temperature the next day but it would have been better if we could have done that ourselves. Our remote control was also faulty and we didn't have a "do not disturb" for our hotel door which is pretty basic. Our toilet also looked unclean (grey/green residue running down the bowl).

We booked our return taxi to the airport through the hotel and found it to be expensive, 140 MYR which was more than the tripadvisor forums had suggested it should be but it was a decent taxi, not one of the budget protons where you have to have your suitcases on your lap!

Overall, this hotel was fit for purpose and we got a good price. It is well located (2 stops from KLCC). We found the walk from the metro a little intimidating later at night, I wouldn't have felt comfortable doing it alone.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Petronas towers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Imperial_KL, General Manager at Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Imperial Hotel Kuala Lumpur. We appreciate your feedback given on some the areas that can help us improve on our service level.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Imperial again if you're in KL.
Best Regards, Chuck Abbott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

A Full 5 star traditional hotel, clean large classically furnished/decorated rooms massive bed and tea/coffee making facilities nice walk in closet and wonderful views of the city and impressive foyer.

The bed was very comfortable the a.c / climate control was perfect

All the staff were very friendly and helpful and could not do enough for you.

The pool area was we'll appointed and clean a great place to chill out and have a few drinks.

In my mind it is positioned just far away from the Bukit Bintang area therefore less noisy of a night, the Petronas towers and KLCC approximately a 20/30 minute walk depending on the temperature, however there are many covered walkways for protection from the extreme sun light we strolled into these areas a couple of times too and from the hotel.

Never tried the monorail which is close by (its only 2 stops to BB area) used taxis which would charge around 8 RM's approx £2.00, keep seeing that taxis are expensive in Malaysia can't think why, soon as you get into one in London its a fiver before you start?

Cannot comment on the food as we tend to eat away from hotels and sample local cafes and restaurants although we did note the cleanliness and presentation of the dinning areas.

A good tip is to get a room on the highest floor possible, KL is a growing city with numerous demolition/building works ongoing, traffic etc this should alleviate any noise and give better views of the surrounding area.

My only gripe is the bass noise from the club below which I have noted on TA reviews before and goes on to 04:00 hrs???

Just a note, If you like your wine you will be charged royally in most cafe's restaurants hotels and bars although food is good and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Higher floors less street noise and better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Imperial_KL, General Manager at Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Imperial Hotel Kuala Lumpur. We appreciate your positive comment about the overall stay experience. Glad you had comfortable sleep on our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper bed!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Imperial again if you're in KL. Best Regards, Chuck Abbott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a week with my wife and we really enjoyed our stay. Service was excellent and we enjoyed every bit of the breakfast. Good transportation links with Monorail and nice view of KLCC(PETRONAS Twin Towers).

Room Tip: We took deluxe twin tower view room - view was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Imperial_KL, General Manager at Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Imperial Hotel Kuala Lumpur. We appreciate your positive comment about our location within the train hubs and signature breakfast at Essence.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Imperial again if you're in KL. Best Regards, Chuck Abbott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

My wife is Malaysian and we live in a beautiful part of the UK, Malvern, Worcestershire. We based ourselves at the Sheraton for our three weeks stay in April, from which we've just returned. It was a convenient, central and very comfortable place to stay while seeing our Malaysian family and friends. From our point of view, a single base is easier than the peripatetic alternative of family home(s)!

We have nothing but praise for the Sheraton: it is clean, our room was splendidly spacious, and all staff were friendly and helpful. Reez, the Concierge, was especially helpful and supportive throughout our long stay. We were very grateful to him.

One critical comment we do have to make, however, concerns the piped music. Ours was perhaps an unusually long stay and perhaps if we had been more transient and only stayed a short time we would not have found the constant piped music all over the hotel, including the main restaurant, quite so intrusive and rather annoying. It was often too loud; if there has to be canned music, something softer, melodious and, dare I say, classical would have been much more acceptable.

Having stated our one reservation, let me conclude by saying we hope to return to the Sheraton on our next visit to Malaysia, because it is by far the best of the various KL hotels my wife, Siti, and I have stayed in over the years.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Imperial_KL, General Manager at Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Imperial Hotel Kuala Lumpur. We appreciate your positive comment about overall service delivery and friendliness of our asscociates. Also, thanks for the additional feedback on the music.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Imperial again if you're in KL. Best Regards, Chuck Abbott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

The hotel room is just wow with Petronas view..It is just 5 mins from KL tower and twin towers.
There is a metro near the hotel which makes it easier to commute in city from hotel.
There are few cool pubs near the hotel for party.
Overall a nice experience

Room Tip: Take room with twin tower view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Imperial_KL, General Manager at Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Imperial Hotel Kuala Lumpur. We appreciate your positive comment about our hotel rooms with a Twin Tower view and location of the hotel within the train hubs.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Imperial again if you're in KL. Best Regards, Chuck Abbott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

From the moment we arrive at Sheraton Imperial KL we feel at home and welcomed. We had stayed at other 5 star hotels in Kl but now we do not stray. Each time we stay the service is spot on. The rooms are clean, spacious and comfortably appointed, fabulous range of breakfast foods for my vegetarian needs and accommodating my husbands tastes as well. The dinner menu is not great for vegetarian but ask for a dish you would prefer and there is no problem.The chefs are very happy to discuss your needs and provide for them. The staff are warm,friendly and helpful, from Tasa at the door to the all the Club Lounge staff. For us, the benefits of the club room make the stay better - a lounge to grab a great tasting coffee of choice, or other soft drinks throughout the day, between shopping or sightseeing, free laundry service, drinks and hors d'oeuvres, etc The free shuttle twice a day to Petronas Towers and Pavillion is convenient as is the monorail station a moments walk from the hotel. Otherwise a taxi ride is a cheap trip and readily available. We'll be back again. I had a facial at the Mandarin Spa and a combined treatment package on an earlier stay. I find hotel spas more convenient but this, whilst pleasant enough, did not live up to expectations and staff are too pushy with product sales. I won't be going back to the spa.

Room Tip: If you want a view of twin towers then ask. Higher floors are Club rooms which I would recommend and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Imperial_KL, General Manager at Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Imperial Hotel Kuala Lumpur. We appreciate your positive comment about our Sheraton Club lounge, friendliness of our associates and our food. Glad our chefs are able to deliver to your expectations and we encourage our chefs to talk to our guests directly to ensure they engage and receive feedbacks for further improvement. Also, thanks for highlighting the issue in Mandara Spa and I will personally share your feedback with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Imperial again if you're in KL. Best Regards, Chuck Abbott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel

Address: Jalan Sultan Ismail, Kuala Lumpur 50250, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#9 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#12 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel welcomes you with warm Malaysian hospitality. We are conveniently located within the business and commercial district, making it easy for you to get to your workplace and city attractions. The hotel is minutes away from world-famous landmarks such as the KLCC, Petronas Twin Towers and KL Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Starwood APAC, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Sheraton
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.