We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An old favorite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Sultan Ismail, Kuala Lumpur 50250, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 270 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“An old favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

There is something about the Sheraton that just makes it feel like home, while not the most modern, its comfortable, the rooms large and facilities very good. Lifts are quick, check in efficient and the executive lounge was well worth it given the two and a half hours of drinks and canapes and excellent wines.

Will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Imperial_KL, General Manager at Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Imperial Hotel Kuala Lumpur. We appreciate your positive comment about our location of the hotel within the train stations, service level and Sheraton Club lounge.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Imperial if you're back in KL again! Best Regards, Chuck Abbott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,013
    569
    159
    58
    34
See reviews for
318
714
184
362
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I've stayed here several times now. Good location for business travelers, but the food is not up to par and expensive too. Many of the rooms are situated such that you can hear the cheap techno thuds coming from the surrounding bars. Service is a mixed bag. As additional info, upon arrival for my current two night stay, the check-in staff placed a hold (or in other words blocked) an amount of 2.5x my two night stay from my credit card as "deposit".

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Imperial_KL, General Manager at Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Imperial Hotel Kuala Lumpur. We appreciate your positive comment about location of the hotel within the train hubs. Also, thanks for the additional feedbacks as it will help us improve on our service level.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Imperial if you're back in KL again! Best Regards, Chuck Abbott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

You know, even though taxis are cheap by major western country standards, the traffic can be a hassle. The benefit of this hotel is that its a two minute walk to the monorail which takes you into all the CBD areas that you are likely to want to go to, and about five minutes level walk to the subway train station which will take you everywhere throughout KL and surrounding areas - both of which are cheap as chips. Go to the train station and buy a smart card with 11 ringit on it, and it will last you about ten trips. 11 ringgit is about AUSD/US 3.20. A train or monorail car comes through about every five minutes, more often in rush hours.

The breakfast is a good buffet, but it gets very busy on weekdays as this is also a business traveller hotel. As usual, restaurants outside the hotel are cheaper - but that is the same all over the world in 5 star land.

Service is good and, as a user of concierge services, they can assist the discerning gentleman with anything that might be required in the way of restaurants or other service providers. They are great.

There are a few night clubs in the road on the left hand side of the hotel which kick off at about 10pm and they are noisy, so make sure you ask for a room high up from the street level.

Don't have the hotel organise a transfer from the airport on arrival, rather, go to the public taxi counter which is inside the arrival hall where you can prepay by credit card for the type and cost of the vehicle to take you into the hotel, which will always be cheaper. They range from mercedes, to toyota, down to budget cars . If you have a lot of luggage, you won't be able to take a budget car, as the LPG gas tank in the boot won't have room for more than two suitcases. fare into town is about AUSD 30-40 , which is about 70 km away and about 45-60 mins.

There is a train from the airport into the city which will be cheaper again , but I haven't used it, and as always the case, with a train you pay per person, while a taxi you pay per car- so its often more convenient and good value to take a taxi if there are two or more of you. There is no hassle then as the cab drops you at the hotel.

When you check out, you can have the hotel put your taxi fare onto your hotel bill which saves you having to find the cash. I did this, and had the driver keep his meter on anyway out to the airport to compare the price, and found that the price I was charged by the hotel was the same ( maybe a bit cheaper counting tolls) than if I had have hailed the cab off the street.

This is good value for five star in KL , cheaper than comparable brands, and is well located.

By the way, if you use a gym to stay in shape while you travel as I do, the one here is good with the appropriate machines and free weights.

Room Tip: ask for a room high up away from street level
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Imperial_KL, General Manager at Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Imperial Hotel Kuala Lumpur. We appreciate your positive comment about our location of the hotel within the train stations, signature breakfast at Essence, service level and gym facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Imperial if you're back in KL again! Best Regards, Chuck Abbott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Traveled to KL with my family and stay at Sheraton Imperial for 2 nights. The service given meet my expectation. It's fast, efficient, and helpful. From c/in process I was given the exact room that I wanted in just a minute. I also made several car arrangement from the hotel to some places outside KL and the Concierge had them provided based on what I requested. Room's spacious but need a little bit rejuvenation. Buffet breakfast had a wide range of varieties. The hotel itself is within a distance to Medan Tuanku Monorail Station. I'll definitely will come back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Imperial_KL, General Manager at Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Imperial Hotel Kuala Lumpur. We appreciate your positive comment about our service level, location of the hotel within the train hubs and signature breakfast at Essence.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Imperial if you're back in KL again! Best Regards, Chuck Abbott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights. Great location - whilst not in the middle of the city, it is adjacent to a monorail station which makes it quick and easy to get to wherever you want to go. The room was large and spacious, as was the bathroom and walk in wardrobe. Heaps of free to use computers with internet in the lobby and free wi-fi too. We enjoyed our stay and would definately return to the Sheraton Imperial KL. We did not experience any problems with noise as per some previous reviews.

Room Tip: Choose the room with the view of Petronas Towers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Imperial_KL, General Manager at Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Imperial Hotel Kuala Lumpur. We appreciate your positive comment about our room, Link @ Sheraton and location of the hotel within the train stations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Imperial if you're back in KL again! Best Regards, Chuck Abbott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night on Christmas Eve. The room was excellent, with quite a nive view on the twin towers. Bed and room were very comfortable.

We also enjoyed the area around the swimmingpool, although it is smaller than you would expect.

The only downside: I would say that service at the front desk was really not as good as I expect for this kind of hotel. One example? We did had to wait 25 minutes to check out, and we received no apologies at all. It is sad because it left us with a rather unpleasant last memory.

But overall I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Imperial_KL, General Manager at Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Imperial Hotel Kuala Lumpur. We appreciate your positive comment about our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper bed and room. Also, thanks for highligthing the check out process and we do agree that should not have happened. I will personally share this with the team as we would like to ensure guests experience is focussed from check-in to check-out.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Imperial if you're back in KL again! Best Regards, Chuck Abbott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We have stayed at the Sheraton Imperial and decided to use them again this visit. We stayed at their suite this time. Complimentary bath salts, lemon/ginger chocolates and fruits were a nice touch. Their in-room dining was also quite delicious.

Although a little out of the way and KL is known for bad traffic, this hotel provides a soothing demeanour where one looks forward to returning after a long day of sightseeing. It is however next to a skytrain station and is of walking distance to Sogo (about 20 mins). They also had excellent canapes and teas/lattes in the Club Lounge in the evenings. The pool was not crowded and the breakfast spread was the biggest I have ever seen in all my travels. My mother in law also loved her suite and opted to stay in for most of the trip to enjoy her room and the amenities which the hotel offered.

We will be back at the Sheraton. Thank you for once again making this trip memorable and oh so comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Imperial_KL, General Manager at Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Imperial Hotel Kuala Lumpur. We appreciate your positive comment about our welcome ammenities, in-room dining service, location of the hotel within the train hubs and signature breakfast at Essence.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Imperial if you're back in KL again! Best Regards, Chuck Abbott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel

Address: Jalan Sultan Ismail, Kuala Lumpur 50250, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#11 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#16 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#16 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#17 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 385
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel welcomes you with warm Malaysian hospitality. We are conveniently located within the business and commercial district, making it easy for you to get to your workplace and city attractions. The hotel is minutes away from world-famous landmarks such as the KLCC, Petronas Twin Towers and KL Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Sheraton
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.