We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with big rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Kuala Lumpur to your Saves list
Melia Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Imbi, 16 | Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
up to -15% MeliáRewards
Ranked #56 of 278 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great location with big rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed on a 2 night stop over to Langkawi. Located central opposite Times Square its was close to bars restaurants shops and more shops! Staff were very friendly on check in. The room was a little dated but a great size with a huge window looking out onto Times Square - which allowed a fantastic view of the crazy thunderstorm. Rooms have the usual air con mini bar etc.. Prices okay.. Didnt have breakfast but had a drink in piano bar on happy hour.. The staff were by helpful booking taxis, ringing restaurants, giving advice.. Great for the money.. Only downside was small pool but as it is city centre hotel can't complain

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliakualalumpur_11, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear CazzieSlough_UK,

We thank you for staying with us at Melia Kuala Lumpur and taking the time to review our hotel - delighted to hear you had a good arrival experience but most importantly our staff provided personal, instinctive and renewing experiences.

We are definitely looking at the possibility of conducting a major renovation - unfortunately we are unable to let you know the date and hope you understand.

Once again thank you for the feedback and look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Take care and be well.
Natasha Kamaruzaman
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    598
    288
    105
    57
See reviews for
305
521
109
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Spent 10 days in this hotel and had a great time. Centrally located to all the "tourist shopping " the staff in the hotel can't be any friendlier and helpful. Alcohol price is similar to all hotels, so if you want a big night out go out!
Breakfast was plentiful with an amazing array of choices to suit every taste. Room size was adequate for a couple without being too large. In house free wifi was always available.

While not the same standard as the Hilton or Hyatt, is a very comfortable, clean and very reasonable priced hotel located in the centre of all the action.

Would recommend this hotel to family and friends.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper room opposite times square
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliakualalumpur_11, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear buncha2,

Thank you for choosing the Melia Kuala Lumpur for your last stay.

We are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Greatly appreciate your kind compliments on our staff. Your positive observation when shared with our colleagues would certainly motivate them further.

Once again thank you for sharing your feedback with us and greatly appreciate your kind patronage.

Kind regards and be well,
Natasha Kamaruzaman
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I checked in here after discovering the hostel I'd booked was horrific. The Melia staff were very friendly, the room was lovely, big and clean and the breakfast here is great.
My view was somewhat disappointing as it was just of the giant shopping mall in front but the comfy bed made up for that. The hotel is right by the monorail and easy to get to from the rail station.
I had room service pizza one night and it was delicious.
I didn't try the pool.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed at the Melia for 3 nights. The check in staff were very friendly. Other staff members also greeted you with a friendly smile. The hotel is a little old, however the rooms and bathroom were clean. It is within walking distance of several big shopping complexes. Lots of great places to eat cheaply. You can book tours at the hotel. Their buffet breakfast had lots of choices.
We were able to get a late checkout for 100 ringgits, definitely worth it.
We booked a return taxi trip to the airport with the driver who dropped us off at the hotel, (I called that morning to confirm the time) however after waiting for a half an hour he still had not arrived, so we decided to get a taxi provided by the hotel. They couldn't provide a budget taxi at such short notice. So I would suggest ordering a taxi from the hotel a few hours before you plan to leave for the airport. This way you know you will be picked up on time. The cost of a budget taxi is 75 ringgits.
Only criticism is no free wifi. However, if you order a drink at the piano bar it comes with half an hour free wifi.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed at the Melia during the weekend of the Formula One Grand Prix. It was a very busy time for the hotel, but nothing was too much trouble. The staff were great, especially the doormen who were always friendly and polite and eager to give any advice that was asked for.

The location is fantastic, just across the road from Times Square shopping mall and no more than five minute walk to Bukit Bintang. Close enough to drop off the shopping and go straight back out there.

We were not disturbed at all by any noise from traffic and the room was great and spacious (plenty of room for the shopping).

The transport desk was fantastic and very reasonably priced. The drivers very friendly and informative but also let you have a nap in comfort after a big day at the Formula One.

We will definately be back next year, in fact already booked.

Ian and Karen

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I read a few reviews recently that we're less than complimentary but I had stayed before and love the location. The room was certainly a little word with an orange stain on the carpet and enamel peeling off the bottom of the bath but I could live with that...I got a good price for my 4 night stay that included breakfast. Over 55s get a 50% discount in the restaurant so I had 3 meals there apart from breakfast. I ended up with a bad case of food poisoning...the food is always tepid, if not cold and I should have known better than to continue to eat there.There are signs that the hotel is going through tough economic times...no longer provide newspapers. The pay for movie channel on my tv did not work and there were very limited channels on the TV.It had the BBC but no CNN. I would possibly stay there again for the location...right next to the monorail station but would not eat anything!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieuw-Vennep
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayer at Melia with my wife for 3 nights during stopover . An enjoyable stay and would certainly recommend this hotel . The Melia staff was very efficient and helpful . Melia is located less than 5 minutes walking from the shopping Centre area . Monorail , Buhaja Timesharing Square are right in front of the hotel . if you stay at level area of the hotel you can enjoy the hospitality and superb service of the staff . Drinks and snacks are available 24 hours .
Anyhow an enjoyable experience which was not my first one and it certainly Will not be my last one.
Thanks to Melia management and its staff .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Kuala Lumpur

Address: Jalan Imbi, 16 | Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#39 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Kuala Lumpur 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the city's prime location, amongst all the prestigious business addresses, stands the Melia Kuala Lumpur. Right at the heart of the city's 'Golden Triangle' and commercial district, the hotel occupies an unbeatable location. With the iconic Petronas Twin Towers reachable in 3 minutes by monorail, popular shopping attractions footsteps away, and cultural attractions such as the Bintang Walk and Little India nearby, Melia Kuala Lumpur is the perfect address for business or leisure. The hotel features spacious, well-appointed rooms that are bathed in warm sunlight. A range of dining options, filled with the flavors and diversity that define Malaysia, is served daily within the hotel. A swimming pool and gym are available for leisure while a business center and host of functional meeting rooms stand ready when work calls. With an outstanding location, top-rate service, facilities that delight, and a dedication to sustainability, Melia Kuala Lumpur is perfect for any traveller looking to be at the center of all the action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Booking.com, Melia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Melia Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Sol Melia Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Melia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Kuala Lumpur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.