We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel, Fantastic Holiday!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Kuala Lumpur to your Saves list
Melia Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Imbi, 16 | Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
up to -15% MeliáRewards
Ranked #56 of 278 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel, Fantastic Holiday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

What a wonderful hotel! My three teenage daughters and I had the pleasure of staying at the Melia for four days whilst holidaying in Kuala Lumpur. We found the staff to be highly professional and accommodating and it was a relief to know that we were in very capable hands who understood our needs and went out of their way to ensure our stay was stress free and memorable - from checking our bags to organising day tours, we felt safe and secure at all times which was paramount to travelling with three daughters. Hotel staff was knowledgeable of the local area and various day-tours and made much appreciated recommendations. The hotel is in a great location, central for food and shopping and the monorail is right on the doorstep. We had a great view of the PETRONAS Towers from our rooms and although the hotel is located on a main thoroughfare, traffic noise was never an issue. The rooms were spacious, meticulously clean and well appointed, with good size bathrooms and plenty of toiletries. The buffet breakfast had lots of variety and had something to please everyone and we found that it kept us going until well into the afternoon's sightseeing! My daughters enjoyed the pool area and their treat of an evening mocktail (alcohol free cocktail), in the lobby lounge bar. I recommend the Melia hotel to anyone looking for a memorable experience that doesn't stretch the budget, with friendly, professional staff who understand their clientele. I look forward to returning to the Melia soon and hope anyone reading this review enjoys their stay as much as my daughters and I did.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliakualalumpur_11, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Roxettes4,

Warm Greetings From Melia Kuala Lumpur!

First of all we would like to send our warmest regards and thank you for having taken your valuable time to share your stay experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We are indeed delighted to know that our services met up to your expectation. Last but not least, Roxettes4, we would like to thank you once again for your feedback as only through our guest feedback that we are able to improve and maintain the level of service our valued guest so expected of us.

Our colleagues and I will certainly look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Thank you and kind regards,
Natasha Kamaruzaman
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    596
    287
    105
    57
See reviews for
305
520
108
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Booked this hotel 6 months ago on Booking.com for A$111 per night with B/F. Traveling with 3 teenagers I had specific room requests which were met perfectly. As I approached the hotel reception desk, Bryan, greeted me with a smile and my name which was impressive. So far I've been really happy with everything from the great water pressure, firm but comfy beds, room is a good size and quiet, fresh linen, excellent service, warm staff, gym (kids love it), pool etc. Breakfast is pretty good but not sensational but that's fine. The location is the big winner with Berjaya TS across the road, Sung Gai Wang and the tech mall Plaza Lo Yat (the boys fave) right behind us and a mono rail stop at the front door! The location is great as I'm able to give the teenage boys (16 & 17) a bit of freedom to safely visit the malls without me and they've found Friendlies iCafe (80 gaming computers) on the 9th Floor of Berjaya TS. I would definitely return here.

Room Tip: Away from the elevator means less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliakualalumpur_11, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Juliezzz,

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen Meliá Kuala Lumpur for your last stay and also for having taken some of your valuable time to send us your comment via Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and greatly appreciate your kind compliments on our colleagues. Your positive observation when shared with our colleagues would certainly motivate them further to fulfil our mission of completely delight and satisfy our guests

In closing, we wish to thank you once again for sharing your feedback with us and greatly appreciate your kind patronage. We would certainly look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Melia, Kuala Lumpur in the near future.

Thank you and kind regards,
Natasha Kamaruzaman
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

The location is strategic, located right opposite the Time Square, you just need to take the pedestrian bridge and you will be in Time Square. You can take Monorail easily as well, it's located within walking distance from the hotel :)

Food can be easily found around the place. For the record, there's a Starbucks and 7 eleven next to the hotel.

The room is clean and spacious. No complains on that.

What would I really wanted to comment is the staff and service, I would rate 5 stars out of 5 stars on that. All of them are so friendly and helpful. The housekeeper, the bellboy, the reception, the manager are all wearing smile and greeted you so friendly! When I redeemed back my luggage, the bellboy offered help to see whether i need help for transport. Thumbs up for all the staff.

The service and the staff made the day better. :)

Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliakualalumpur_11, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Li Lin S,

Warm Greetings From Melia Kuala Lumpur!

We thank you for the great feedbacks and delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay. We will continue to strive harder so that our valued guests can enjoy only the highest level of hospitality.

Lastly, we wish to thank you once again for sharing your feedback with us and greatly appreciate your kind patronage. All of us here look forward to your return soon.

Thank you and kind regards,
Natasha Kamaruzaman
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We had no prior reservation and walked in to Melia. Fortunately, there was a room available for my family of 4 on the Executive Level. Check in was swiftly completed by helpful and efficient reception.

Room was spacious, facing the Berjaya Times Square. Very clean room with all amenities provided. We had a slight hiccup with the wifi connection and the manager was in our room to tackle the issue within a very short time.

Location is good. A variety of food available around the hotel. Western, local, cafes, eateries and restaurants. Though located on a main road, it was surprisingly quiet in our room.

Check out was done in a jiffy as well. No hassle. Parking was free too.

Overall, a well managed hotel with efficient staff and managers.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliakualalumpur_11, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Letmetellu777,

Warm Greetings From Melia Kuala Lumpur!

First of all we would like to send our warmest regards and thank you for having taken your valuable time to share your stay experience with us on TripAdvisor. We are indeed delighted to know that our services met up to your expectation and greatly appreciate your kind compliments on our colleagues. We will continue to strive harder so that our valued guests can enjoy only the highest level of hospitality.

Lastly, we wish to thank you once again for sharing your feedback with us and greatly appreciate your kind patronage. We certainly look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Melia Kuala Lumpur in the near future.

Thank you and have a great day!

Kind Regards,
Natasha Kamaruzaman
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poppadoms01235
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

All in all really enjoyed my two night stay at this hotel. Had a room facing towards the Times Square shopping centre, but considering we we're facing a main road it wasn't at all noisy. The rooms are extremely spacious and spotlessly clean. The only thing I wasn't too kean on was that there was a connecting door as the room must be used for families travelling together so could hear a little noise from next door but nothing major. The breakfast at the hotel was lovely and we ate at the hotel restaurant one night also and the food was supberb and at a decent price for a hotel too.
We booked a day trip with the hotels tour desk, we got our own driver that took us around the city and we got to see the Petronas Towers and the KL Tower and go up them without a big queue as our guide had gone to buy the tickets before picking us up which was fantastic. He took us to the suberbs of KL too so we got to see a different side. he did do the old trick of taking you to their 'mates' leather shop, but there was no voice to buy anything which was a pleasant change!
The only thing that has stopped me giving this hotel 5 out of 5 is that the reception staff weren't the friendliest of people and could have made a bit more of an effort other than that enjoyed every minute of my time in KL.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Had a pleasant stay with the hotel, our trip was welcomed by the night shift staff; Miss Haliza whom allowed us to check-in at 8am despite the official check-in hours at 2pm, we really appreciated her help and initiatives as we arrived at the hotel 6am. Melia KL staffs are friendly and efficient too.
We check-in on level 14th (The V Level), view was not up to our expectation as we requested for a pool view but end up with "next building roof-top view" and were given non-smoking floor/room (one of us is a smoker) inconvenienced him to go out of the hotel or on the 18th floor balcony to smoke! During the check-in process, we were not asked if we required non-smoking room.
What we would like to comment on the downside was; buffet breakfast can be improve as its spread wasn't that fantastic and wide. I hope you may make it better near future.
Other than that, our experience with Hotel Melia Kuala Lumpur was awesome & you'll be expecting us for a longer stay soon.
Rating: 9/10 Stars!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliakualalumpur_11, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Otai_Elly,

Warm Greetings From Melia Kuala Lumpur!

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen Meliá Kuala Lumpur for your last stay and also for having taken some of your valuable time to send us your comment via Tripadvisor.

We believe it is only through listening carefully to the comments and suggestions of our customers, that we will be able to achieve the constant improvement, guest satisfaction and quality service that we strive for. We are greatly appreciate your kind compliments on our colleagues.

On this note, we are greatly appreciate on your comment with regard our breakfast variety. Your opinion are important for us to take action to improve our guest satisfaction and quality service that we strive for.

We wish to thank you once again for sharing your feedback with us and greatly appreciate your kind patronage. We would certainly look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Melia, Kuala Lumpur in the near future.

Kind regards,
Natasha Kamaruzaman
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I booked via the hotel's internet for two rooms for 4 day stay. We came around 1 pm and served immediately. Some reviewer from Tripadvisor advised to ask for room that face Berjaya Times Square and as high as possible, so I did. They didn't have the room at that time, but promised would be ready at 2 pm. So we went for lunch and came back few minutes before 2. The rooms were still not ready, so we waited for some more minutes. Some minutes past 2, after I asked the receptionist again, they can only provide one room and promised us the other would be ready in 30 minutes. It was troublesome, but still acceptable for me.
They gave us rooms with connecting door, which were very nice. The rooms and bathrooms were clean, as what you expect from a 4 star hotel. We have no complains over the rooms.
Breakfasts were nice with many variety of foods served. My only comment is you may get bored after 3-4 days since they did not change the menu, except for 1 or 2.
My other issue happened at the next afternoon. Since we traveled with a toddler, we decided not to go far and return at afternoon to rest. We were surprised our rooms were not cleaned at the time we returned. It was 2.30 pm. C'mon guys, what were you doing. I complained to the housekeeping and they come about 30 minutes later. The same problem happened at the next day. It seems like the hotel didn't have enough housekeeping crews so they have to clean up all rooms until late afternoon.
Despite of that, we enjoyed our stay at Melia Kuala Lumpur. Its strength is in the location, located centrally in Bukit Bintang, but not too crowded as in Jalan Bukit Bintang or Jalan Alor

Room Tip: Try ones that face Berjaya Times Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Kuala Lumpur

Address: Jalan Imbi, 16 | Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#39 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Kuala Lumpur 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the city's prime location, amongst all the prestigious business addresses, stands the Melia Kuala Lumpur. Right at the heart of the city's 'Golden Triangle' and commercial district, the hotel occupies an unbeatable location. With the iconic Petronas Twin Towers reachable in 3 minutes by monorail, popular shopping attractions footsteps away, and cultural attractions such as the Bintang Walk and Little India nearby, Melia Kuala Lumpur is the perfect address for business or leisure. The hotel features spacious, well-appointed rooms that are bathed in warm sunlight. A range of dining options, filled with the flavors and diversity that define Malaysia, is served daily within the hotel. A swimming pool and gym are available for leisure while a business center and host of functional meeting rooms stand ready when work calls. With an outstanding location, top-rate service, facilities that delight, and a dedication to sustainability, Melia Kuala Lumpur is perfect for any traveller looking to be at the center of all the action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Booking.com, Melia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Expedia so you can book your Melia Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Sol Melia Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Melia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Kuala Lumpur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.