We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Kuala Lumpur to your Saves list
Melia Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Imbi, 16 | Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
up to -15% MeliáRewards
Ranked #56 of 278 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

i stayed at melia on 28th spetember, upon arriving the receptionist is very nice, the room is a bit smelly when i first enter but the smell gone few minutes after that. the hotel ambience is a bit old school but nice. over all i'm satisfied with the hotel. easy to find food outside and near to shopping area like pavilion & bukit bintang. definitely will stay here again for my next trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    597
    287
    105
    57
See reviews for
305
520
108
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Melia KL is located in central Kuala Lumpur a stones' throw from Bukit Timah and right opposite Berjaya Times Square. A superb property easily accessed for all purposes and exceedingly well maintained too. The staffs appear a bit slow in handling check-ins and check-outs but their cafe and restaurants make up for this shortcoming. The chefs make sure of an elaborate Western-Continental-Indian cuisine that can be appealing to all types of palettes..!! You can be assured of a great brunch even if you arrive late for the breakfast buffet. The staffs here are only too eager to make sure you have your full fill...!! The rooms are large, well equipped and are value for money. We were a family of six adults staying here for two nights. The rooms overlooking the front are great than the ones at the rear overlooking the Petronas Towers. Housekeeping is good as is the general upkeep of the property.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Petronas are calm and bright
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Very near the commercial hub in Bukit Bintang Area. Big rooms and nice accommodation. Wifi though was not free even at the lobby. Need to pay 58 RM for 24 hrs internet connection. Buffet breakfast was very good with many selections.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I know that there seems to be many issues with the staff and reservations with this hotel. However, I have stayed at this hotel every single time that I come to KL. Which is like 6 times already. The bellhops are super friendly and will give you suggestions and help you with your luggages without expecting tips. Something of a rarity in Malaysia. The location is unbeatable with so many shopping malls just behind the hotel. The street food vans that appear around evening time all congregate around and behind the hotel.
The rooms we were given (4D 3N in June 2012) were connecting rooms (we requested in our booking) and were huge and clean. Coffee, tea, sugar, milk, etc were refilled every morning. Bathroom clean and ammenities were sufficient. We never had any problems with cleanliness, air conditioning, beds, pillows etc. TV programs kept the kids and adults entertained.
I will keep coming back to this hotel each time I have the urge to go shopping!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel. We did not get off to a good start as the room we had booked and paid some months earlier was suddenly not available, and the only room available had two single beds pushed together. We were advised we could upgrade if we wanted. Hmmm. However, we had a wonderful bellhop, Mr Shafie, who more than made up for this with his excellent service. The breakfasts were absolutely fantastic, with a huge selection of food and staff very helpful. One of the lifts malfunctioned while we were there, which was a bit scary, and seemed to be back in commission very fast, but we avoided that one. Location fantastic, with 15 story mall over the road, shopping, restaurants nearby. Suggest you arrange your own taxi to the airport, rather than have hotel staff organize it, there are plenty of regulars just up the street, and you can pick a good one. Although this is a mixed review, we would stay again.

Room Tip: I would check nearer your stay to ensure the room you booked is actually available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I have made two trips to KL and both times stayed at the Melia. Obviously its not a 5 star hotel, but its clean and comfortable and in a fantastic position. You will probably need to get a taxi to get there from KL Central, but its no problem.

On my first visit I was very happy to see the Monorail right out the front and Times Square shopping centre just across the road. If you go the other way its just a short walk around the corner to shopping, bars, restuarants and a lot of other attractions.

The second time I went I took family members who also enjoyed it. The cost is reasonable and the breakfast is good.

Next time i go to KL, I'll be staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights at the club level. Friendly staff. Prefer to have breakfast at the main dinning area, more choice than at the level. Good facilities for checking in and out. Sufficient choice of beverages. Cocktail slightly basic, can do with more varieties.
Overall the hotel is in a very good location, both for shopping and public transport, directly opposite Imbi mono rail station.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Kuala Lumpur

Address: Jalan Imbi, 16 | Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#39 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Kuala Lumpur 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the city's prime location, amongst all the prestigious business addresses, stands the Melia Kuala Lumpur. Right at the heart of the city's 'Golden Triangle' and commercial district, the hotel occupies an unbeatable location. With the iconic Petronas Twin Towers reachable in 3 minutes by monorail, popular shopping attractions footsteps away, and cultural attractions such as the Bintang Walk and Little India nearby, Melia Kuala Lumpur is the perfect address for business or leisure. The hotel features spacious, well-appointed rooms that are bathed in warm sunlight. A range of dining options, filled with the flavors and diversity that define Malaysia, is served daily within the hotel. A swimming pool and gym are available for leisure while a business center and host of functional meeting rooms stand ready when work calls. With an outstanding location, top-rate service, facilities that delight, and a dedication to sustainability, Melia Kuala Lumpur is perfect for any traveller looking to be at the center of all the action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Booking.com, Melia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Expedia so you can book your Melia Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Sol Melia Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Melia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Kuala Lumpur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.