We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It needs some improvements...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Kuala Lumpur to your Saves list
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   165 Jalan Ampang, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #18 of 274 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Patras, Greece
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“It needs some improvements...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

I had a 4-night stay in this hotel, in Nov. 2011. It was my 4th visit in Kuala Lumpur during the last 3 years. In my precedent 3 visits I've been stayed in Rennaisance, Hilton, and Shangri-La. Now, I stayed in the Intercontinental which is the first opened in Malaysia. Consequently, the comparison between all them is inevitable.
The hotel (ex Nikko) is situated in the city center, within 5 minutes walking distance from the Petronas Towers, the Suria shopping complex and the Convention Center. From the airport, the fastest and cheapest way to go to the hotel is by the KLIA express train to the Central Station (a 28-min trip). From there, you catch the rapid rail (Kelana Jaya Line) and you reach the hotel within 10 minutes. The train station, named "Ampang Park", is at front of the hotel.
Looking from outside, the hotel has a very modern look. Inside, the decoration is of rather old fashion, but it creates a sense of luxury in all the public spaces and guest rooms. If you like the traditional luxury, it is fine. If, however, you prefer the ultra-modern style, Hilton is more adequate. Check-in was fast. The Lobby and the Reception area was beautiful and impressive. The Lobby Lounge on ground floor was also beautiful for relax and for day and evening drinks and coffee, with live music in the evenings. The Bentley's Pub on first floor was also very good for a night drink.
My room was on the 21st floor. It was big in size, with floor-to-ceiling window, flat-screen TV etc. The decoration was beautiful, although relatively old. Some parts showing their advanced age, like the external door and the bathroom door, must be replaced. Decoration in Shangri-La and Rennaisance was about similar, in contrast with the ultra-modern internal face of Hilton.
Breakfast was served in the "Serene" restaurant, on ground floor. It was good, but with limited variety of Asian breakfast specialities. In contrast, breakfast in Hilton, Shangri-La and Rennaisance was better regarding variety. Buffet dinner in this restaurant was disappointing. The term "buffet" means that you can eat everything from the buffet at a fixed price. Here, in this "buffet" you pay for every food you take to eat. They give you a sheet of paper representing the food list, and they check and charge everything you get: a practice totally unacceptable for a 5-star hotel. Really, it was an a-la-carte dinner in "buffet style'. As with breakfast, the variety of foods was unexpectedly limited: 2 types of cheeses, 2 types of salads and desserts etc. Consequently, if you are a food-lover and you like to taste an ampious variety of local and international specialities inside the hotel, it is better to choose the Hilton or the Shangri-La, and secondarely the Rennaisance and the Intercontinental. From the other hand, the Chinese restaurant on the 1st floor was really good. I had a dinner there, and I really enjoyed the food served.
The hotel has a big swimming pool, although smaller than of Rennaisance, with palm trees all around and a good pool bar. The entire pool area was beautiful, creating a relaxing atmosphere. If I try to rate the pool areas of the 4 hotels, I give 5 stars in Rennaissance, 4 stars plus in Hilton and Intercontinental, and only 2 stars in Shangri-La (see also my relative reviews).
Regarding the location of the hotel, as I previously said, it is located in the city center, close to everything, like also the Shangri-La and the Rennaisance. Hilton is a little bit outside. So, if your main preference is the city center location, you can choose one of these three hotels except Hilton.
All the staff, as is the case in Asian hotels, was well trained, helpful and polite, always with a smile. Check-out was fast, also.
In conclusion, Intercontinental hotel Kuala Lumpur represents a good value for money, with many positive and some negative points. It needs some improvements.

Room Tip: Because of heavy construction work around, ask for a room in higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_ICKL, General Manager at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
Dear Guest,

Greetings from InterContinental Kuala Lumpur!

We thank you for staying with us and we appreciate your valuable feedback.

We have taken note on all the points written and do rest assure that we have reviewed together with our department heads to implement measures to improve our market place dinner concept owing to our guest dissatisfaction. We thank you for taking the time to bring this matter to our attention. Only with feedback can we continue to improve our service standards.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon!

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    648
    567
    152
    44
    28
See reviews for
207
275
106
368
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

The room is old style with a CTR TV.. however cozy and spacious. Food in the hotel is really great! Well.. I may not stay again for my holiday but this is a good spot for doing business in KL.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_ICKL, General Manager at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Dear Guest,

Greetings from InterContinental Kuala Lumpur!

First and foremost, we thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. We would like to inform that the hotel is currently undertaking a complete refurbishment program that involves all guest rooms as well as public areas and we assure you that you will see great improvement and a new look once the refurbishment completes.

We hope that despite your disappointment on this occasion, we will have another opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel sometime in the near future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

The hotel is very nicely located within walking distance of the Petronas Towers. I am a big fan of Intercontinental hotels and we had every reason to expect a good stay there but the hotel staff failed to inform us when we made the booking weeks in advance that the hotel was undergoing internal renovation. When we checked into our room late on a Wednesday night, we found a letter informing guests that construction work is taking place every day from 10am until 5pm except on weekends when the work terminates at 4pm. This may seem reasonable on the surface but if you are traveling with a couple of jet lagged children, this calls for real trouble. The noise was so loud that you would think the banging was taking place right above your head or in the adjacent room. We had to shout to make ourselves heard while in the room. I expressed my disappointment to the duty manager and explained that it would have been the right thing to do to inform us of the construction work ahead of our arrival, particularly since I exchanged many emails with the reservation department. She asked if we would like to change our room, but at this stage it would not have mattered much since we were scheduled to leave the next day. I think a little honesty would make for a repeat customer but from that vintage point, the Intercon KL has unfortunately failed us.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_ICKL, General Manager at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Dear Guest,

Greetings from InterContinental Kuala Lumpur!

First and foremost, please accept our sincere apologies for the challenges during your recent stay with us. We view this very seriously and have taken this issue up with the reservations team members to identify areas that require further improvement. We understand and do empathize with your situation and sincerely hope that you would give us another opportunity to serve you again.

The hotel is currently undertaking a complete refurbishment program that involves all guest rooms as well as public areas. Please bear with us and we assure you that you will see great improvement once the refurbishment completes.

We look forward to welcoming you back and an opportunity of serving you and imparting a better guest-experience at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

Stayed on the Hari Raya Haji weekend. Overall, the hotel and stay was good. Rooms were spacious and well thought out although the pool was a bit small and surrounded by sky scrapers, however, it is in a prime location, very near KLCC and with free shuttle service to KLCC. The buffet breakfast was decent but maybe they should have more than one coffee machine because there was a long wait for coffee. Fresh squeezed juices would be a plus, too. The croissant was my favorite item in the buffet spread but watch out for the muffins and cookies as they will send you on a sugar high!

PRO: The elevators were highly efficient.

CON: The Sompoton Spa
Received a 15% off voucher with my room keys for spa services. Was eager to try it out, thus called extension 7016 from room. Was greeted with the standard speech and was told, and I quote "Miss, I got customer here now, please call back later". Totally taken aback and shocked as 1) shouldn't YOU be calling ME back?! 2) what's the point of having an extension if you wouldn't even bother to service me over the phone?!
Anyway, since I just checked in and was pleased and satisfied with the room, my spirits were high and I decided to check out the pool and pay the spa a visit as it is located on the same level.
Proceeded to enter the reception area of the spa and sat down to view the spa menu placed on the table. As I conversed in English, I guess the employees there were oblivious to the fact that I understood Malay and proceeded to gossip about a guest that had bad body odor.
Disgusted and appalled by their behavior, I politely excused myself from the spa and did not look back! If I did have time during my 2 night stay, I would much rather have visited another spa.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Jalan Ampang have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_ICKL, General Manager at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Dear Guest,

Greetings from InterContinental Kuala Lumpur!

Thank you for staying with us and taking time to provide us with your valuable feedback.

We have duly noted on your comment with regard to our Spa services and we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused. We have highlighted this to our Spa Operator and rest assure, we are looking into the matter seriously. We always strive to ensure every guest of InterContinental Kuala Lumpur be it on business or leisure leave the hotel contented and we believe that it is only with feedback can we continue to improve our service standards.

We hope that despite your disappointment on this occasion, the hotel will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel sometime in the near future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scandinavia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011 via mobile

We booked the executive club room and liked the value. Laundry and club access plus free wifi were included and we used and appreciated these inclusions. However we opted for the general buffet breakfast because it had more variety than the club bf. The location is quite a long walk from Bukit Bintang but very close to Petronas. The hotel provides a free shuttle service to both. Everyone we met of the staff were nice and professional. The room itself was spacey, clean and comfy. Everything worked.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_ICKL, General Manager at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Dear Guest,

Greetings from InterContinental Kuala Lumpur!

We would like to thank you for taking the time to provide the hotel feedback on your recent stay experience at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur.

We were delighted to know that you had enjoyed your stay in our Club Floor and your comments will be shared with the hotel team members.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Stayed here in August 2011 with family. Location is good near the twin towers. Rooms are small and comfortable but the smell of cigarette is horrible even in the non-smoking floor. The carpets are not clean and needs to be changed urgently.
The hotel is very crowded and caters mostly to groups from Middle-east
The buffet breakfast is good.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_ICKL, General Manager at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Dear Guest,

Greetings from InterContinental Kuala Lumpur!

We would like to thank you for taking the time to provide the hotel feedback on your recent stay experience at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur.

We have taken note on the points written and do rest assure that we have reviewed together with our department heads to implement measures for improvement owing to our guest satisfaction. We thank you for taking the time to bring this matter to our attention. Only with feedback can we continue to improve our service standards.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Too much construction around the hotel

Bass from clubs around the hotel travel up to the rooms.

Rooms are not properly sound insulated.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms risk the loud noise from clubs after midnight - Back facing rooms getting the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_ICKL, General Manager at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Dear Guest,

Greetings from InterContinental Kuala Lumpur!

First and foremost, please accept our sincere apologies for the challenges during your recent stay with us. We view this very seriously and have taken this issue up with the team members to identify areas that require further improvement.

The hotel is currently undertaking a complete refurbishment program that involves all guest rooms as well as public areas. We will also look into upgrading our current room sound insulation. Please bear with us and we assure you that you will see great improvement once the refurbishment completes.

We hope that despite your disappointment on this occasion, we will have another opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel sometime in the near future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Kuala Lumpur

Address: 165 Jalan Ampang, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#11 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#16 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#16 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#16 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel in the heart of Malaysia, InterContinental Kuala Lumpur offers one of the most sought after locations in the city, making it an ideal urban retreat for both business and leisure travelers. The hotel is just steps away from the iconic Petronas Twin Towers and Kuala Lumpur Convention Centre and within walking distance to countless other shopping and entertainment activities. Choose to work in comfort or luxury in the 473 spaciously designed rooms, including 110 newly renovated Grand Premier Rooms that feature modern, earth tone furnishings and state-of-the-art enhancements. Wine and dine in style with a selection of restaurants including the award-wining Tatsu Japanese Restaurant, Tao Chinese Cuisine, Serena Brasserie, OneSixFive and Bentley's Pub. InterContinental Kuala Lumpur also boasts eight meeting rooms and two conference venues to host memorable events from an intimate group of 20 or a large conference of 600 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Nikko Hotel
Nikko Kuala Lumpur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.