We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great in-room experience and excellent services!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Kuala Lumpur to your Saves list
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   165 Jalan Ampang, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #18 of 274 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great in-room experience and excellent services!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

Date: 15-19 Octber 2011 (Saturday-Wednesday)

I visited Kaula Lampur, Malaysia (KL) for business & stayed at InterContinental (formerly known as Nikko). I choose the hotel per good feedback from a friend who stayed at Nikko earlier for one month on a business trip!

InterContinental's located in Jalan Ampang metro station, key area of the KL city. It's conveniently located near malls and KL specialty shopping areas like Electronic Shops, Malls, Restaurents, etc.

I was greeted with lots of respect and curtsey by hotel staff on arrival at the hotel. I really enjoyed my stay on the 19th floor (upgraded from my original booking)! Excellent and big room, relaxing bathroom & great services! I was very happy to see complimentary internet connection.

Concierge team significantly exceeded my expectations!

I was bit disappointed with no speciality Indian Restaurant inside hotel. It’s bit surprising that breakfast was not included in the room charges. There’s Indian restaurant (bit expensive) located at 2-3 kms from the hotel apart from many fast food restaurants across the street!

Overall great experience with intercontinental and very happy to be in KL. Looking forward to many more trips to KL and I'll certainly stay at InterContinental!

Room Tip: Look for upper floors, inside view & do request for upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_ICKL, Manager at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing InterContinental during your recent business trip to Kuala Lumpur.

We are glad to know that you had a pleasant stay here and you enjoyed our room and services from our colleagues, especially services rendered by our Concierge team.

We are also pleased to know that you had found the location of our hotel convenient as we are located in the city centre and it is walking distance to the iconic Twin Towers and Light Railway Transit station.

Regarding your comment about the on-site Indian specialty restaurant, we will put your suggestion into consideration if there is any expansion plan in the future. Meanwhile, Indian delicacies have been included as part of the buffets available at our all-day dining restaurant Serena Brasserie.

About the breakfast issue mentioned, you may want to book our Best Flexible Rate with Breakfast the next time. The package can be booked through our website directly which you will enjoy guaranteed best rate publicly available on the Internet worldwide and daily buffet breakfast. You may want to consider Business Sense too as this package not only included advantages mentioned but also other privileges catered for business travelers.

Should you require further information, our Reservation Department personnel will be more than happy to assist you. Please do not hesitate to contact reservation@intercontinental-kl.com.my.

We thank you for staying with us and your continuous support. We look forward to welcoming you to InterContinental Kuala Lumpur soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    648
    568
    152
    44
    28
See reviews for
207
275
107
368
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Australind, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

We stayed for 2 days on our return from London, so what a fantastic experience, also upgraded to club executive rooms and it was just so great, the biggest bed I have seen, comfortable and clean, the club lounge was really one of the best I have visited around the world. The staff were the most helpful and always with a smile. I must thank Jaleel Kamal the Chief Concierge - he went beyond the call with his help and advise. He made our stay very memorable and enjoyable. All the staff at this hotel were of the most highest level of customer care and service-. InterContinental should look after these people as there are not many like them around. Once again thank you Jaleel and the front desk team for a great stay. Would recommend this hotel for a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_ICKL, Manager at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
Dear Guest,

First and foremost, we thank you for staying with us at InterContinental during your return from London.

What a good news to know that we have another happy guest and we are glad to know that you had an enjoyable stay here. We are very proud that our colleagues helped making your stay here a hassle-less and memorable one. You are definitely right, colleagues who provide genuine services are our priceless assets. Rest assured you kind compliments have been channeled to them.

We look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Kuala Lumpur soon and thank you for recommending our hotel to others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

We had the opportunity to upgrade to the club executive suites and it was well worth the money! The service and extras that were provided were outstanding!! The staff were extremely helpful and polite and the ammenities were excellent. Just to mention a few of the complimentary priviledges that were available to us - shuttle bus, laundry, breakfast,wifi, high tea and cocktail evening with finger food. The food was delicious - congratulations to the chefs!
I have to say that the staff here were exceptional. Their service, and the manner in which they attended to our requests for assistance, was outstanding. Kelly, Mark, Rachel, Jan, Darren and the consierge & door staff downstairs are to be commended for their professionalism - InterContinental should be proud of these employees.
The location of the hotel is convenient - 10 minutes easy walking to the Petronas Towers. The hotel shuttle bus can also take you there or to Farenheit 88. The room was extremely comfortable and the bed was one of the best we have had.
One last thing to mention - there was a good sized pool and a gym!

Room Tip: Executive Club Suites - worth that extra bit!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_ICKL, Manager at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Kuala Lumpur.

We are delighted to know that you had a memorable stay at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur and you were overall satisfied with our room, facilities and services. Club InterContinental Lounge is one of our exclusive privileges for Club InterContinental guests. We are glad that you found the upgrading worthy. Meanwhile, you kind compliments have been made known to the colleagues mentioned and we are sure, you encouraging feedbacks have motivated them to provide an even higher level of services.

Once again, we thank you for choosing InterContinental Kuala Lumpur and we look forward to having you again during your next trip to Kuala Lumpur.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

My husband and I stayed for 3nights at this hotel last week during a business trip. We got a room at the 18th floor. Check-in was a breeze. The room was large with a huge King-sized bed with good quality linens and excellent pillows. The internet connection was fast. The location of this hotel is a huge plus. It is very near KLCC and the LRT.

However, we had to report to the concierge that the power outlets on the desk was broken. The cold water knob at the bathroom sink was also not working. The bathroom didn't seem to be well maintained as there were cracks in the marble. The airconditioning is also acting up -- my husband and I would wake in the middle of the night because the room would get warm. I had expected a 5-star hotel to regularly do maintenance checks on their rooms to make certain that everything is in good working condition.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_ICKL, Manager at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing InterContinental during your recent trip to Kuala Lumpur.

We are glad to know that you and your husband had a pleasant stay here. We also note your comment regarding the room conditions and we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused. Rest assured that the hotel does not condone such satisfactory standards and the defects mentioned had since been rectified.

Once again, we apologize for any shortcomings that you encountered in the room. We thank you for sharing your feedback in TripAdvisor and we look forward to welcoming you again at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011 via mobile

I booked 3 days stayed last month, 22/9/11 thought it's a brand new hotel as listed on Ihg but only got to know the condition was worst than a 3 stars. Booked 2 s.bed non smoking given 1 k.bed with smoking room. Bathroom was dirty, bathrobe with blood stained on sleeve obviously not changed, broken kettle and no room service till 3pm. The guy at front desk got pretty upset with me when I address these to him without a single apology..until you've experienced it you'll know what sort of 5 star it really was...

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_ICKL, Manager at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Kuala Lumpur.

We deeply regret over your shortcomings during your stay with us. Your disappointments have been highlighted to the concern departments and rest assured necessary actions have been taken to further improve our services. We thank you very much for your constructive feedback and we hope you will give us another chance to be of better services to you.

Once again, please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience caused and we look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Kuala Lumpur.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011 via mobile

Hotel is about 10 mins walk to KLCC but has free shuttles that runs every hour for drop off and pick up.

Stayed in a club room on the 27th floor, club lounge was 26. Club lounge served simple high tea from 3-5 and cocktails from 6-8. Cocktails were simply fantastic making the club room worth every dollar.

Rooms were immaculate as per intercontinental standards. King bed was larger than a standard king. It's like 2 x super single. So it appears to be a super king.

Carpark is rm8 per day for multiple entries but they waived the charge for me. It's close to KLCC but was beside some highways so its easy to drive out or take a taxi out without getting stuck in the famous jln sultan ismail.

Given the rate I paid, I will return. The only downside is that as with all intercontinental hotels, any stay regardless of days will only earn u 2k pointson priorityclub, which is very little.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterCon_KL, Manager at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, October 10, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur.

We are delighted that you had a nice stay with us and enjoyed our facilities at the Club Lounge. We are happy to know that our facilities and services were up to your expectations and we look forward to welcome you back.

In our warm Malaysian hospitality, we would like to say "Terima Kasih" (Thank you) for being our guests
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

I am suspicious of the critical reviews of this hotel. My room on the 28th floor is everything I would expect from a five star hotel. The huge bed is very comfortable, the linnens are good quality, the air conditioning is silent, efficient and easilly adjusted. The bathroom is large and well designed.

The staff have all been great, the bars and restaurants are fine. I've always enjoyed InterContinental hotels, and this is a good one. The location is good too, close to KLCC, and next to a subway station.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterCon_KL, Manager at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, October 10, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your confidence in our hotel and it is wonderful to receive nice and positive feedbacks from you .

We are indeed very happy to know that you had an enjoyable stay here and our hotel’s standards and facilities had met to your expectations. Despite of some negative reviews on TripAdvisor , you had full confidence with us. We greatly appreciate your support and your positive and wonderful comments that you have posted on Trip Advisor.

We thank you for sharing your memorable experience on TripAdvisor, and last but not least, we look forward to welcome you back to InterContinental Kuala Lumpur.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Kuala Lumpur

Address: 165 Jalan Ampang, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#11 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#15 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#16 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#16 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel in the heart of Malaysia, InterContinental Kuala Lumpur offers one of the most sought after locations in the city, making it an ideal urban retreat for both business and leisure travelers. The hotel is just steps away from the iconic Petronas Twin Towers and Kuala Lumpur Convention Centre and within walking distance to countless other shopping and entertainment activities. Choose to work in comfort or luxury in the 473 spaciously designed rooms, including 110 newly renovated Grand Premier Rooms that feature modern, earth tone furnishings and state-of-the-art enhancements. Wine and dine in style with a selection of restaurants including the award-wining Tatsu Japanese Restaurant, Tao Chinese Cuisine, Serena Brasserie, OneSixFive and Bentley's Pub. InterContinental Kuala Lumpur also boasts eight meeting rooms and two conference venues to host memorable events from an intimate group of 20 or a large conference of 600 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Nikko Hotel
Nikko Kuala Lumpur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.