We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Service, good rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Kuala Lumpur to your Saves list
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   165 Jalan Ampang, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #18 of 274 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best Service, good rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011 via mobile

Some of the hardware is not fully InterConti yet, as the Hotel just reopened pretty much unchanged from the former Nikko. But the service makes all the difference - much better than in the other Hotels around the area.

I missed Pay-per-View TV and iPod docks (which they have in Ambassador suites and up only). The Executive Suites - to which I was upgrdaded to as royal ambassador member from a Club Room booking - are great, extremely spacious and nicely furbished. Club rooms are ok, too.

The Staff was most helpful with all requests and organized many things for me that were far Beyond the ordinary. E.g. one staff member who escorted us to the Convention Centre instead of just explaining the way there when asked.

I highly recommend the place to everybody who looks for perfect Service!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    648
    570
    153
    44
    28
See reviews for
207
275
108
370
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Booked a Luxury Weekend package and flew in from Singapore. We were very excited that Kuala Lumpur finally had an InterContinental hotel. To our great disappointment when we checked into the hotel, the rooms were totally ordinary. Even the Crowne Plaza which is supposed to be a grade lower had better rooms. On top of this, as a Priority Club Ambassador member we were already in upgraded rooms but it looked like there had been no upgrade. They should learn from Intercons in Ho Chi Minh, Singapore or Bangkok where you really get a wow factor with great hardware and service.

Service was ok - had no dramas there.

Overall disappointing. I hope they renovate and improve the rooms!

Room Tip: Ask for upgrade - call before arriving
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011 via mobile

The hotel just changed its name from nikko hotel to intercontinental hotel early this year. Everything is the same - all restaurants still have the same old name, menus are the same. The rooms deco are the same and the only thing that as been changed in the room are the amenities and room rates has gone up a lot just because it is an intercontinental hotel now!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

We were highly impressed by the attention of all staff from porters, front office, concierge, drivers, executive club and management. The rooms are extremely spacious, beds very comfortable. In a great location less than 3 minutes walk to Petronas towers shopping. An hourly shuttle will take you to the other shopping districts. Our room service food was delivered fast and it was hot and tasty. Would definitely stay there again for business or leisure.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

Where do I even begin? Planning this trip has certainly been an experience by itself. One which was filled with only negative feelings due to their below expectations service level. It starts from the lack of knowledge with the staff members (either due to being new or because of the recent re-branding) but you have a high chance of being given either incomplete or inaccurate information. The other is their lack of attention to details. No name recognition and no effort at even trying. It's a pity as hopes were high for a branded chain like the InterContinental but it sure has a long way to go and it can only start with changing mind sets.
Other than that, the hotel is well maintained generally and comfortable to be in. Food- and room-wise, no complaints and nothing outstanding. If you are driving and planning to self-park, think twice as the entry into the carpark is ridiculously narrow. Better to go with valet-parking!
It would take a lot of work before I returned again!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

Our stay in this hotel was not intentional. We had booked to stay in the Crowne Plaza, but upon our arrival to CP we were told our room had been flooded by a burst pipe and they had arranged accommodation for us at the Intercontinental.
It is a very large hotel, staff are friendly enough, the king size bed was very comfortable and the breakfast buffet was ok.
We enjoyed the pool area, it was quiet and nice to have a place to cool off.
I wouldn't say the location was great for travelers, perhaps better for business stays. You can walk to the twin towers in 10 minutes but to get anywhere else you will need to take a taxi. The Mono rail wasn't close enough to be useful either.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
133 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

"Wow, there's a new Intercon in KL" I thought, as I booked my trip "and it's cheaper than the Crowne Plaza where I usually stay". Perhaps I should have put two and two together at this point. When the taxi dropped me outside on Jalan Ampang I realised I knew the place well... the new Intercon is the old Hotel Nikko. The branding has changed, but not a lot else. The lobby still resembles a clattery, marble clad barn, and there's nothing really compelling or unique about the property to distinguish it from the proliferation of four and five star properties in the city.

I was on the club floor, where thankfully I wasn't charged for the internet, even though the pop up box on my laptop warned me I would be stung for RM60. Some of the Ambassador Club touches are missing - no welcome gift, for instance, but I was upgraded so I wasn't complaining. The breakfast in the club lounge on 26th floor was OK and the staff were attentive, but there was no "wow" factor, just a nice cup of coffee, some fruit and an excellent made to order omelette. There is a gym and fitness centre on 5th floor and the security is better than the Crowne Plaza, certainly on the club levels (key insert needed in the lift to access floors).

Room decor is plain, but the bed was very comfortable. The toilet had a Japanese warm wash system and the shower had plenty of power plus a large selection of oversize toiletries (100ml!) and a big tub. The iron worked, the broadband was fast , BBC World was available, and the carpets were scrupulously clean. But you expect all that in an Asian five star anyway. To really give the property a fresh start, some form of design makeover is needed, I feel, or some service differentiation. A huge art installation in the lobby, perhaps - which would also be an opportunity to clear some of the clutter there.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Kuala Lumpur

Address: 165 Jalan Ampang, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#10 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#14 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#15 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel in the heart of Malaysia, InterContinental Kuala Lumpur offers one of the most sought after locations in the city, making it an ideal urban retreat for both business and leisure travelers. The hotel is just steps away from the iconic Petronas Twin Towers and Kuala Lumpur Convention Centre and within walking distance to countless other shopping and entertainment activities. Choose to work in comfort or luxury in the 473 spaciously designed rooms, including 110 newly renovated Grand Premier Rooms that feature modern, earth tone furnishings and state-of-the-art enhancements. Wine and dine in style with a selection of restaurants including the award-wining Tatsu Japanese Restaurant, Tao Chinese Cuisine, Serena Brasserie, OneSixFive and Bentley's Pub. InterContinental Kuala Lumpur also boasts eight meeting rooms and two conference venues to host memorable events from an intimate group of 20 or a large conference of 600 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Nikko Hotel
Nikko Kuala Lumpur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.