We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien Kuala Lumpur to your Saves list
Le Meridien Kuala Lumpur
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.2 Jalan Stesen Sentral | Sentral Stesen, Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur 50470, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay Longer For Less
Ranked #21 of 274 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Santa Clarita, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed here with my wife and daughter for 2 nights and 3 days. Arrived late at night, and the room was pretty adequate. But there were no towels in the room. Having arrived at the hotel close to 10PM, and having endured Malaysian humidity, that was frustrating. I was looking to a shower all day after flying in from Shanghai. Called downstairs, and the towels were delivered to the room within 5 minutes. Will explain later, but for the good things...

The staff are very nice and very helpful. Very courteous. Any complaints were quickly addressed. This is a very nice hotel. But the management needs to learn how to manage a hotel better.

The best part of this hotel is the swimming pool. It is one of the best pools I have been in in recent travels and I travel a lot. My 9 year old refused to get out after been in the pool for 3 hours. The Hilton next door shares the pool. Stretches across the two buildings with bars at either end.

The second thing is the public transportation 5 minutes away. Starbucks and other restaurants is at the KL Sentral 5 minutes away. Never missed my morning coffee from Starbucks.

The bad point is the room was not very clean. But having stayed at other similar hotels in Malaysia, the last couple of days, I wasn't surprised. I just wish the cleaning staff and supervisors who approve the rooms are trained better. The bathroom was not very clean, the tables were dirty with coffee stains etc. etc.

I did complain, and it was addressed promptly.

To the hotel management - I complained so you would improve. I really did not need the limousine service you provided. I thank you for it. But please improve. You have a really nice hotel. Clean the rooms properly. The bathtub did not drain properly.

I would recommend this hotel as it is a great value and in a great location. I would go there agin because of the pool and location. Just make them clean the room again. Very nice hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room of a view of the parlimen building and tower. Great view both at night and dawn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienKL, General Manager at Le Meridien Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear MalaysianAmerican,

Happy New Year 2013!

Thank you for your feedback and comments. Cleanliness is certainly a priority and a focus and be assured that it is taken seriously. Thank you once again and I look forward to have you back for a trouble free journey this time

Warm Regards,

Harvey Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    606
    648
    200
    51
    32
See reviews for
234
401
213
457
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

It was the first time we stayed at this hotel. We have stayed before at the Westin KL.

The Meridien's location is very convenient if travelling from the airport via the KLIA and if you are travelling alone or with very little luggage. As a family we requested an airport pick up. Car was clean and the driver very professional.

The check in took a long time and it was very hard to understand why, as there was no one there but us. Anyway, it was not that bad.

We stayed in club rooms, a bit dated and used and that is the overall feeling we got from the hotel.

Service in the restaurants was good, except at the Italian restaurant, where the manager ( lady ) was very rude, moody and probably should not be working with people. In contrast the service staff was very professional and friendly. Nice place to take the kids for meals.

The Breakfast, we always had it on the main restaurant. My daughter tried the club floor one.
I would say, that it is average and the service staff at both places are either very good or very bad.

The swimming pool...the area is pleasant, but the water is freezing cold. Not that pleasant.

Concierge: outstanding and very helpful.
Room service: as concierge

Overall was a good stay, but between Le Merdien and the Westin, we prefer the Westin.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienKL, General Manager at Le Meridien Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear mbamaral,

Greetings from Le Meridien Kuala Lumpur and Happy New Year 2013!

Thank you for your review and feedback. I regret to read about some of the challenges you faced and will certainly share your experience with my teams.

As you have certainly noticed we have just fully renovated our lobby, or HUB as we call it and this is certainly the first step to a extended refurbishment plan for the rest of the property.

At least I am glad to read that your kids enjoyed the pool and the dining venues, which I am sure is very important for you.

Thank you again

Warm Regards,

Harvey Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Although the hotel looks nice and has great features, the managements organization is severely lacking. For example I booked the elephant tour 48 hours in advance. When I hadn't heard from them the night before regarding details of departure etx I took it upon myself to ask the concierge. It turns out they couldn't get me a spot and failed to inform me. It was too late to book through another means. I asked to speak to management. With much cajoling they finally found me a tour i could join- but only after I stated I wanted a private tour and would only pay group prices. It turns out they advertise for rides with elephants but you only feed them. All this for 85$. Of course they don't mention this until the morning of.

Also I planned for a special package with the business office for unlimited use. Each time I tried using it they tried to charge me for my visit. I would spend 15 explaining the situation to them.

Not to mention my key didn't work several times and I'd be forced to wait twenty minutes fir a new one with repeated calls to remind them.

The pool is also totally shaded so don't expect to feel the suns warmth at all.

Horrible horrible experience

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienKL, General Manager at Le Meridien Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear shortie61

Greetings from Le Meridien Kuala Lumpur.

We really appreciate you taking the time to advise us about your experience and I will personally review this with our team. I was disappointed with the service that you received and would appreciate if you could contact me directly so that I can gain a little more understanding of what happened We constantly review our services and facilities so we appreciate your comments so we can continuously improve our hotel.

Warm regards

Harvey Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We checked in for the Christmas and dine here as well. As regilar guest with SPG, SP for past 6 years,we are delighted that the receptionist given us a complimentary upgrade to a Premier Room. More spacious than the deluxe room.
Room theme is modern deco, clean, just nice not too small, but comfortable business hotel stay. separate wardrobe.
Bathroom is more spacious, good quality toiletries and towel, separate big tub, shower, right on top of tub is a nice big window having a commanding view of part of KL, and overlooking the pool.
Room service is good. this room is served with 6 bottles (500ml) of mineral water. Various tea and 2 packs of gourmet ground coffee for in-room making with coffee plunger, all are there at our convenience. Plenty of small fresh creamer also given inside the mini bar!
Bed is comfortable.
Will recommend to business associate, or friends..

Room Tip: Room facing pool has excellent view (attached pictures)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienKL, General Manager at Le Meridien Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Phillip T

Thank you for the great review and glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. In fact a lot of the comments you have made in relation to the water and creamer and the quantity that are in the rooms were the result of other SPG guests who wanted to share ways we could improve and I’m just glad to see that its recognized

Warm Regards,


Harvey Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed at the Le Meridien KL during Christmas holidays, booked a suite with a connecting deluxe room for my 2 young kids. Tried to checkin at 4:15pm but was told that my suite is not ready and they asked me to wait by the lobby while my kids are getting restless. So after 15mins or so, there was still no progress on my room so I decided to wait at the exec lounge since I am a SPG Platinum member. Got up there and clearly this hotel is under staffed. Only one staff working her butt off to check out about 4-5 guests. Nobody approached me again and by now it's over 5pm so I asked the 1 staff at the lounge, this was her reply- " sorry sir - we are still waiting for the guest at your suite to checkout but we have charged them for being late". So I had to ask her what if the guest don't checkout??? She had a blank look!! By now I was truly unhappy and we finally got our suite at 6:30pm which made us late for our dinner appointment in town!!!! As a loyal SPG member and averaging 50+ nights at SPG hotels, this is one disappointing hotel - all I can say is I can't wait for St Regis across the road to open.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienKL, Manager at Le Meridien Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Aclim73

Greetings from Le Meridien KL and Happy New Year 2013!

I regret to read about your journey and please may I ask you to private message me for more details as I would like to follow up on your experience.

I appreciate the feedback and I do believe it will help the Hotel to evolve, grow and better its service delivery.

Thank you

Warm Regards,

Greg Gubiani
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in Le Meridien KL Sentral. Overall, the hotel lounge looks great and the reception was friendly and efficient.

Hotel security is also tight as you are not allowed to go to any floors without a key card which ensures that only room guests are allowed up.

The room itself isn't big and sufficient for our needs. All amenities are provided though we had to request for bathrobes as they were missing from our room. Slippers are a nice touch.

The bathroom however could use a little touch-up especially the grout around the bathtub and sink.

Bottled of mineral waters were also provided. All hotels I have stayed beforehand would only provide 2 (if any)....but we found 8 bottles in the room overall! That was definitely needed as tap water in Malaysia can't be consumed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienKL, Manager at Le Meridien Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear LondonGreenfield,

Happy New Year 2013!

Thank you for your review and indeed security and safety of our guests is an important part of our operations. I am glad that you recognized it.

Please may I kindly ask you to private message me regarding your room as I would like to follow up on the bathroom feedback?

As you have noticed we have just renovated our lobby, or HUB as we call it and this is the first step of a more extensive renovation program.

Stay tuned

Warm Regards,

Greg Gubiani
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed three nights at the Le Meridien Kuala Lumpur in December. We travelled with two young children. The room was spacious and we got two cots for the babies. Highly appreciated. Very good kid's menu in the in-room-dining menu.

Great service, great breakfast and room service, and great pool area. Very happy with everything. We would like to stay here again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienKL, Manager at Le Meridien Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear 10H

Greetings from Le Meridien Kuala Lumpur and Happy New Year 2013!

Trust you had a safe journey back home? Thank you for your review and such a pleasure to read. It is always rewarding when our teams are recognized for their hard work and for making the difference.


Wishing you a great start of the 2013 and trust we will see you again.

Warm Regards,

Greg Gubiani
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Kuala Lumpur

Address: No.2 Jalan Stesen Sentral | Sentral Stesen, Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur 50470, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#12 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#13 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#17 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#18 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded by Expatriate Lifestyle Magazine with 2013 Best Business Hotel Excellence Award, Le Meridien Kuala Lumpur is the ultimate place for indulgence whenever one visits Malaysia. Strategically located at the Kuala Lumpur Sentral precinct, the business and transportation hub adjacent to Kuala Lumpur city centre, the hotel is easily accessible through a network of integrated rail connections. The Kuala Lumpur International Airport (KLIA) and KLIA2 are just 28 minutes and 33 minutes from the Hotel via the KLIA Express. The integrated Nu Sentral Mall allows guests the opportunity to discover retail therapy before commuting to the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le Meridien Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Meridien Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Le Meridien

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Kuala Lumpur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.