We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy hotel and great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   168 Jalan Imbi, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Spa Treatment & More
Ranked #9 of 274 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Classy hotel and great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed at Ritz Carlton during our visit to Kuala Lumpur. Check in process was brief. Very happy the hotel catered for early arrival as we managed to check into our room without any issues at 8.30am. The hotel location is fantastic and within 5 minutes walking distance to all major upmarket shopping malls. The hotel buffet breakfast is a must. Absolutely worth the money. Very spacious and luxurious room. Not impressed with the view though as we were facing a vacant block.

We enjoyed the pool on several occasions. A bit cold since the pool is constantly in the shade and not getting much sun. We didn't really get to use the butler service too much since we were constantly out and about town. However, it was nice to come back to our room at the end of the day and received a fruit platter occasionally. Very nice touch by the hotel!

Room Tip: Not much view for any rooms since the hotel building is located amongst all high towers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,053 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    648
    244
    108
    35
    18
See reviews for
203
346
73
201
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed at the Ritz Carlton for only one night but enjoyed first class sevice which is indicative of the Malaysian hospitality we enjoyed throughout out holiday In Kuala Lumpur & Borneo. The location is ideal to access the main shopping areas of Kuala Lumpur and the Petronas Towers both within walking distance. Our room was beautiful, spacious and immaculate as well as being very comfortable. Breakfast was very good although some would argue not as expansive as some hotels of the same rating. As our stay was only brief--stop over before flight to Borneo I can not comment on wider hotel facilities.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Malaysian hospitality delivered with a smile. I was there for work running a meeting and was constantly over-fed and well attended to. Having your own butler at your disposal was a nice touch. Sometimes the service falls down. Not because there is a lack of attentiveness. But language differences and having so many people at your service sometimes we all get a little confused as to who's doing what. Food was fine. Location is excellent - right around the corner and up the street from Pavilion Mall which has all the up-scale global brands. In a hot climate like KL the rooms are freezing cold from the AC so bring a sweater to wear inside. The spa is lovely, relaxing, like floating on a cloud. I had a hot stone massage. I think. I probably fell asleep while she was massaging my feet. A great experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The Ritz-Carlton is just located at Bukit Bintang, so it takes not more than 5 minutes to walk to Pavillon shopping centre. Also Berjaya Times Square can be reached by foot.
Hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful. When we arrived our room was not ready and we were offered to wait at a lounge where we could take a shower and were offered something to drink.
In the end we got an upgrade to a huge suite, which had 2 bedrooms, a living room and a fully equipped kitchen! The bedrooms and bath rooms were really nice and big. We didn't really explore the hotel but from what we saw it looks really nice and luxurious.
Breakfast buffet had a selecton of asian and western food. It was good, but not outstanding.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Nice place, nice services, great location, good price, staff were very very friendly. I liked the bridge that connects it with the Marriott which has a mall and a variety of different restaurants. My room was nice but make sure to ask about the beds size. It is located in the heart of Kuala Lumpur near the pavillion mall which is beautiful, and a number of other malls and shops to go to. In conclusion, it is one of your best choices in Kuala Lumpur.

Room Tip: The bed size is not the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

We are talking a brand name Ritz Carlton so the benchmark has risen. I thought the hotel decor is a bit dated but classy. Staff are friendly and often helpful. There is this 24 hr butler service that is promoted at Ritz - Once I asked for some tea in the evening which never came but it might be a one time misadventure.

Location of the hotel is one block away from JW Marriott and Westin but still close to the main attractions. The road that leads to the hotel is dimly lit so you have to stay alert. Otherwise a quiet location.

My corner room is spacious and clean. The bathroom is huge and well equipped. However, I have to criticize the comfort levels of the study chair (no back support) and the unusually high level of the study table. The bed is somewhat hard and stiff and the feather pillow is very weighty. Not a good sleep.

I'm surprised that the room does not come equipped with a steam iron and board and they arrived with past stains and burnt marks on the board. Also a letdown to see a small traveller hairdryer being used.

Amenities are decent with the basic ones provided for. But I didn't find any shoe polish or umbrella in the room. The slippers are those thin ones found in lower class of hotels. No bathroom robe is provided as well. No evening turn down service.

Breakfast is reasonable but I'm not a fan of semi buffet. But I must say that food is fresh.

All in all, only an okay stay at that price and and probably be my first and last stay there. I have expected more from the Ritz Carlton brand. JW Marriott is the go to hotel if you are searching for a hotel in that area.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The ritz Carlton has great service in compare to other organizations in terms of recording the guest data, thier desire meals, or any specification through thier system which is attractive n respectful, so totally happy n satisfied, but the beverages are extremely expensive, I use to buy a dom prignon champagne for 2020 ringgit approximately which is big amount of money n later on I could find it very cheaper in other hotels. Services were incredible, specially the arrangement of the Pool side dining tables for dinner n also mr Patrick greeting the duty manager itself
Thanks to ritz Carlton team

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur

Address: 168 Jalan Imbi, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#11 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#13 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur features full butler service for all 365 guest rooms and suites. Named "Best Business Hotel" in Malaysia by Business Asia and CNBC, "Best Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur" by Travel + Leisure, and ranked among the best in the world by Conde Nast Traveler’s Gold List, the hotel re-defines Malaysian 5-star hospitality. Services and facilities include Li Yen, an award-winning Cantonese restaurant, The Lobby Lounge serving international and local favorites, Carlton Gourmet, serving fresh deli specialties, and Cesar's, a luxe-elegant breakfast retreat. With an award-winning tropical "Spa Village" and 24-hour fitness centre, a 30,000 square foot, 3-level wifi-enabled conference center, and a full-service business centre, all connected to the exclusive Starhill Gallery, The Ritz-Carlton Kuala Lumpur is the ideal destination for both business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Marriott, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Ritz Carlton
Ritz Kuala Lumpur
Ritz-Carlton Kuala Lumpur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.