We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Hotel with Great Hospitality Service and Facilities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur to your Saves list
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Jalan Sultan Ismail, Kuala Lumpur 50250, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Member Special: 20.20.20
Ranked #1 of 286 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Old Hotel with Great Hospitality Service and Facilities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Shangri-La Kuala Lumpur is not a new hotel but has good location, great 5-star hotel facilities, great hospitality and service, clean room, good selection of food for breakfast... what else do you need?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,718
    966
    249
    55
    34
See reviews for
879
2,207
316
920
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,108)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Great location, a walking distance from Petronas Towers, besides the view of them.. by north side you reach Menara Tower, but don't go walking!! It's close, but to reach the tower you must go up the hill for over 15 minutes, not recommended, since taxis are very cheap. Near the mono rail, shopping center, etc. The hotel itself is huge and spacious, but even if you are a smoker, do not stay in a smoker room, neither in a smoker floor, they look not so clean as the other floors, even the carpet. The breakfast is amazing, full of option and different cousines.

Room Tip: Check if there is any convention at the hotel before booking it..the hotel becomes crowded and since...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I wasn't a guest here but my parents where.
Unfortunately I was mugged on my way to visit them and was quite upset when I arrived.
All the staff at the Shangri-La were amazing, helpful and did their best to assist me when I arrived upset in their foyer.
Particular mention to Joseph who went above and beyond.
Each day when I returned (to visit my parents) all the staff were very attentive, there is no waiting in line for the concierge. Everyone was very friendly too. Definitely worth it's 5 star rating.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I love this hotel and staff. Breakfast is amazing, a lot of choices. Great location and shuttle service to go shopping. Room was great with Fresh bottles of water every day, very clean and good combination of colors...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My first stay at this hotel is located in the Golden Triangle area of KL, very central. Service was excellent, but my room was very small. I normally stay at the Renaissance when I visit KL but it was full on this occassion.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed here on the final leg of our 1st wedding anniversary in April and had a great stay. The room itself was nice and very clean, all the amenities you'd expect in a 5 star hotel, the bed comfortable and the bathroom modern and clean. Location wise just 2 stops from Bukit Bintang (or 1 if you walk in the other direction and get the next stop over), I think the monorail ticket from the nearest stop to Bukit Bintang was about 2 ringgit.

The staff were super attentive, the bell boy who brought our luggage to our room remembering my name every time he saw us walking through the hotel during our 6 night stay. Concierge were super helpful in giving directions and helping us get around and suggesting areas to visit when we told them what we wanted to do. The staff operating the taxi stand very helpful and friendly taking your details of what room you were from, where you were going, recording the cab number and telling the cab exactly where you wanted to go so as to not have the taxi tout you to go elsewhere and telling you how much the trip will cost.

I must give a special mention to Mr Thomas Yap, the Guest Services Manager. I fell quite ill the morning after eating at the Seafood Buffet in the hotel and once he discovered this (when housekeeping came by to do the room after turning them away a few times because we were still in the room due to my illness and calling housekeeping later that morning to change the bag in the bin as I had thrown up in it a number of times and the smell was not helping the situation Thomas was alerted) he called a number of times offering assistance and personally attended our room to check my condition and give us different food to help the situation, electrolyte drinks and offer to contact a doctor to visit the room. Being our last night in Kuala Lumpur and due to fly out the next day we were beginning to get worried that I wouldn't be able to fly so we eventually asked Thomas to organise the doctor to attended our room within half an hour. Thomas came to the room with the doctor and was present most of the time while the doctor was with us. He went over and above in his level of service and really took the time to assist as much as he could.

Aside from this we had a fantastic stay, enjoyed quite a few drinks (very reasonably priced too for a 5 star hotel) in the hotel bar being entertained by the amazing jazz band and enjoyed ourselves.

If we happened to visit KL again would definitely stay there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We arrived at an extremely busy time of the year without a prior booking. While all the other hotels were either full or charging excessively for walk-ins, Shangri La offered excellent accommodation without over charging for the last minute booking. Check-in was quick and hassle free and we were also offered an upgrade to accommodate the family and the room was excellent. The staff was amazing and so were all the facilities at the hotel. Location was great, right in the city centre. Overall an excellent experience for the whole family.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.6 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#6 of 286 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 stars 7,450 reviews
0.4 mi away
PARKROYAL Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur
0.4 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#4 of 286 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 stars 1,025 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
#8 of 286 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 stars 1,235 reviews
2.0 mi away
Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
#9 of 286 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 stars 1,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Address: 11 Jalan Sultan Ismail, Kuala Lumpur 50250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#1 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#1 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#3 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 662
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, an award winning 5-Star luxury hotel renowned for its consistent extraordinary customer service, culinary and fine dining experience. Located in the heart of Kuala Lumpur's commercial, entertainment and shopping district with easy access to most tourist attractions. The only hotel in KL that sits within beautiful lush gardens offering extensive meetings facilities, large multi-divisible ballroom along with wide variety of guest rooms, 101 suites and a Horizon Club that caters to business/ leisure travellers, MICE delegates as well as high profile guests and socialites. It's an extraordinary place to stay, dine and meet in KL! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Otel, Hotel.de, Asiatravel.com Holdings, getaroom.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Kuala Lumpur
Shangri La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.