We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Save Saved
You added Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Jalan Sultan Ismail, Kuala Lumpur 50250, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Super Saver Package
Ranked #1 of 268 hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excelent!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Great location, a walking distance from Petronas Towers, besides the view of them.. by north side you reach Menara Tower, but don't go walking!! It's close, but to reach the tower you must go up the hill for over 15 minutes, not recommended, since taxis are very cheap. Near the mono rail, shopping center, etc. The hotel itself is huge and spacious, but even if you are a smoker, do not stay in a smoker room, neither in a smoker floor, they look not so clean as the other floors, even the carpet. The breakfast is amazing, full of option and different cousines.

Room Tip: Check if there is any convention at the hotel before booking it..the hotel becomes crowded and since...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,819 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,838
    724
    188
    40
    29
See reviews for
670
1681
267
672
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (849)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I wasn't a guest here but my parents where.
Unfortunately I was mugged on my way to visit them and was quite upset when I arrived.
All the staff at the Shangri-La were amazing, helpful and did their best to assist me when I arrived upset in their foyer.
Particular mention to Joseph who went above and beyond.
Each day when I returned (to visit my parents) all the staff were very attentive, there is no waiting in line for the concierge. Everyone was very friendly too. Definitely worth it's 5 star rating.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I love this hotel and staff. Breakfast is amazing, a lot of choices. Great location and shuttle service to go shopping. Room was great with Fresh bottles of water every day, very clean and good combination of colors...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My first stay at this hotel is located in the Golden Triangle area of KL, very central. Service was excellent, but my room was very small. I normally stay at the Renaissance when I visit KL but it was full on this occassion.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed here on the final leg of our 1st wedding anniversary in April and had a great stay. The room itself was nice and very clean, all the amenities you'd expect in a 5 star hotel, the bed comfortable and the bathroom modern and clean. Location wise just 2 stops from Bukit Bintang (or 1 if you walk in the other direction and get the next stop over), I think the monorail ticket from the nearest stop to Bukit Bintang was about 2 ringgit.

The staff were super attentive, the bell boy who brought our luggage to our room remembering my name every time he saw us walking through the hotel during our 6 night stay. Concierge were super helpful in giving directions and helping us get around and suggesting areas to visit when we told them what we wanted to do. The staff operating the taxi stand very helpful and friendly taking your details of what room you were from, where you were going, recording the cab number and telling the cab exactly where you wanted to go so as to not have the taxi tout you to go elsewhere and telling you how much the trip will cost.

I must give a special mention to Mr Thomas Yap, the Guest Services Manager. I fell quite ill the morning after eating at the Seafood Buffet in the hotel and once he discovered this (when housekeeping came by to do the room after turning them away a few times because we were still in the room due to my illness and calling housekeeping later that morning to change the bag in the bin as I had thrown up in it a number of times and the smell was not helping the situation Thomas was alerted) he called a number of times offering assistance and personally attended our room to check my condition and give us different food to help the situation, electrolyte drinks and offer to contact a doctor to visit the room. Being our last night in Kuala Lumpur and due to fly out the next day we were beginning to get worried that I wouldn't be able to fly so we eventually asked Thomas to organise the doctor to attended our room within half an hour. Thomas came to the room with the doctor and was present most of the time while the doctor was with us. He went over and above in his level of service and really took the time to assist as much as he could.

Aside from this we had a fantastic stay, enjoyed quite a few drinks (very reasonably priced too for a 5 star hotel) in the hotel bar being entertained by the amazing jazz band and enjoyed ourselves.

If we happened to visit KL again would definitely stay there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We arrived at an extremely busy time of the year without a prior booking. While all the other hotels were either full or charging excessively for walk-ins, Shangri La offered excellent accommodation without over charging for the last minute booking. Check-in was quick and hassle free and we were also offered an upgrade to accommodate the family and the room was excellent. The staff was amazing and so were all the facilities at the hotel. Location was great, right in the city centre. Overall an excellent experience for the whole family.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Hotel is 1st class, we could not fault it in any way.
From the moment we arrived, checked in with a smile, straight to the room, room size is adequate, and well appointed. Fresh bottles of water every day, and bed turned down every night.
Breakfast selection is huge, cater for every nationality, staff very helpful, and do everything to make the experience spot on. Location is great, monorail right out front, or walk into town (forget a taxi, peak hour traffic pretty much 24/7) back to hotel in the evening, treated with a smile, sit in the lounge, 3 piece band playing jazz and other music. Service here also excellent, friendly staff, nothing a problem, yes sir, no sir. A bit pricey, but you expect that, in a hotel of this level. Toilets on ground level spotless, lots of staff in foyer, if assistance required. Hotel has 8 x lifts in main lobby, and you never wait more than a minute for a lift at any time. This is the best inner city hotel I have stayed in, anywhere in the world. I highly recommend this hotel, well done Shangri-La.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Address: 11 Jalan Sultan Ismail, Kuala Lumpur 50250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#1 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#2 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Malaysias most elegant hotels, the award-winning Shangri-La Hotel, Kuala Lumpur is situated in the bustling capital. Set among lush gardens, it is just 60 minutes from the international airport and 5 minutes from the business and shopping districts. The Hotel features some of the most spacious luxury accommodations in Kuala Lumpur with ultra-modern conference facilities, as well as a full-fledged fitness centre. For the culinary Epicurean, its restaurants offer some of the finest dining in Kuala Lumpur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Venere, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Kuala Lumpur
Shangri La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.