We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed it, esp worth it when I got sick” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur to your Saves list
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Jalan Sultan Ismail, Kuala Lumpur 50250, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3, Pay 2
Ranked #1 of 282 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed it, esp worth it when I got sick”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed here on the final leg of our 1st wedding anniversary in April and had a great stay. The room itself was nice and very clean, all the amenities you'd expect in a 5 star hotel, the bed comfortable and the bathroom modern and clean. Location wise just 2 stops from Bukit Bintang (or 1 if you walk in the other direction and get the next stop over), I think the monorail ticket from the nearest stop to Bukit Bintang was about 2 ringgit.

The staff were super attentive, the bell boy who brought our luggage to our room remembering my name every time he saw us walking through the hotel during our 6 night stay. Concierge were super helpful in giving directions and helping us get around and suggesting areas to visit when we told them what we wanted to do. The staff operating the taxi stand very helpful and friendly taking your details of what room you were from, where you were going, recording the cab number and telling the cab exactly where you wanted to go so as to not have the taxi tout you to go elsewhere and telling you how much the trip will cost.

I must give a special mention to Mr Thomas Yap, the Guest Services Manager. I fell quite ill the morning after eating at the Seafood Buffet in the hotel and once he discovered this (when housekeeping came by to do the room after turning them away a few times because we were still in the room due to my illness and calling housekeeping later that morning to change the bag in the bin as I had thrown up in it a number of times and the smell was not helping the situation Thomas was alerted) he called a number of times offering assistance and personally attended our room to check my condition and give us different food to help the situation, electrolyte drinks and offer to contact a doctor to visit the room. Being our last night in Kuala Lumpur and due to fly out the next day we were beginning to get worried that I wouldn't be able to fly so we eventually asked Thomas to organise the doctor to attended our room within half an hour. Thomas came to the room with the doctor and was present most of the time while the doctor was with us. He went over and above in his level of service and really took the time to assist as much as he could.

Aside from this we had a fantastic stay, enjoyed quite a few drinks (very reasonably priced too for a 5 star hotel) in the hotel bar being entertained by the amazing jazz band and enjoyed ourselves.

If we happened to visit KL again would definitely stay there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,386
    880
    223
    46
    33
See reviews for
798
2,017
298
814
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,019)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Karachi, Pakistan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We arrived at an extremely busy time of the year without a prior booking. While all the other hotels were either full or charging excessively for walk-ins, Shangri La offered excellent accommodation without over charging for the last minute booking. Check-in was quick and hassle free and we were also offered an upgrade to accommodate the family and the room was excellent. The staff was amazing and so were all the facilities at the hotel. Location was great, right in the city centre. Overall an excellent experience for the whole family.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Hotel is 1st class, we could not fault it in any way.
From the moment we arrived, checked in with a smile, straight to the room, room size is adequate, and well appointed. Fresh bottles of water every day, and bed turned down every night.
Breakfast selection is huge, cater for every nationality, staff very helpful, and do everything to make the experience spot on. Location is great, monorail right out front, or walk into town (forget a taxi, peak hour traffic pretty much 24/7) back to hotel in the evening, treated with a smile, sit in the lounge, 3 piece band playing jazz and other music. Service here also excellent, friendly staff, nothing a problem, yes sir, no sir. A bit pricey, but you expect that, in a hotel of this level. Toilets on ground level spotless, lots of staff in foyer, if assistance required. Hotel has 8 x lifts in main lobby, and you never wait more than a minute for a lift at any time. This is the best inner city hotel I have stayed in, anywhere in the world. I highly recommend this hotel, well done Shangri-La.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del Rey
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The hotel limousine was Mercedes E-class as most upper class hotels use and we could enjoy a comfortable ride to the hotel. The hotel shuttle bus connects to Petronas Twin Towers or Suria KLCC Mall. The location is very convenient to KL Tower also.
From our room, we can see Petronas Twin Towers as well as monorail and children may enjoy the view. The room amenities and equipments are more than standard.
The lemon garden offers variety of foods at breakfast but so crowded and service quality is less than standard. However the Horizon Club Lounge offers comfortable breakfast space although its menu is limited compared with the Lemon Garden.
The only disappointment is its pool area. The pool itself is very small as well as its pool area. Not many quests are allowed to get in.

Room Tip: If you choose the Petronas Towers view, you can see the light up towers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We were picked up by a 2013 Mercedes Benz E-Class vehicle, and the member waiting for us outside the airport was well dressed and appointed. He was friendly and conversational with us while waiting for our car to come through the mass of vehicles outside. Inside were complimentary water bottles to help us adjust to the heat!

Upon arrival, our luggage was taken and we were led to a quick and efficient check in. There was a discrepancy with our booking that was made through an agent, but they were more than happy to accommodate our bedding change requirements. The views from the hotel room weren't that great, but we were out exploring most of the time anyway. The room service was great, as expected from a 5 star hotel, and their nasi lemak in room was delicious.

The decor of the hotel is very immaculate and regal. There's a huge cafe area on the ground floor, looking out into a cooling forestry scene. Staff are plentiful and quite attentive, except for maybe the concierge table, where acknowledgment of our presence sometimes lacked.

Location is very good, located near a monorail station, and pretty much walkable to all main shopping centres such as Lot 10, Fahrenheit 88, Starhill, Suria KLCC and Pavillion. Walkable also to Jalan Alor food street, the Petronas Twin Towers, and the KL Towere (Menara Tower) is pretty much behind the hotel. The taxis parked in front of the hotel are great too, because they actually use the meters, instead of having to haggle for a price. A shuttle bus daily also takes guests to some of these locations, and the hotel is near the main strip of pubs.

Great stay, and great location. It was good to come back to a nice cool hotel after a long hot day exploring the city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I only have the highest regard for the hotel and staff. I could fault nothing. Great location to get around town and convenient shuttle service to take you to the shops. Also walking distance from the Hop-on-hop off bus service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We went to KL for my sons 21st birthday. We arrived by in house transfers best way to go. On arrival we were greeted with flowers for myself and my daughter (the girls in the group). We were escorted to check I where we could upgrade to the horizon club for a fee. Well that was so worth it especially with a family of 5 including 4 adults. Cocktail hour was the best and it was all included we were welcome to have a buffet breakfast and our room was ready At 10 am well ahead of the 2pm check in time. Thanks to Marlya and Lindsey for providing a cake and singing happy birthday for my son. A great 10 days best place on earth to stay at, staff very attentive and make you feel like royalty especially aT the horizon club .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Address: 11 Jalan Sultan Ismail, Kuala Lumpur 50250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#1 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#1 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#2 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 662
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, an award winning 5-Star luxury hotel renowned for its consistent extraordinary customer service, culinary and fine dining experience. Located in the heart of Kuala Lumpur's commercial, entertainment and shopping district with easy access to most tourist attractions. The only hotel in KL that sits within beautiful lush gardens offering extensive meetings facilities, large multi-divisible ballroom along with wide variety of guest rooms, 101 suites and a Horizon Club that caters to business/ leisure travellers, MICE delegates as well as high profile guests and socialites. It's an extraordinary place to stay, dine and meet in KL! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Kuala Lumpur
Shangri La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.