We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in Central Kuala Lumpur” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur to your Saves list
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Jalan Sultan Ismail, Kuala Lumpur 50250, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 274 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Brisbane
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Luxury in Central Kuala Lumpur”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We were picked up by a 2013 Mercedes Benz E-Class vehicle, and the member waiting for us outside the airport was well dressed and appointed. He was friendly and conversational with us while waiting for our car to come through the mass of vehicles outside. Inside were complimentary water bottles to help us adjust to the heat!

Upon arrival, our luggage was taken and we were led to a quick and efficient check in. There was a discrepancy with our booking that was made through an agent, but they were more than happy to accommodate our bedding change requirements. The views from the hotel room weren't that great, but we were out exploring most of the time anyway. The room service was great, as expected from a 5 star hotel, and their nasi lemak in room was delicious.

The decor of the hotel is very immaculate and regal. There's a huge cafe area on the ground floor, looking out into a cooling forestry scene. Staff are plentiful and quite attentive, except for maybe the concierge table, where acknowledgment of our presence sometimes lacked.

Location is very good, located near a monorail station, and pretty much walkable to all main shopping centres such as Lot 10, Fahrenheit 88, Starhill, Suria KLCC and Pavillion. Walkable also to Jalan Alor food street, the Petronas Twin Towers, and the KL Towere (Menara Tower) is pretty much behind the hotel. The taxis parked in front of the hotel are great too, because they actually use the meters, instead of having to haggle for a price. A shuttle bus daily also takes guests to some of these locations, and the hotel is near the main strip of pubs.

Great stay, and great location. It was good to come back to a nice cool hotel after a long hot day exploring the city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,179
    819
    203
    44
    32
See reviews for
745
1,882
284
772
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (953)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I only have the highest regard for the hotel and staff. I could fault nothing. Great location to get around town and convenient shuttle service to take you to the shops. Also walking distance from the Hop-on-hop off bus service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We went to KL for my sons 21st birthday. We arrived by in house transfers best way to go. On arrival we were greeted with flowers for myself and my daughter (the girls in the group). We were escorted to check I where we could upgrade to the horizon club for a fee. Well that was so worth it especially with a family of 5 including 4 adults. Cocktail hour was the best and it was all included we were welcome to have a buffet breakfast and our room was ready At 10 am well ahead of the 2pm check in time. Thanks to Marlya and Lindsey for providing a cake and singing happy birthday for my son. A great 10 days best place on earth to stay at, staff very attentive and make you feel like royalty especially aT the horizon club .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

wow it is greatis is my 4th stay in the place but excellent service as usual. Greeted by hotel staff at the lobby and immediately directed to concierge for check-in which took less than 10 mins, after which I was escorted straight to the lift lobby by a hotel staff. Location: Slightly off major Pavilion etc shopping area but within walkable distance (roughly 10-15 mins short walk). Pizza Hut and KFC right next to the hotel within 5 mins walk with grocery stores nearby. Room: Spacious as usual with fruits already in the room to welcome guests. Bed is very comfortable with 6 bottled water! Big desk for laptop and paperwork, as well as HDMI/VGA/S-video etc direct input to Samsung LCD TV which is ideal for video conferencing Food: Very quick room service. Ordered some traditional noodles at 9pm which took less than 15 mins to arrive. Also want to highlight excellent service at Lemon Cafe as I was in a hurry for meeting and asked for something "ready to go". Staff immediately gave me a big box to grasp pastries on the buffet table without a word. They even asked if I need a coffee which I grabbed and left straight the way. Definitely a "think out of the box" service experience for busy business professionals Facilities: Tried swimming pool but not the gym. Big half-moon shaped pool albeit the water is a little bit too cold at night although perfectly acceptable outdoor. Also got chairs and a pub by the pool which is ideal for daytime swimmers

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Shangri La Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed for two nights as part of our honeynmoon trip across Malaysia. Received an upgrade from a standard club room to a suite. The suite is a little dated in style but very comfortable and well equipped. Club access was fantastic, with a great breakfast, afternoon tea and evening drinks service. The staff were very friendly to us and made us feel very welcome. Location is excellent, just a short 10 minute walk from the Petronas towers.

Room Tip: Great views of the city and Petronas towers from the top floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Very nice hotel, family with two kids. We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Th stat were so helpful, food was great, seafood dinner was amazing, breakfast was extremely nice and tasty. The hotel is nice





  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

A lovely hotel with everything one needs. Walking distance from many attractions and transport. Very helpful with difficult dietary requirements and allergies. I was able to enjoy my meals with confidence. They made our experience a delightful one.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Address: 11 Jalan Sultan Ismail, Kuala Lumpur 50250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#1 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#2 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 662
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Malaysias most elegant hotels, the award-winning Shangri-La Hotel, Kuala Lumpur is situated in the bustling capital. Set among lush gardens, it is just 60 minutes from the international airport and 5 minutes from the business and shopping districts. The Hotel features some of the most spacious luxury accommodations in Kuala Lumpur with ultra-modern conference facilities, as well as a full-fledged fitness centre. For the culinary Epicurean, its restaurants offer some of the finest dining in Kuala Lumpur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, Agoda, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Kuala Lumpur
Shangri La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.