We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel, we loved our stay here~” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur to your Saves list
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Jalan Sultan Ismail, Kuala Lumpur 50250, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
RM18: Free Breakfast Wifi
Ranked #1 of 286 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel, we loved our stay here~”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Our family of 3 stayed at the Shangri-La Kuala Lumpur for 3 nights and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. As soon as we stepped in the lobby, we were greeted by the fragrance of lilies. Having spent so many hours on the airplane, it was nice - we thought it must be air freshener or they just finished cleaning. We finished check in, turned around and saw this MASSIVE stunning lily floral arrangement, the lilies were real and so was the fragrance. We knew we were at the right place!

What we loved:
Big comfy beds
Great room service
Tranquil lighting, spacious storage, mini bar area with kettle built-in
Buffet Breakfast (the selection of food offered was FANTASTIC, treats from Chinese noodles to halva to sushi to croissants and pastries). During our short stay it was not possible for us to visit night markets for special local food, so it was really a treat to sample many local specialties at breakfast, from otak otak to nyonya kuih)
The Garden area with fish and topiary maze
Location of the hotel was close to KLCC and other malls

What we thought was ok:
The swimming pool area was smaller than expected and not too children friendly.
The hotel does not run its own spa, but has a little spa boutique. Nothing wrong with that, it just feels that the Shangri-La experience could have extended to pampering sessions. (Comparing this hotel with the stunning spa at Shagri-La Taipei). They also offer in room massage, but none offers massage sessions to pregnant travelers...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,647
    939
    240
    54
    34
See reviews for
854
2,165
311
897
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,086)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed here for two nights on a stop over on our way home from Cambodia. I can not recommend it highly enough. The staff were friendly, helpful and attentive. The breakfast buffet has to be seen to believed! A magnificent feast that provides something for everyone's tastes at a very reasonable price. We also enjoyed an evening meal here. The central location was fantastic - easy walking distance to the towers and good access to public transport. Very comfortable beds, lovely bathroom - just wish we had stayed longer! maybe next time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincs UK
Level Contributor
281 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 352 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Returning to KL some 12+ years since our last visit - there could only be one hotel to stay at - the Shangri-la. We were not dissappointed - in many ways things had not changed. This time for one night before our onward flight to HK & home. In particular something I have commented on before is that the hotel recognises that guests often want to read in bed & as such provides good lighting for the same.

The sauna, steamroom, Jacuzzi & hydropool were appreciated and finally we had a great meal at the Shang Palace to finish our holiday

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for my honeymoon in march,in fact I am here at the minute:) On the day of checking in they spotted we were on honeymoon and up graded us to a suite,which includes a walk in wardrobe,Sitting room (sofa,DVD,fridge,tv,office desk & chair) then we have a massive master bedroom also with tv and super king bed automatic curtains! Then a massive bathroom including wet room . 3 restaurants are fab! The bar is lovely and huge food portions,the lounge bar has a huge cocktail list and has a lounge band nightly! Breakfast has everything you could imagine!! From pancakes to cereal ,fruit to noodles ,English breakfast to Malay breakfast!! Truely delish freshly made food! I would rate this higher if I could! The people are also so so friendly!!! Enjoy!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My wife and I spent one night here on our way back from Australia and we can safely say this is the best hotel we've stayed in - ever. Everything from the spacious and luxurious room to the service, to the gigantic breakfast buffet spread to the location was just perfect. Complimentary shuttle service around the city was the icing on the cake. And all of this was available at a steal! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed in the Shangri La in Bangkok a few years back, and loved it. We booked the Shangri La in Kuala Lumpur based on that wonderful experience. The KL Shangri La was even better. The best hotel experience we have ever had. The hotel has recently had a complete make over, and it positively sparkles. just the right amount of bling and water features. We had a top floor suite, which was gorgeous! And an excellent value... And the best thing about the Shangi La is the service. Everyone was elegant, warm and charming. We felt like we were being welcomed by old friends every time we came and went. The location is near some great night life, and moments from the monorail. We explored the city really well from this location. I can't recommend it enough. 10 out of 10.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for The Horizon Club. You well get the best breakfast in South East Asia and cock...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcester
Level Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

I have counted and this is our 8th holiday of a lifetime; this time to KL and Langakawi. I spent several weeks debating over the hotel choice in KL. As this is a special trip we were prepared to spend a little more on the hotels. After much deliberation and reading of trip Advisor we opted for the Shangri La and the Horizon club/ room package staying for 4 nights. As some previous reviewers have stated, KL is expensive for drink and the happy hour package makes this an extremely competitive option.

However, it is far more than that; the level of service we encounter in the hotel was absolutely first rate, and we have been fortunate enough to have stay in some very luxurious places. The hotel it self is what I would call a good quality business hotel, what it lacks in some of the opulence that you find in some far eastern hotels, it makes up for in the quality of its staff and the delicious Buffet's and breakfast. Indeed, the breakfast in the Horizon Lounge was one of the best we have encountered.

The room itself was comfortable, very well maintained with extremely good amenities, even down to scissors when I needed some. Nice crisp bedlinen and the toiletries - L'Occitane. With Good bath and shower facilities.

The pool area, a delight and if you sit in the right location you can see both the KL tower and the Petronas Twin Towers. With regular water top ups and attentive pool staff.

We also tried the spa, but in retrospect I would not be happy recommending it. I do not think the quality of treatments, ambiance and facilities are of a high enough standard to warrant the prices charged. This could be far better.

The only slight negative ; the signage at the top of the hotel has lost the light in its G. As a marketing tool, not befitting a hotel on this calibre.

All in all, the hotel warrants its No 1 status on trip advisor.


Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.6 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#5 of 286 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 stars 7,344 reviews
0.4 mi away
PARKROYAL Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur
0.4 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#4 of 286 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 stars 966 reviews
2.0 mi away
Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
#10 of 286 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 stars 1,651 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 286 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 stars 1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Address: 11 Jalan Sultan Ismail, Kuala Lumpur 50250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#1 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#3 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 662
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, an award winning 5-Star luxury hotel renowned for its consistent extraordinary customer service, culinary and fine dining experience. Located in the heart of Kuala Lumpur's commercial, entertainment and shopping district with easy access to most tourist attractions. The only hotel in KL that sits within beautiful lush gardens offering extensive meetings facilities, large multi-divisible ballroom along with wide variety of guest rooms, 101 suites and a Horizon Club that caters to business/ leisure travellers, MICE delegates as well as high profile guests and socialites. It's an extraordinary place to stay, dine and meet in KL! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, getaroom.com, Agoda, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Kuala Lumpur
Shangri La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.