We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur to your Saves list
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Jalan Sultan Ismail, Kuala Lumpur 50250, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3, Pay 2
Ranked #1 of 278 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Our stay at the Shangri-La, KL, was extremely good. The hotel is beautifully decorated, staff were very helpful and to our surprise we were upgraded to a suite upon checking in and believe me it was full of guests checking in! The room was very spacious, well kept and bed was extremely comfortable. Breakfast was served at the executive lounge as were free tea, drinks and delicious snacks at specific timings.
The location was perfect as we were at walking distance to most places we wanted to visit. The concierge was extremely helpful in finding good tours and also advice on places to see.
Best points:
Bed linens were always spotless
Towels were clean
Housekeeping cleaned well (I'm very particular about cleanliness)
Pillows were comfy
Food was very good (of course it depends on what you eat at the hotel)
Staff :)
Fresh fruits were laid out in the room everyday
Not so good points:
Traffic does come to a stand still when it starts raining. Tip? Walk its fun even in the rain.
The view is obviously of the city buildings and streets but it didn't bother us as we didn't really look out much
Overall experience was very very good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,460
    897
    228
    49
    34
See reviews for
818
2,060
301
837
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,040)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We have Been staying at the Shangrila for a number ofytears now. The location is ideal for a visit to KL. The rooms are spacious and decorated to the highest of standards. The buffet breakfast is without doubt the best we have had anywhere and calling it breakfast does not do it justice as really, it is a selection of numerous cuisines from around the world. Look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed here for a conference held at the hotel for 4 nights. The hotel has a great breakfast buffet with just about everything and everything at the buffet was excellent. The pool was nice and the fitness room was great. The staff was always helpful. The location is good but beware: Traffic crawls to a standstill at rush hour in the evening. Walking or the monorail are the best choices to get around at peak times. The carpet in my room was a bit worn but that would be the only complaint I had during my stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The Shangri-La in Kuala Lumpur City Centre (KLCC) is an oasis in a hot, bustling metropolis. The city now has hundreds of hotels, many of the larger ones in KLCC, however most are new glass tower blocks with bland lobbies and functional facilities. However, the Shangri-La is different and lives up to its stellar reputation.

When you arrive your feet don't touch the floor before the door staff have taken your bags and started your check-in. The lobby is impressive with large flower displays, grand staircases and a band playing in the large bar looking out onto the rainforest garden. The rooms are very well appointed with huge and incredibly comfortable beds and a large bathroom with separate shower and bath (we had an executive room on the 14th floor). As we were on the front we had a wonderful view of the Petronas Towers. The entire hotel is spotlessly clean and every member of staff is friendly, with no request too much trouble. In this sense, it is truly a 5 star hotel.

Breakfast is a huge array of western and Asian food, all delicious and I have the feeling that if you stayed n the hotel or year you wouldn't have chance to try all that is on offer. The pool is fantastic and given most guests are business travellers, there is plenty of space to chill out on the sun beds and enjoy looking up at the KL skyline. The location is also good, right in the centre of town, although for a more authentic KL experience you must head to China Town or Butkit Bintang, all easily done using the monorail which runs right outside the hotel.

Be careful with trips however, KL is very tourist friendly and the public transport is good. The hotel, though through good intentions, will always try to sell you private transport. Do some research with the free Wi-Fi and make sure it is the best way. Trying to find your way around is much more fun anyway and the people in KL are very friendly and always happy to help.

Highly recommend to any type of traveller! And if you have time, go behind the hotel to the Television tower where you can have dinner in the revolving restaurant overlooking the whole city. If you get a table at around 19:00 you can first watch the sunset before having dinner, a great way to round off your trip!

Room Tip: The executive rooms are fantastic, can't immagine that the higher rooms could add much more. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The bed sheet has stains, room safe which was locked by us earlier was opened and the password auto reset by itself. When we told them about it they only told us they would check with security. The alarm apparently sounded while we were in the hotel but we could not hear it so we did not know why the lift was not working. No announcement was made so we did not know the reason why the lift was not working. We climbed the stairs and no apology was made when we told the reception about it. No attempt was made to pacify us and it really spoilt our day. They only told us the lift was not working for awhile because the alarm went off. If there was really an emergency and we could not hear the alarm it would have been terrible. The shuttle bus only goes to klcc 4 times a day, would be terrible if anyone missed it. You'll have to wait 1.5-2h for the next shuttle bus. Shuttle bus at shangri-la singapore is more frequent. Too many unhappiness in two days of the stay. If we stayed longer I wouldn't dare to think what else could possibly go wrong.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Spent three hectic days in Kuala Lumpur on business, my first trip to this bustling city. The Shangri La (the "Shang" as locals called it), was nothing less than brilliant. My room was large, well appointed, and "warm" with the use of local woods and art. Service from check in, room service, and check out, perfect. The gym well equipped and maintained. I had daily room service which was on time, food hot and fresh, and delicious. I did not have any other meals other than breakfast at the Shang. This is the perfect business hotel in the middle of the city. I highly recommend it, and will return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Very friendly and efficient staff. Food was tasty, varied and plentiful and my wife even got the bonus of finding one resteraunt that permitted smoking. The pool was a nice oasis in the middle of the busy city. The hotel itself was well positiioned

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Address: 11 Jalan Sultan Ismail, Kuala Lumpur 50250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#2 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 662
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, an award winning 5-Star luxury hotel renowned for its consistent extraordinary customer service, culinary and fine dining experience. Located in the heart of Kuala Lumpur's commercial, entertainment and shopping district with easy access to most tourist attractions. The only hotel in KL that sits within beautiful lush gardens offering extensive meetings facilities, large multi-divisible ballroom along with wide variety of guest rooms, 101 suites and a Horizon Club that caters to business/ leisure travellers, MICE delegates as well as high profile guests and socialites. It's an extraordinary place to stay, dine and meet in KL! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Kuala Lumpur
Shangri La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.