We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a memorable experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur to your Saves list
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Jalan Sultan Ismail, Kuala Lumpur 50250, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up To 25%
Ranked #1 of 274 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Such a memorable experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

We stayed at this hotel with my son who is 1 year old and from the moment we checked in to the moment we checked out we were treated so well and enjoyed ourselves so much we want to go back to KL just for this hotel.
We were very looked after by the Front Desk Manager, Patrick- we cannot express how helpful and professional he was with every aspect of our check-in. We were granted a complimentary upgrade also to a suite, which was amazing considering it gave us so much more space with our son always running around.
The buffet in the mornings was second to none. every single pallet was catered for with a huge selection. The staff were all friendly and kind and despite it being a fairly large hotel, it still gave a feel of being intimate and operating for the enjoyment of the customer, rather than seeming to be only a business.
I didn't rate KL as a city- but if i ever want to go for a relaxing and enjoyable holiday i wouldn't think twice of checking into the Shangri La and not leaving the building because there is no need to- your needs are completely catered to.

Room Tip: Pay the extra money and see if you can upgrade to the Horizon Club. That includes you to be an exclu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,159
    818
    201
    44
    32
See reviews for
736
1,871
283
771
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (950)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ontario
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

Everything about this hotel is perfect- the beautiful lobby, the tranquil garden, the excellent service, the nicely appointed room and the huge variety at the breakfast buffet. We arrived around 9 am from an overseas flight not expecting to check-in, only to drop off our luggage. The friendly front desk staff apologized for not having a room ready and promptly had one cleaned and made ready while we enjoyed a leisure breakfast. We were very impressed. Free internet and breakfast were included in the room rate. We highly recommend this hotel for the excellent service, amenities and value. The only thing less than ideal is if you walk from the hotel to the nearby attractions (Pavilion area or Petronas Towers), it isn’t very scenic along the route. It is very safe though.

Room Tip: Request higher levels and with a view of the Petronas Towers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

I stayed at the Shangri-La KL with my family from 9-11 Dec. During the stay, my father in law experienced a mild heart blockage resulting in severe pain and a chance of a heart attack.

The Shangri-La team were very fast and efficient in getting the in house doc to attend to us. They also prepared a wheelchair and cab to send us to the nearest hospital very quickly.

My father in law was eventually warded for his condition. When I returned to the hotel after getting my FIL into the high dependency ward, the staff at the hotel showed concern about his condition. The duty manager (Mohd Hendra) also personally asked me how my FIL was.

It was a terrible vacation but the team at Shangri-La KL really helped with their efficiency and care.

Good job!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

I have stayed here a few times over the last few years and the hotel has never disappointed. Service is excellent and they will go out their way to cater to every need. You really get the feeling that you are staying at a customer-centred hotel, rather than just a money making machine, which is how it should be. People seem genuinely eager to please. The rooms are comfy and cosy without being over the top. Internet is free, and you can ask for a late check out (they gave me until 5pm which I thought was just wonderful, since I had an evening flight). The location is great, and the price I thought was an absolute bargain! Overall, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Shangri-la for 3 nights and our experience was really wonderful.

The check-in process was fast and the entire staff very friendly. The staff was also more than happy to address any inquiries about the hotel, KL or anything else.

The room was nice and big and had a wonderful view of the Petronas Towers. The room was very clean and housekeeping didn't give us a reason to complain.

The hotel also has some good places to eat at. Although a little pricey the food is wonderful and plentiful. We had lunch at Arthur's Bar and Grill, breakfast at the hotel restaurant and late night drinks at the Lobby Lounge. Service was impeccable. Considering it is the Shangri-la if the food is expensive you can always go to TGIFridays which is located in the back of the hotel across the street. There is also a Starbucks located right next to TGIF.

If you are into walking, you can take in the sights of KL on foot, all you need is a guidebook and comfortable shoes.

Just a tip KL has two types of taxis, the older ones and the newer ones. Although a bit pricey is you want dependable mode of transportation I suggest sticking to the new taxis, the hotel will call you a taxi if you need one (which you probably are going to need as the airport is pretty far from the city.)

You will not be disappointed if you choose the Shangri-la for your stay in KL

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

The Shangri-la is KL is a beautiful city hotel, close to lots of attractions including the Pertonas Towers and the many shopping malls KL has to offer.

We decided to upgrade to the Horizon Club and requested a room with a view of the Petronas towers, as the room we were given was very small and had a view of nothing at all.

The Horizon Club gives you access to the club floor which includes breakfast, snack and drink buffet all day as well as evening drinks. It is worth your while if you want a larger room and are planning to eat a bit at the hotel. Rooms were well appointed with everything you expect of a city hotel.

We found the concerige very helpful and knowledgeable except they knew nothing of the Segway tour we wanted to do in the Botanic gardens.

We also ate at the lounge on one occassion and found the food to be good and well priced (better priced than the resorts in Langkawi).

Getting taxis is easy and relatively cheap but also worth trying the train in KL.

All in all I would recommend this hotel for a stay in KL - it has everything you need or want and is close to attractions. The only down side is it isn't a casual hotel so you feel out of place shleeping downstairs in your flip flops/thongs. As it has a large corporate clientele.

Room Tip: Do the Segway Tour of the Botanic gardens - its a great way to get around and see a lot without brea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Belait, Brunei Darussalam
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011 via mobile

a really lovely hotel with attentive and welcoming service. We were really made to feel at home and the staff went out if their way to help us with local advice and travel arrangements. the hotel is very beautiful inside, and the breakfast (included in the room rate) was very good. the spa was great with hot and icy jacuzzis as well as free juices and fruit.

Only small negative was that there was a man sanding the reception desk with a power tool when we were trying to check in - I wish they could have switched it off for a second so we could hear what the receptionist was saying. small point though and probably a one off.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Address: 11 Jalan Sultan Ismail, Kuala Lumpur 50250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#1 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#1 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#1 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 662
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Malaysias most elegant hotels, the award-winning Shangri-La Hotel, Kuala Lumpur is situated in the bustling capital. Set among lush gardens, it is just 60 minutes from the international airport and 5 minutes from the business and shopping districts. The Hotel features some of the most spacious luxury accommodations in Kuala Lumpur with ultra-modern conference facilities, as well as a full-fledged fitness centre. For the culinary Epicurean, its restaurants offer some of the finest dining in Kuala Lumpur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Kuala Lumpur
Shangri La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.