We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Millennium Kuala Lumpur

Save Saved
You added Grand Millennium Kuala Lumpur to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Grand Millennium Kuala Lumpur
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   160 Jalan Bukit Bintang | Golden Triangle, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Spectacular Saver!
Ranked #34 of 254 hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stayed a night for business. Room very clean and spacious. Near to Pavilion and lots of shopping nearby. Skipped the breakfast as it cost RM 60.30. With this price you can easily have a very good and cheap breakfast outside.
We had two rooms but one of the non-smoking room we requested was not ready and it was almost 3pm when we checked-in! Not acceptable if it is stated check-in time is 2pm. In the end my colleagues had to settle for a smoking room.
Other than that no fault with this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

906 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    317
    349
    152
    45
    42
See reviews for
160
245
77
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Strategically situated next to various shopping complexes such as the Pavillion etc. and other eateries, the Grand Millennium is also easily accessible from the MEX highway, thus u can almost skip the traffic jam to get there. There are also taxis on standby waiting for passengers in front of the hotel. There are a variety of food to choose from for the buffet breakfast & lunch although after 3 days staying there you can sort of guess what's under the lids. The rooms are excellent too with iron & ironing board provided in the closet in each room therefore u don't need to request from the reception. Went there for a 5-days training programme. Food during tea breaks was excellent - variety & plentiful. The only complain is that the tables used during the training is a little small considering we needed to put our files & laptops etc. Overall you can expect 5-star service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Pros:

1- Great location (but it has it cons, which you will read below) Fahrenheit Mall is opposite the hotel and Lot 10, Pavilion and Starhill is 2 minute walk. Sungai Wang, BB Plaza, Low Yat, and Berjay Times Square are around 10 to 15 minutes walk.
2- Fast check in and out
3- Nice gym.
4- Breakfast was nice
5- Clean bathrooms.
6- Very comfortable beds and we absolutely loved the pillows.

Cons:

1- Too much prostitution around the hotel and a lot of times those prostitutes (they call themselves Ladyboys) stand in the hotel's driveway and the security does nothing about it. I even made a complaint that they are in the driveway and offer their "services" to the hotel guests, but they did nothing as far as I could see. They used to swarm around the end of Buket Bintang, which is why we chose this the Grand Millennium Hotel, but now they shifted their activities where this hotel is.

2- Although you might see police patrols, in the evening the entire area becomes all about prostitution and drug selling!

3- Bathrooms needs better maintenance.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed at the Grand Millennium well worth the money spent. We had two rooms in the club executive suites at a very reasonable price. Advantages are the central location and the use of the club lounge for breakfast.It is a one minute walk to the major shops and the service from staff was brilliant. I would stay there every time as the kids were able to shop and walk around safely. ask about the executive club room where there is breakfast and afternoon snacks and drinks available. We virtually ate for free and this included drinks in the evening.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for connecting rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Comfortable, well situated and great services throughout. All was thoroughly enjoyable at this hotel, food and beverages all served with a smile in my experience. It's location is great and made for a really super holiday.
The breakfast buffet had an enormous choice - fill up and nothing needed until night time!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

You may remember this hotel when it used to be The Regent. It is now part of the Millennium and Copthorne hotels chain, which has its good points and bad points.

Firstly, the location of course hasn't changed. It is bang right in the middle of Bukit Bintang, the shopping and eating centre of KL. On one side is the newly opened Pavilion shopping centre, and opposite are the Farenheit, Starhill and Lot 10 centres, and 5 minutes away is Jalan Alor. In my book, nowhere else in KL beats this location.

The grand reception lobby has undergone a slight renovation, although it looks much like before. Gone however are formal check-in desks, and replaced by a scattering of fairly informal looking desks, I guess to make it more friendly but actually I found it more confusing. The staff all seem to be well trained, corporate, polite, and dutiful, but not overly friendly and don't go over and above their duty to help - I guess this is part of 5 star chain hotel training.

The rooms are still large and well kept. The beds are comfortable, with a range of pillows for your head, and a decent mattress and duvet. There is a large flat screen TV, and standard facilities such as tea making, iron and board, and a hairdryer. An armchair and small side table, and a writing desk compliment the rest of the room. The bathroom has both a bath and a separate shower, and although is not new, is kept clean.

Buffet breakfast served on the first floor is good. It was very busy over the new year with guests queueing for breakfast, but on other days it copes well. There is a wide selection of chinese, malaysian and western choices, including omelettes cooked to order, and a pastry stand. Being a predominantly muslim country, bacon is made of beef, and sausages are made with chicken. I would stay away from both those choices, and choose one of the myriad of other foods available! Alternatively, don't book breakfast there at all, because the oriental food court over the road in Lot 10, or the international food court adjacent in the Pavilion both have the most fantastic food at very good prices, and this is most likely what I'll choose to do next time.

There is a decent sized supervised swimming pool on the 3rd floor, with deckchairs if you choose to relax there, and a reasonable sized gym next to it. They are functional and well maintained if not overly attractive.

There is free wi-fi only in the reception lobby. Comfortable sofas are available for you to sit in and surf using your mobile device. Wi-fi in your room is also available but costs money, and again I wonder whether decision has been made on a corporate level to earn business dollars. Other hotels throughout Asia I have stayed in offered it for free, something I would have thought a 5-star hotel like this really should be able to do in this day and age.

Public transport is within a 5 minute walk at the Bukit Bintang monorail station, although bewarned the monorail doesn't really do anywhere useful! The concierges at the front door will help you get a taxi, but I noticed that either an expensive executive taxi is available, or they direct to an overcharging one parked on the roadside. Taking taxis and haggling for fares in KL is enough of a problem without you always feeling the hotel is in on the game.

So all in all a decent hotel in a fantastic location. There is nothing specific to 'fault', but then again no-one seems overly personal or friendly in a way you may find in a non-chain hotel; probably perfect for business but not so much for couples and families.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for four nights. It was an amazing location - right in the middle of the city (in the Golden Triangle), central to shops, bars, restaurants and the monorail. The rooms were a good size and the bathroom was clean. The breakfast buffet was fantastic with a great range of local and western options available. The pool area was nice with a large-ish pool and a fantastic gym. The staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Millennium Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Millennium Kuala Lumpur

Also Known As:
Grand Millennium Kuala Lumpur Hotel
Grand Millennium Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Grand Millennium Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Grand Millennium
Address: 160 Jalan Bukit Bintang | Golden Triangle, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#29 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#32 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Millennium Kuala Lumpur 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Great location" is what you will keep on hearing from travelers about Grand Millennnium Kuala Lumpur, the hotel's next door neighbor features 1.37 million square foot of luxury retail. Now, walk through the doors of the only hotel on the right side of Bukit Bintang and you've arrived in our grand lobby, with crystal chandelier addorning our ceiling and soothing fountain sound on the background. Our guestrooms features one of the most spacious space in the city, with floor-to-ceiling window and city skyline. Then relax and take a dip in our open-air private swimming pool or wine and dine in our signature restaurants or bar. All at the heart of KL and again "great location". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Grand Millennium Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Millennium Kuala Lumpur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.