We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Millennium Kuala Lumpur

Save Saved
You added Grand Millennium Kuala Lumpur to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Millennium Kuala Lumpur
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   160 Jalan Bukit Bintang | Golden Triangle, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% Off + Free WiFi
Ranked #36 of 270 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Limerick, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great place, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Comfortable, well situated and great services throughout. All was thoroughly enjoyable at this hotel, food and beverages all served with a smile in my experience. It's location is great and made for a really super holiday.
The breakfast buffet had an enormous choice - fill up and nothing needed until night time!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    386
    163
    52
    45
See reviews for
183
277
86
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

You may remember this hotel when it used to be The Regent. It is now part of the Millennium and Copthorne hotels chain, which has its good points and bad points.

Firstly, the location of course hasn't changed. It is bang right in the middle of Bukit Bintang, the shopping and eating centre of KL. On one side is the newly opened Pavilion shopping centre, and opposite are the Farenheit, Starhill and Lot 10 centres, and 5 minutes away is Jalan Alor. In my book, nowhere else in KL beats this location.

The grand reception lobby has undergone a slight renovation, although it looks much like before. Gone however are formal check-in desks, and replaced by a scattering of fairly informal looking desks, I guess to make it more friendly but actually I found it more confusing. The staff all seem to be well trained, corporate, polite, and dutiful, but not overly friendly and don't go over and above their duty to help - I guess this is part of 5 star chain hotel training.

The rooms are still large and well kept. The beds are comfortable, with a range of pillows for your head, and a decent mattress and duvet. There is a large flat screen TV, and standard facilities such as tea making, iron and board, and a hairdryer. An armchair and small side table, and a writing desk compliment the rest of the room. The bathroom has both a bath and a separate shower, and although is not new, is kept clean.

Buffet breakfast served on the first floor is good. It was very busy over the new year with guests queueing for breakfast, but on other days it copes well. There is a wide selection of chinese, malaysian and western choices, including omelettes cooked to order, and a pastry stand. Being a predominantly muslim country, bacon is made of beef, and sausages are made with chicken. I would stay away from both those choices, and choose one of the myriad of other foods available! Alternatively, don't book breakfast there at all, because the oriental food court over the road in Lot 10, or the international food court adjacent in the Pavilion both have the most fantastic food at very good prices, and this is most likely what I'll choose to do next time.

There is a decent sized supervised swimming pool on the 3rd floor, with deckchairs if you choose to relax there, and a reasonable sized gym next to it. They are functional and well maintained if not overly attractive.

There is free wi-fi only in the reception lobby. Comfortable sofas are available for you to sit in and surf using your mobile device. Wi-fi in your room is also available but costs money, and again I wonder whether decision has been made on a corporate level to earn business dollars. Other hotels throughout Asia I have stayed in offered it for free, something I would have thought a 5-star hotel like this really should be able to do in this day and age.

Public transport is within a 5 minute walk at the Bukit Bintang monorail station, although bewarned the monorail doesn't really do anywhere useful! The concierges at the front door will help you get a taxi, but I noticed that either an expensive executive taxi is available, or they direct to an overcharging one parked on the roadside. Taking taxis and haggling for fares in KL is enough of a problem without you always feeling the hotel is in on the game.

So all in all a decent hotel in a fantastic location. There is nothing specific to 'fault', but then again no-one seems overly personal or friendly in a way you may find in a non-chain hotel; probably perfect for business but not so much for couples and families.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for four nights. It was an amazing location - right in the middle of the city (in the Golden Triangle), central to shops, bars, restaurants and the monorail. The rooms were a good size and the bathroom was clean. The breakfast buffet was fantastic with a great range of local and western options available. The pool area was nice with a large-ish pool and a fantastic gym. The staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth WA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed here from 22 Dec to 2 Jan & thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We had an Executive Suite and was well worth the money, big lounge room, powder room & equally big sized bedroom. Great comfy bed. Huge bathroom with good toiletries & big towels & plenty of them also great shower water pressure. Had use of Club Floor. Food & Beverages great especially the brekky ordered omelettes & poached eggs which were cooked immediately & brought to our table.
The Hotel is great for shopping Pavillion, Fahrenheit & Lot 10 right by Hotel. Visit The Starhill Gallery the bottom floor has the most amazing restaurants high priced but go for a walk around they are amazing. Had lunch at The Fisherman Cove and had the Hot & Cold Seafood Pyramid simply amazing there was only 2 of us but would feed 4 easy.
Have to also mention Andy the Club Floor Manager who looked after us very well indeed from our arrival right thru our stay. I had left my medication at home & immediately arranged for me to be taken to a Clinic 2 mins from Hotel where I was seen by Dr who referred me to the pharmacy at Lot 10 where I was able to buy my medication over the counter with no problem whatsoever.
Our only disappointment was the Chinese restaurant here at Grand Millinnium, loads of staff who clearly had no idea. We were served an expensive bottle of wine hot which had clearly not been anywhere near a fridge, staff did not understand when asked for a cold bottle. We were very disappointed with the food here as we had eaten ourselves around the World during our stay here at the many places to eat close to the Hotel, our local Chinese restaurant @ home is much better than this. Maybe it was a one off but note to self: when there is only 4 other people in the place when you walk in, turn around and walk out.
Anyway, would def recommend this Hotel to stay when staying in KL & will def be back.
Thanks GM for a wonderful & different Xmas & New Year

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We have stayed at the Grand Millennium every year for the last 5 years, but missed last year. The last time we were there (in 2011) we were a bit disappointed with the tired rooms and indifferent service, so it was with trepidation we returned.
We were thrilled to find that the rooms had been beautifully and recently renovated and the service could not have been more helpful or pleasant. It is well worth the extra to stay on the club floor and have club privileges - beautiful room, fabulous food and great service.
The locations is fantastic, next door to the Pavilion, easy walking to lots of other shopping centres and restaurants. Will definitely continue to stay here in the future

Room Tip: Club floor privileges are worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMillenniumKL, The Management at Grand Millennium Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for this 5 Star Review!
We appreciate you taking the time to post your review and sharing your experience with us. We are so glad we were able to cater to your needs and our staff are more than happy to be at service always. We are are so proud of our New Club Rooms and so happy you thoroughly enjoyed them. We do hope to see you on your next holiday.

Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitwe, Zambia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed 1 night only on our way through KL, but we did get a late check out to 18.30h and the Hotel let us keep the room until 21.00h which was very nice of them as we had really long flights ahead of us. I wish we had booked this Hotel, on our arrival, (instead of Royale Bintang - see my review) it's well located, right next to the Pavillion and a short walk from Farhenhiet, Lot 10, Yo-Lat etc. The Hotel lobby is quite luxurious and impressive on arrival, and the staff were most helpful and friendly. The rooms are not new, but spacious, well kept, very clean and have an luxury old fashioned air about them, the bathrooms were spotless and well stocked with good quality towels, and accessories. The bed was very comfortable, with clean quality linen, and there was a great view from your bedroom window (17th floor).
We didn't eat at the Hotel, but we did find some great eateries in the Pavillion. I would definitely recommend his Hotel - it was lovely.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I stayed at Grand Millennium for 2 nights in Jan.

We tried taking the airport express bus to the hotel which cost RM$18 (one-way). Journey took slightly more than an hour as the bus stopped at a few locations before stop-over at KL sentral which we were transferred to another smaller van (which was sub-standard) to take us to Grand Millennium.

Check-in process was fast. I have requested a twin sharing & a double room with interconnecting doors (non-smoking).
We were given rooms on the 11th floor. Room was clean and spacious.
Have a variety of complimentary tea from BOH tea plantation.
Air-con sounded noisy when we put on 'high' mode but temperature was really cool for that hot KL weather.
Water temperature and pressure was good. There is a bath tub and a separate standing shower in the bathroom.
Bathroom was also of good decent size with all necessary toiletries but the water taps is a little old fashion.

On my first night there was maintenance on the electrical circuit and they shut down power supply to the air con and water heater from 1-5am. As we did not read the notice left on our desk, me and my boyfriend got paranoid when the lights went off. I ended up perspiring in my sleep only after the power came back at 5am. I hope this won't happen that often..

Breakfast starts from 6-10am. They have a wide spread of intercontinental buffet food (halal). Staff are attentive.

There is a big swimming pool and gym located in this hotel. Many meeting rooms where companies conduct courses and business talks.

Location is very convenient. Walking distance to all shopping malls like Pavillion, Farhenhiet, Lot 10, Low Yat Plaza etc. KL monorail Bukit Bintang station is around 5-10 mins walk.

Booking of airport transfer from Grand Millennium is not necessary unless your flight is at odd hours. Journey from hotel to airport is about 1 hr ride by metered taxi which cost approx RM$150. The hotel lobby have blue metered taxis which starts at RM$6.

In terms of convenience, comfort and price; I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Millennium Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Millennium Kuala Lumpur

Address: 160 Jalan Bukit Bintang | Golden Triangle, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#21 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#31 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#32 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Millennium Kuala Lumpur 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Great location" is what you will keep on hearing from travelers about Grand Millennnium Kuala Lumpur, the hotel's next door neighbor features 1.37 million square foot of luxury retail. Now, walk through the doors of the only hotel on the right side of Bukit Bintang and you've arrived in our grand lobby, with crystal chandelier addorning our ceiling and soothing fountain sound on the background. Our guestrooms features one of the most spacious space in the city, with floor-to-ceiling window and city skyline. Then relax and take a dip in our open-air private swimming pool or wine and dine in our signature restaurants or bar. All at the heart of KL and again "great location". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Venere, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Otel, Agoda, Reservation Counter, Booking.com, Hotel.de and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Millennium Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Millennium Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Grand Millennium Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Grand Millennium

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Millennium Kuala Lumpur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.