We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur to your Saves list
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kuala Lumpur City Centre, Kuala Lumpur 50088, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 278 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Qatar
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Location, location, location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

This couldn't get any closer to the center of the city. It's easily accessible to the airport by public transportation. It's close to most of the major sites in the city (and those that aren't close you can easily get to by the subway/tram system). It's close to many excellent night markets for food. And it's oh so luxurious. We stayed here on our honeymooon. Worth every penny. The infinity pool overlooking the fountains at night is magical.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear TherelsAWill

We are happy to note of your kind review and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Kind regards
Frank P Stocek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,006
    582
    161
    58
    27
See reviews for
491
1,092
172
634
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (532)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I was given a room on a high floor with a great view of klcc park. The room had everything I could think of. Everything works unlike some other hotel where I'd been. The toiletries were first class stuff. Even the tea & coffee making facilities are beyond anything I'd ever seen. Had a bath, went out for dinner & when I came back, all the wet towels were replaced with clean dry ones. Gosh! Although it's an expensive 6 star hotel, it's really worth your money. They even have a DVD player in the room, so if you want to watch your own movies, bring your own DVD movies. Otherwise their cable tv is available for free. Definitely will come back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with a good view. But then the room is so good, who needs a view anyway? Lots t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear KualaLumpurTerence

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back for yet another memorable stay.

Kind regards
Frank P Stocek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

This is a must if visiting KL, we booked a club room and the. Facilities were amazing, breakfast, lunch afternoon tea, evening alcoholic drinks again with food!!!!! Five pieces of laundry cleaned per day, which was great for us as we had been travelling for 25 days...... The staff were amazing very nothing too much trouble. Lovely clean linen and soooo soft beds. They have a great choice of restaurants in the hotel so just in case there is a bit of rain you don't have to venture out, that is if you can find any more room after all the treats on the club floor. Lounge!

Even the pool guys looked after us bringing us ice cold drinks so we didn't have to move! This has too have another revisit!

Room Tip: For all the extras you get as mentioned above , a club floor room is well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Alison F

We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and your positive observations will certainly motivate our colleagues further in our mission to completely delight and satisfy our guests.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Frank P Stocek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

This is what one would expect from an international 5Star hotel. Don't look for a decent cool drink at the pool bar since this is the only poor performance we have been witnessing. The rooms are excellent, the service meeting any expectations, have breakfast in the adjacent room to the breakfast room since this is much much nicer. Location is of its best. Just loved it. My 2nd stay for 4 nights.

Room Tip: I would think "the higher - the better" but you won't be able to open the windows and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Martin P

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and will address your feedback on our pool bar service for improvement.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back for yet another memorable stay.

Kind regards
Frank P Stocek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Smooth operators here. In general excellent service, some Malaysian blank face looks, but really in general very good.
Rooms a tiny bit tired, but you should have few complaints, it would depend on your previous experiences.
Breakfast is a standout experience, but make sure your in the cafe are not shafted out the back in the banquet rooms.
Chinese restaurant was also excellent.
Just a short stroll to KLCC shopping & Petronis towers.
If you don't want to get up at 6am and wait in line to get ticket to Petronis Towers, you can pay RM200 and get some one to do it for you! Excellent!! just ask concierge.
Pool area OK.
All in all a great central location, very good hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Nigletti

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor and we are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay.

Our guestroom renovation project has just commenced and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards
Frank P Stocek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new delhi
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We travelled to Kuala Lumpur for a family holiday and chose the Mandarin Oriental primarily for its reputation of being a top notch luxury hotel. It is the most expensive of all available choices.

Check in was smooth. No complaints. The room that we got was average. As we were tired, we thought we would nap for a while before venturing out into the city. To our dismay, we found the bedsheet was stained with mud. The same was complained to the housekeeping. My daughter refused to use the bed as she thought the bed had been previously slept in. Next to our horror, we found that the bedsheet was torn at another spot. The same was shown to the housekeeping staff when they came to inspect the room.

In the bathroom we the bulbs were fused. After a shower, we realised that the hair dryer was clogged with hair and would not work. There was dirty used dental floss toothpick lying on the basin which the attendant had forgotten to clear.

This is what we had paid for. On addressing these issues to the Duty Manager, he did change our room to an adjacent room and apologised with 8 pieces of chocolates - did he think he could escape a stinker? I actually had to tell him that have I paid any less money to the hotel than the man in the next room?

The food quality in the restaurants is passable - we did eat food in the hotel one night as we id not know that the city sleeps at 10 pm. I am sure there is better food available elsewhere.

The stiff upperlip that the hotel projects is so passe that they really need to look at the service that they are providing and ensure on retaining their customers.

Room Tip: Opt for the Petronas Towers view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear ynottravelnewdelhi

We truly regret to note of your less than satisfactory stay with us and extend our profound apologies for the shortcomings which you had encountered. It is most unfortunate that we fell short of on this occasion as this is not our normal standard. Kindly rest assured that remedial action has been taken to improve our service level.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel, to restore your confidence in us and for a much more memorable stay.

Kind regards
Frank P Stocek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

This hotel ranks with the Worlds best...Superb facilities, well trained and friendly staff and management, great accomodation , good location, fast accurate check out, wonderful restaurants. Suitable for both business or vacation. If you need to be in KL then look no further than the Oriental....you will not be dissapointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room over looking the park. You get a free light / water show!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear orangeMonteCarlo

Thank you for a superb review and your positive observations will certainly motivate our colleagues to further in our mission to completely delight and satisfy our guests.

We greatly appreciate your kind patronage and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel for another memorable stay.

Kind regards
Frank P Stocek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur

Address: Kuala Lumpur City Centre, Kuala Lumpur 50088, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#2 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#6 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 643
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated adjacent to the iconic PETRONAS Twin Towers, Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur is the city's leading luxury hotel with 643 well appointed rooms, suites and serviced apartments. Delight your senses with an array of cuisines showcased in ten innovative outlets. Escape Kuala Lumpur's urban bustle at The Spa with rejuvenating facials, body treatments and award winning Signature Therapies for a holistic wellbeing. Take a dip at the infinity edge pool overlooking the spectacular city skyline or be mesmerized by the magnificent display of KLCC Lake Symphony Fountain at the Esplanade KLCC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Despegar.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Mandarin Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.