We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Usual MO standard” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur

Save Saved
You added Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kuala Lumpur City Centre, Kuala Lumpur 50088, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Internet
Ranked #4 of 261 hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Pease Pottage
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Usual MO standard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Had a great 3 night stay in the Mandarin Oriental during our honeymoon - we were greeted on arrival with a bouquet of red roses which was a lovely touch. Room was nice and had a view of the city and Petronus towers - it was a compact room (smallest of our honeymoon) and the bathroom could only really accommodate 1 person at a time.

A conference was in progress during our stay and in our opinion we felt this hotel is predominately focused on business guests rather than the guests staying on holiday. Saying this we received all the normal service we know and love with the MO chain.

We ate in the Chinese (Lai Po Heen) and Mandarin Grill restaurants and would highly recommend both - food quality and service could not be faulted.

One small point is that the bars were not non smoking and although had dedicated areas the smell of smoke was not pleasant. This is common in KL so maybe a bit critical for the hotel review - however we were really looking forward to a pre dinner drink at the MO grill and was disappointed to see it reasonably full and the bar full of smoke. We moved straight to the table and enjoyed our drinks there instead!

Great location right next to the Petronus towers

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear MarkPP

We have taken note on your comment about the smoking area in MO Bar. Please allow us to share that the hotel adheres to the non smoking laws and regulations of Malaysia, and maintains certain restricted areas in the hotel that are identified as smoking areas such as MO Bar. Having said this, the hotel is continuously monitoring these smoking areas to ensure that the comforts of our guests who are non smokers are not affected by the smoke.

We are happy to receive your positive observations about the service which will further motivate our colleagues to continuously delight and satisfy our guests.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you to the hotel again in the future.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,253 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,607
    455
    130
    41
    20
See reviews for
375
882
147
476
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

From the initial welcome the staff were absolutely outstanding with the initial introduction to the room allocation and assistance to the allocated room with the option to up grade.
Our room was of the highest standard and the view sensational.
The facilities especially the appointed restaurants and eateries.
Breakfast and the staff were of the highest standard and catered for a multi cultural environment
The location was terrific in that it was easy accessible to and from the shopping locations

Room Tip: be open to up grade views of the towers are sensational
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Roger C

Thank you for staying with us at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur.

We are happy to note that you had a great experience with us. Your kind praise especially on our colleagues will certainly motivate them further in our mission to completely delight and satisfy our guests.

We certainly look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you to the hotel again in the future.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mauritius
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This is not my first visit to Kuala Lumpur ,but now i stay always in Mandarin Oriental hotel
this is for sure one of the Best hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Great service ,superb rooms and we had the best Dim Sum in Lai Po Heen (in my opinion the best Chinese restaurant in Malaysia)
Don't forget to go to the Steak House and try the Angus beef AMAZING ....
Thanks for the fabulous service and i will be back very soon

Room Tip: You need to try this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear MauritiusPascal

Thank you for staying with Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur.

We are happy to receive your glowing praise of the hotel. Your positive observations will certainly motivate our colleagues further in our mission to completely delight and satisfy our guests.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you to the hotel again in the future.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I've stayed in this hotel a number of times and LOVE IT each and every time. They are a very busy hotel but service is always quick and impeccable. The rooms are very large and the beds are so comfortable. The room service is amazing and the room turn down service is fabulous as well. The staff is so amazing and they always take very good care of us during our stay. I absolutely LOVE the breakfast buffet...it's changed throughout the years but it is still great. The staff seem to remember you by name even after the first time you go in and they seem to remember your coffee of choice i.e. cappuccino or latte etc. I have eaten dinner and lunch at the buffet as well and it is very good in service and food. There is nothing negative or even a slight flaw in this hotel from room, food to services! The hotel is adjoining the twin towers so you can go there to eat or walk around or pick up anything that you may want or need.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear fsngril

Thank you for staying with us.

We are happy to accept your positive comments and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This Mandarin was extremely busy at all times. The room was a bit worn around the edges- chipped varnish on the tables and chairs, and a stodgy, traditional, dark decor that could use a facelift. Still, the service was good and the price point was excellent, especially for a five star property.

The Mandarin is right next to the Petronas Towers, so you can't get closer. Also at the Towers is a mega mall open from 10-10. It has a gazillion shops- some pricey (Chanel, Louis Vuitton, etc.) but also some affordable basic shops for clothing, like Uni Qlo. There is a Marks and Spencer with a food market and a few other food markets as well.

The hotel also sits at the base of a lovely park that has a jogging/walking route, pretty gardens, and a pond- very pleasant.

The breakfast was a vast buffet with countless choices from around the globe and was awesome.

Room Tip: Try to get a park view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Eors

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on Tripadvisor.

We have taken note on your comments about the guestroom. We are pleased to share with you that the hotel has plans for a complete renovation of all our guestrooms which is scheduled in 2014.

We are happy to note your kind praise and our colleagues appreciate such feedback!

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat Governorate, Oman
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Check in was smooth ,I can't. Fault the concierge he was very efficient and the location is very
Good next to the twins towers and KLCC shopping Mall.The rooms are of average standard the beds are not very comfortable I was on floor 11 facing the twin towers and the fountains but not
Direct view,it was a bit side way.The whole of the Hotel needs total renovations,the service should be improved as par other Mandarin Oriental Hotel. The breakfast is very good .the spa is okay but very expensive .the worst part of the hotel were the front desk check in staff,they don't know how
To calculate the rate,they increased my rates and they kept me for a long time ,in the end I have to show them how the rate has been worked out,total disappointment and big embarrassment for the hotel of that category.The manager also was clueless .The hotel is very expensive.i am not recommending this hotel and I will never stay again.its not worth the money.i will give it as 3.5
Stars not more than that,they don't have even the turn down services! What kind of 5 stars is that.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the twin towers are very good but request top floors away from the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear hilmiya

Thank you for staying with Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur.

We have taken note on your comments about the hotel. You will be pleased to note that we have plans for a complete renovation of all our guestrooms which is scheduled in 2014. Further, we are delighted to share with you that the hotel has just completed its lobby renovation.

We are sorry that you did not receive turn-down service as we do provide such service for all of our rooms. If you could provide us with more details about your stay by sending an email to Cindy Kong at cindyk@mohg.com we would be most appreciative so we could follow up to avoid any recurrence.

Our sincere apologies that some of our colleagues did not deliver a ‘wow factor’. It is our goal to delight our guests and we will reiterate our mission to our team to ensure a ‘wow’ experience is delivered more consistently in the near future.

We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again next time, for a better experience.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

After a really bad check in at this property (which surprised me given it was an MO) the concierge more than made up for it by really helping me carefully plan my itinerary. I had some key places to visit and they helped me organise the taxi and also suggested some great local places. The restaurant itself is fine but this hotel is all about Location location location.

It's located right opposite the petronas and handily there is the shopping mall next door as well. In the morning for sunrise or in the evening you get amazing views of the towers which make staying there well worth it.

Although I would say the best view of the towers is from the heli bar or traders/grand Hyatt the view here was really good.

They made good moon cakes as well and the infinity pool overlooking the fountain by the towers was pretty spectacular.

Room Tip: Get a tower facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear 14quanum

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on Tripadvisor.

Our sincere apologies about the problems with your check-in, but we are glad that we were able to make up for it and you ended up with an enjoyable stay.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you to the hotel again soon.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur

Address: Kuala Lumpur City Centre, Kuala Lumpur 50088, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#2 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#3 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#3 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated adjacent to the iconic PETRONAS Twin Towers, Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur is the city's leading luxury hotel with 643 well appointed rooms, suites and serviced apartments. Delight your senses with an array of cuisines showcased in ten innovative outlets. Escape Kuala Lumpur's urban bustle at The Spa with rejuvenating facials, body treatments and award winning Signature Therapies for a holistic wellbeing. Take a dip at the infinity edge pool overlooking the spectacular city skyline or be mesmerized by the magnificent display of KLCC Lake Symphony Fountain at the Esplanade KLCC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Mandarin Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.