We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur to your Saves list
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kuala Lumpur City Centre, Kuala Lumpur 50088, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Internet
Ranked #5 of 274 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Outstanding service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed twice in a month at Mandarin Oriental Kuala Lumpur. It has by far the best location in town, as it stands just in front of the stunning Petronas Twin Towers, right in the middle of the Golden Triangle. The key word to understand what Mandarin Oriental Kuala Lumpur is all about is service, outstanding service. Everybody - from Guest Relation people to bell men - work with such great respect and attention to Client's need that you really feel the most important person in the world. We highly recommend to stay in one of the Club 24 rooms where you can experience the best of the legendary Mandarin Oriental service and amenities: private check in and check out, room upgrade, separate lounge for breakfast, lunch and high tea; business center, free wireless, pool and gym with exceptional view on the city, joga classes and so on. That means that even if Club rooms are more expensive than ordinary ones, those are definitely the best value for money. We also recommend to have dinner at the great chinese restaurant Lai Po Heen one of the best in town. The only area of improvement of the hotel is the overall décor and conditions of the premises, main lobby, pool and rooms décor and furnitures look outdated, even if everything is perfectly tidy and immaculate. Anyway, the service you will experience at MO is so perfect that you won't regret your choice most of all if you compare Mo service to all the other KL 5 stars hotel, included the brand new and shining Grand Hyatt. So, as far as you are in KL for business or leisure we highly recommend to go to Mandarin Oriental Kuala Lumpur.

Room Tip: Definitely pick a Club Room with Twin Towers view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Stefania_P_11_11

Thank you for staying with Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur.

We have taken note on your comments about the room. You will be pleased to note that we have plans for a complete renovation of all our guestrooms and that the new design will complement the needs of discerning travelers such as you. Further, the hotel has renovated our Grand Ballroom and Diamond Ballroom in early April this year. Our lobby has also just finished a complete renovation and we have renovation plans for all guestrooms, event venues on Level 2 and the recreation facilities area on Level 3.

Further, we are happy to note that you had a pleasant stay with us. Your kind praise about our colleagues will certainly motivate them further in our mission to completely delight and satisfy our guests.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you to Kuala Lumpur again in the future.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,826
    529
    142
    48
    24
See reviews for
441
992
161
566
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Superb service from the minute we met their staff at the airport who sorted a car for us to get to the hotel. The room was perfect and it was definitely worth booking the Petronas Towers view. It was easy to book a taxi back to the airport and we could charge it to the room which was very helpful. The location right next to Suria KLCC was very handy for shopping and a wide variety of places to eat suiting all budgets.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Jo M

Thank you for staying with Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur.

We are happy to note that you had a pleasant experience with us and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you to the hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed here with a girlfriend for 3 nights on our way back to Sydney after a 5 night resort stay in Kuantan. I would like to commend the staff on their hospitality and 5 star service. The rooms are modern and spacious and if your lucky enough to get a room that overlooks the Petronas Towers. Next door to a huge shopping centre and beautiful gardens and water fountain show. The Casbah bar was lovely (minus the smoke smell) there was a gentleman playing the piano which was fantastic. The Grill restaurant unbelievable, great menu and the food was delicious and the wine was great. The high tea is also plentiful and delicious, highly recommended. Overall we had a great stay and would rate this hotel a 10 out of 10.

Room Tip: I believe every room is a great one at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Iglg2210

Thank you for staying at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur.

Thank you also for the positive feedback…much appreciated!

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you to the hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, England
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed for two nights Aug 2013 and very disappointed compared to our previous experiences with Mandarin Orientals in Singapore (just pure class), Bangkok (lovely but small city hotel), and Chiang Mai (as close to Paradise as you can get in a hotel).

On the plus side:

- the location is perfect for the tourist, literally in the shadow of the Petronas Towers
- er, that's it


And the negatives:

- hotel as a whole is dark and (almost) dingy
- rooms shabby and very worn out
- staff seemed not to know what they are supposed to be doing half the time

We arrived early evening and check-in was ok but nothing special. Rooms were disappointing, but we headed down to the lobby to find somewhere to eat. Couldn't even find two of the restaurants, so went to check-in and asked if they had menus for the restaurants. Directed to concierge, who seemed astonished to be asked about them, and after delving into a cupboard failed to find them.

Eventually in despair we just said we'll eat anything anywhere, what have you got, and were directed to the Chinese restaurant. And that seemed like a relic of communist China or North Korea even, with no customers but an army of staff most of whom were doing nothing and just one who ran around doing it all. To be fair the food was fine but we felt like we were the rich capitalists in the zoo rather than guests in what claims to be the top hotel in South East Asia.

Breakfast was good (very good) to be fair, and there is a third floor rooftop pool (nice but very cold) so some redeeming features, but overall it lets the Mandarin Oriental brand down badly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear MartinSarah02

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us on Tripadvisor.

We have taken note on your comments about your room. You will be pleased to know that the hotel has plans for a complete renovation for all guestrooms that is scheduled to take place in 2014. The new designs will certainly complement discerning travelers such as you.

We have also taken note about your experience with our Concierge colleagues and we apologize for the inconvenience caused. We have addressed this matter to our Front Office Manager and rebriefing has been conducted to ensure that there are no re-occurrences in the future.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you to the hotel in the future, next time for a more memorable experience.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

WOW I have been home for two days after staying at the Mandarin Orient and I have not stopped talking about it. I'm so glad it was the last stop of our holiday as nothing can compare. From checkin to checkout we felt like royalty. Great location next door to a shopping mall, walking distance to the twin towers, great light show in the lake, excellent gym facilities and running track. The restaurants were top class we loved the Chinese restaurants with the chefs showing their culinary skills. We had booked a room which included the Club facilities this was excellent. I cannot find anything to say that is not positive, the price reflected the establishment. The rooms were clean, toiletries superb, coffee machine in the room, housekeeping and turndown service fantastic and Kay from the lounge from the park who profusely apologised for the Mosquitos outside was lovely. We cannot wait to get back to the Mandarin Orient. We have already recommended to friends.

Room Tip: Go for the Club room the extra services you get are worth the expense
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Markyboy064

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to note of your comments about our location, gym facilities, Club Lounge, Lai Po Heen Chinese restaurant and overall service which will further motivate our colleagues, especially Kay from Club Lounge, in our mission to continuously delight and satisfy our guests.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had previously stayed at the Ritz in KL and loved it, but the MO is in a league of its own. The rooms and facilities are stunning, but our stay was made by the wonderful, helpful and enthusiastic staff. From check in to check out we were made to feel special and valued throughout our visit; in particular Patrick and the wonderful team at the poolside. The only caution about staying here is you might not want to leave and explore the city. Ps food was fab, cocktails at night by the pool a must.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Kate C

Thank you for staying with Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur.

We are happy to note your glowing praise about our hotel and colleagues especially Patrick. Your positive observations will certainly motivate our colleagues further in our mission to completely delight and satisfy our guests.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you to the hotel again in the future.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is its location. It sits right next to the Twin Towers which contains a substantial mall with a lighted water show and garden just outside. The breakfast was excellent providing a wide selection of multi-ethnic food, well prepared.

The convention center lays to the other side making it ideal for convention attendees. A pedestrian sky walk is close by allowing journeys to experience colorful street life. I would recommend NOT take the on-off bus which has a stop just outside, as the tour is way too long and the ear phones to hear the various descriptions of note-worthy sites don’t work. The bus was hot and crowded also and we finally bailed out and took a taxi back to the hotel.

We found good food in the mall offering ethnic variety but had to watch for smoke free environments. The rooms were adequate but rather pedestrian. Traffic around the hotel is very hectic and at rush hour almost immoveable, something to keep in mind in calculating a taxi to the airport.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Thor13

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to note of your positive comments about our location and breakfast.

We have also noted of your comments about the room and you will be pleased to know that the hotel has plans for a complete renovation for all guestrooms starting in 2014 which will complement the needs of discerning travelers such as you.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you to Kuala Lumpur again in the future.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur

Address: Kuala Lumpur City Centre, Kuala Lumpur 50088, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#3 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#4 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 643
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated adjacent to the iconic PETRONAS Twin Towers, Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur is the city's leading luxury hotel with 643 well appointed rooms, suites and serviced apartments. Delight your senses with an array of cuisines showcased in ten innovative outlets. Escape Kuala Lumpur's urban bustle at The Spa with rejuvenating facials, body treatments and award winning Signature Therapies for a holistic wellbeing. Take a dip at the infinity edge pool overlooking the spectacular city skyline or be mesmerized by the magnificent display of KLCC Lake Symphony Fountain at the Esplanade KLCC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Mandarin Oriental, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Mandarin Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.