We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge, Grand, good Location, but dirty and dated....” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Prince Hotel & Residence Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Prince Hotel & Residence Kuala Lumpur to your Saves list
Prince Hotel & Residence Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.4 Jalan Conlay, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 274 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Huge, Grand, good Location, but dirty and dated....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

The Prince Hotel looks fabulous in Hotel promo photos, we really thought we had scored a bargain on wotif.com, the lobby is big and the entrance is impressive.

The location is excellent, right opposite a huge shopping mall called the Pavillion, with Food Republic, a huge food court on the lower level. It is somewhat dicey getting over to it, crossing 6 lanes of fast moving traffic with no pedestrian crossing. The Hotel borders a district filled with shopping malls. Petronas Towers are approx 10mins walk away, best walked to on the sky bridges. Chinatown and Markets are a short taxi drive away, under $10.

Check-in was slow, the staff weren't particularly friendly, it took us an hour from arriving to getting into our room, to find it was dirty.....urine on the toilet seat, hair on the bathroom floor, and not the good kind! It was pretty off putting so we had a grumble, after waiting another half hour or so, we were moved to another room, with a view of the Petronas Towers, which we appreciated, only to find this room had a dirty toilet, and, can you believe it, a peanut stuck to the bedhead that was unmissable! After that we did a quick perouse of the room to find a build up of rubbish around the edges of the carpet under the curtains. We had to ask them to re-clean the room, so we had to leave and wait for it to be cleaned - it was a pretty tiring day and very inconvenient given we had had a very early international flight that morning.
Breakfast wasn't included, it cost $15 or so, so we went to the mall and ate for a quarter of the price.
The rooms, besides being dirty, are tired and outdated, the shower was good though!
The whole Hotel would have been great 20years ago, but hasn't been maintained. The pool area is also tired and seemed to be always crowded with kids when we were there.
Staff don't go out of their way to be helpful or friendly.
They advertised when we booked there was free inroom internet, it was one of the selling point for us, but it is not wifi, just some old cable the plugs into a computer, useless for an ipad! Wifi cost $15 for 24hrs - very annoying and a bit deceiving. Wifi was supposed to be around the lobby and pool, but we had trouble picking it up.

Tip: look for another Hotel, I'm sure you could get something better for the same price or less.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    727
    642
    253
    78
    43
See reviews for
434
442
118
407
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wales
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

On our way to see our son and future daughter in law in Perth WA we decided to have a 3 night break in The Prince. Well without rambling on it was ideal. I don't feel KL is a great tourist resort to be honest. China Town, Old India etc pretty uninspiring. Visited Petronas Towers ok to kill an afternoon. However the Prince is only a 15 min taxi from the Railway station £10 where you can catch the KL Expres from KL airport. 28 mins £17.
The hotel has everything. Good breakfast. Nice restaurants and bar. Pool. It's only a 5 minute walk to the largest shopping mall, food hall you will ever see. Loads of bars etc. safe as houses.
KL is not pedestrian friendly, nasty traffic with dicey crossings, poor pavements if you are not good on your feet. Public transport is poor except for a long ride in a taxi.
However if you are staying in KL to move on to the country or Australia, NZ etc the Prince is excellent to hold up for a few days. And not even expensive. 5 stars in my book.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuching
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Good family hotel with kids friendly pool, kids club and all amenities. Good hotel services and restaurant serving Chinese and Japanese food with western food as well.
Pavilion mall is just 5 mins away crossing the overhead bridge brings you to the happening place at night with bars n bistro. At lower ground floor houses food republic with many stalls to choose from and only the best. Within close vicinity is fahrenheight 88, star hill mall, klcc and klcc gardens .

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damansara
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Nice hotel but the multi level car park is quite dark, even during the day. They need to do something about it to make us feel safe. The swimming is nice and was surprised to be pampered with ice cream on a hot day. Thanks. Gym for workout is great, too. But it's a hassle to cross the busy street to Pavilion Shopping Mall. Only if they have a bridge or pedestrian crossing would make things easy and safer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

I arrived at the hotel after a long drive from spore. To my dismay, hotel staff r not well trained. Trainee recep was reprimanded by duty manager in front of me. Duty manager did not serve me immediately despite trainee reminding her I was waiting for her. I'd to wait 45 mins to go to my apartment.

When I got to the apartment, house keeper was still tidying my room! If I still want tat rm, I'd to wait another 20 mins! Thus I choose to chg rm. I was given another rm with a lousy view!

I'm still staying n checking out tmr. Trust me if u had another choice, go to another hotel. Do not be deceived by their pics on their site, cos u r GONNA GET WAT U C. Perhaps for their hotel rooms but then again the choice is urs : (

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Everything about our stay here was average. Room was dated, check in was very slow, service was nothing to write about. Location ok, but the other side of Pavilion mall (where the Ritz, Westin, JW Marriot etc are) is better. When booking I had informed hotel that we are travelling on our Honeymoon, no special touches added/offered to our stay - which was disappointing to say the least. Would not return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I have a soft spot for this hotel. I first stayed here in 2003 soon after it opened and was pleased to find it was just as good today as it was then. From 2003-04 I practically lived here 2-3 nigthts a week and taught at the University of Nottingham, KL Campus) that was then right next door: I'd given up my KL apartment and moved in with my then girlfriend, now wife, in Singapore. We used the hotel as 'base camp' for our wedding which we held just 5 minutes walk away. The hotel is well maintained, the staff warm and efficient, and then rooms still up to scratch with the latest 5 stars in KL.

Room Tip: High floor, even numbers, facing KLCC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Prince Hotel & Residence Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Hotel & Residence Kuala Lumpur

Address: No.4 Jalan Conlay, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#20 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#25 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#25 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#28 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Prince Hotel & Residence Kuala Lumpur 4.5*
Number of rooms: 602
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether it is business or pleasure. Prince Hotel & Residence Kuala Lumpur is conveniently located near the Central Business District and the prestigious Ampang Embassy Row, yet only a short stroll away from the majestic Petronas TwinTowers, Suria KLCC (Kuala Lumpur City Center) and the entertainment hub and shopping district, Bukit Bintang.As Kuala Lumpur's newest luxury Hotel & Residence, the Prince is designed specially with todays discerning traveller in mind. Providing comfortable, contemporary accommodation and boasting unmatched standards of excellence, friendly and personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Prince Hotel & Residence Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel And Residence
Prince Hotel Residence
Prince Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Prince Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prince Hotel & Residence Kuala Lumpur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.