We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Istana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Istana to your Saves list
Hotel Istana
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   73 Jalan Raja Chulan | Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 274 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Sri lanka
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excelent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

Good Hotel with large room and bath room. Friendly service with good food at the restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    776
    760
    323
    144
    100
See reviews for
444
754
147
288
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (523)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2009

It was a very nice hotel (5 stars) centraly located right next to the monorail station and some minutes walk from the city night life and the malls.The breakfast buffet was very good and the service also.In general it was a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

Stayed for 4 nights in a Club Room. Very friendly and helpful staff but was disappointed with the standard of the room. The room decor and ensuite were in need of renovation and we were put right next to the lifts. This meant we had a really poor view out the back of the hotel. Only advantage of the club room was access to the club lounge which had free wine / spirits / beer and nibblies from 5:30pm to 7:30pm but otherwise it is a bog standard room.
Hotel location was good with many of the main tourist spots nearby and also the monorail.
The hotel was reasonably priced but I expected much more as it was rated as five stars. I wouldn't stay here again - I would pay a little more for a more modern hotel like the Westin.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Heads-Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

My son and I stayed here for 2 nights and enjoyed this hotel very much, the pool was great and the lounge bar area was beautiful. Whenever we had had enough sight seeing we retreated here to rest, we found it a real oasis amongst the chaos of the streets around it. it is very well located for sight seers. Not far from Bukit Bintang, the Petronas Towers or China Town.
We were given a compimetary breakfast on arrival(7am.)-very delicious and a two for one deal on the buffet dinner, each night which was also very good..
My only complaint was the hairs that were not ours on the bathroom floor.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2009

I travelled to KL with a friend for the weekend on a coach/hotel package from Singapore. We chose the hotel because this was supposedly the drop-off point (but as it turned out, there were at least 4 other hotels that we could have chosen). Reading the previous reviews, I do not think the service was that bad. The good points: location (near shopping malls), good view of the Petronas Towers, wide range of food offered in the buffet breakfast, nice spacious bathroom (has shower stall, bath tub and separate toilet room). Disadvantages: quite crowded (long wait for lifts), taxi (the concierge told to take only a certain type of taxi to avoid being 'fleeced' but these turned out to be three times more expensive than the ones we hailed on the streets). On the whole, I would not hesitate to go back again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

We are so dissapointed to stay in Hotel Istana, a five star hotel but with the worst service. After we check in we try to open our room and realised that the room was occupied by an affin bank staff......my hubby got to go down to the check in counter to query. After the reception had checked and we were given another room to check in......since we arrived quite late....we didn't even take a bath and straight away go to sleep. The next morning when i wanted to take a bath i realised that the water was too hot to bath, i called the operator to make a complaint around 9.30am. The operator name was Catherine, she said she will report to the engineer to get it check, we have to wait for 2hr to get the engineer to come to the room to get it rectify. In between I tried calling Catherine (operator) to ask her to check on the complain i make, but she told me to go to the fitness centre to take my bath instead. Is this the way an operator of a 5 star hotel talking to her guest.......thanks to this we have to cancel our appointed at 1230pm. The complaint was only rectify around 1145am. As a 5 star hotel, service is very important for the image of the hotel, before a guest check in, a room must be check before to be sure that a guest have a pleasant stay in the room.
Anyway due to this, we were promise for a late check out, but we weren't given either...instead we were told to check out at 12pm.
We will never stay in this hotel anymore.......

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW DELHi India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

Kualalumpur Hotel Istana
Date 10.08.09

We stayed in two deluxe rooms for two days . We came to check in at around 6pm and were informed room was not ready We were given the room at 08.30 pm and were offered the complimentary soft , non alcholic drink in the Sports Bar and not in the Lobby as customary.One can imagine the scenario of havng a soft drink with family in a BAR. Our proposal to check out late as compensation was also not agreed to and we had to wait for more than 2 hrs to get the rooms.
The other irritating matter was the complimentary mini bar drinks were not replenished automatically and we had to ask twice for that . Tea / coffee maker was there but the tea pouches provided were for one time tea only .Web site of the hotel promised luxurious toiletries but actually were quite frugal , with no toothbrush, paste and razor etc,.
These small things irritated us a lot the the whole fun in staying at a FIVE STAR HOTEL was lost.

  • Liked — its location and FOOD
  • Disliked — Lethargic attitude
  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Istana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Istana

Address: 73 Jalan Raja Chulan | Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#24 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#28 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#30 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#31 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Istana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 505
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Istana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istana Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Istana Kuala Lumpur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Istana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.