We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will stay here again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Istana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Istana to your Saves list
Hotel Istana
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   73 Jalan Raja Chulan | Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 278 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Will stay here again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2009

We stayed in a budget hotel for the first 2 nights, horrible! We had to move to a more comfortable, luxurious hotel for the remaining 2 nights and we got that with the Istana. Check in was smooth, staff were all very friendly, from receptionist, porters to restaurant staff. Our deluxe twin room was very spacious, beds comfortable. Bathroom huge and clean. Love that the shower was stand alone from the bath and the toilet was separated with a sliding door. There were also two basins. Will be great for families. Location close to city center, there is a monorail station just in front, very convenient however you can walk to the center where the big shopping centre Pavilion is, just 10mins away, large food court at Level 1. Can also walk to the Twin Towers 15-20mins. Just take the monorail to get to different areas Time Square, Chinatown, most cost 1.20 ringetts one way. The hotel uses an executive taxi service so cost is much higher but there's no need to use taxis. Airport is an hour drive away, you can take the monorail to KL Sentral, from there take the bus or train to the airport; allow at least 1.5hours for this route. If you are travelling Air Asia, they have a bus which cost just 9 ringetts, leaves every half hour, last one at 10pm.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    911
    858
    346
    146
    107
See reviews for
503
836
162
340
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (604)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
perth wa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2009

never been messed around ever than here we had 3 rooms in 2 days 1st one was told to us that it was a smoking room then told it wasnt was told that its a 1000rm fine! spoke to the indian girl on reception dont think she understood english too good. she told us we had to move to room 414. ok we dragged our cases and bags ourselfs down 4 floors. we were the only guests on that floor! maintenance was going on fitting new locks! then the electrician came in to switch the lights over! .we had no free mini bar so down to reception again! half hour later room service knocked with 1 beer 1 coke you should get 2 beers 2 soft drinks 2 waters free back down to reception! ill send someone up she said. never happened! went down to complain again about beds just 2 singles pushed together! and no safe! said well switch you rooms again no way tonight i said spent our 1st day in reception! switched us next morning to 10 floors higher! took our bags again up to room room service come up put 2 drinks in fridge wife said no way you owe us so he filled it up what they owed us most staff are great just be prepared to wait a day or so when you order something! breakfast is great well worth it hotel is in great position actually they should rename it FAWLTY TOWERS!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmhurst, New York
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
294 helpful votes 294 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

I booked this hotel on Agoda for a great rate. The hotel advertises as 5 star, but I would give in a 3.5. Upon arriving I requested if I could have a room overlooking the Petronas Towers, which they honored. The room was a good size, but somehow I had scenced it to be larger. It consisted of 2 twin beds. The bathroom though was quite big with a tub and separate shower. They had only given us one towel and one soap. The bathroom was also showing signs of age with rust and mildew on the tile edges. One morning water started coming up the drain as the sink water was on for about an hour.
My rate included free breakfast, which was excellent. They serve just about anything you can think of, such as eggs, waffles, omelettes, cereal, as well as Chinese, Indian and Malay. The pook seemed nice, but I did not get a chance to use it. Another con is the prostitutes that hang out in the driveway of the hotel always askong you if you want a massage.
The location is excellent, only a 2 block walk to the monorail. We opted on taxis, but tell them to use the meter, which is diffacult if you try to get one in front of the hotel or by tourist and transportation .

The Hotel Istana was a good value, but certainly does not have the standard to call itself a 5 star.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

the hotel itself is located in the central part. the problem of this hotel is management. individual staff was very friendly and nice. but we should have a deal from expedia; complimentary beer and soft drink- which was not recognised by the staff, and we did notget them. complimentary laundry - one M&S shirt was missing and never come back to us. complimentary internet access- again, they tried to charge for this, but they managed not to charge- very fast internet access which was good.
it takes ages if you ask something for these services. the spa is very good, and worth having, compared to the spa in Sheraton where we stayed next two days, only spa is better than Sheraton's spa. but the rest, it's not 4 star hotel, it is a 3 star hotel. airconditioning doesnt work properly- cannot adjust. freezing cold! but considering the half price of the sheraton, it may be good for budget travellers or like us, if you stay only a night, it would be OK. it's value for money compared to European hotel's standard.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2009

It was a good location, and a nice hotel.

The hotel (apart from the lobby) is in need of a full upgrade. But its still comfortable and clean. The service is very good, and staff very helpful.

The buffet breakfast was impressive!

I would defiantely stay there again. It was nice.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2009

This was our 4th stop on a whirlwind tour of southeast Asia. The hotel itself is in a great location four touring KL. It could use a facelift as its seen better days but overall stilla good value for under $100 canadian. The rooms were large but again are in need of a paint job and new carpets. The restaurant had anice dinner buffet which was pretty good and the breakfast buffet that was include was above average. Drinks are very expensive in the hotel and for that matter everywhere in KL as the taxes imposed on alcohol are horrendous.

The only issue we had was that our room did not have a safe like it was suppose to ... so when we called down to the front desk they said that they would bring one up right away and they did, however, it was not secured to anything so anyone could simply carry it right back out. Needless to say, we carrid around our documents and money with us.

This hotel is within walking distance to the twin towers, shopping and a mulitude of restaurants. We tried the Hop on/Hop off bus tour and it was a nice way to see the sight sthen go back as revisit the ones we wanted to see again. The KL tower is a must and if you feel like getting up early, go line up for the twin tower tour, its interesting but the KL tower is a far superior view.

The staff overall were very helpful and friendly towards the men but not so towards the women as in their culture that is the way it is.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2009

On the second day of my stay at this hotel, I could not find my new pants which I had intended to wear to meet some business associates. It had simply disappeared.
It was on top of my suitcase which was unlocked - Yes, I should have known better.
When I took the matter to the manager, he said he would investigate. I did not hear from again and when I found him next day he was busy on the phone for twenty minutes and then nowhere to be seen again.
I realised there was no point in pursuing further, just put it down to a new learning experience. A new city, new experience. New, because it never happened in all my travels
I also agree with another tripadvisor contributor about the taxi drivers, that you'll be terribly overcharged if you are on your own or don't know the city. It will cost you precious time and money.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Istana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Istana

Address: 73 Jalan Raja Chulan | Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#25 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#25 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#27 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Istana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 505
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Istana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istana Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Istana Kuala Lumpur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Istana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.