We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Re-visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Istana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Istana to your Saves list
Hotel Istana
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   73 Jalan Raja Chulan | Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 274 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
bangi, malaysia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Re-visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

My second visit & conference.
Congratulations to the staff for taking into account my previous comments and review. The staff were more friendly this time and the fridge was working.

Other pros: food was great! Although dinner buffet was crowded. Nice pool. Very friendly staff. Excellent service. Great location.

Cons: interior was a bit dated. But clean nevertheless

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are pleased to know that you have had a pleasant stay with us. Here at Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur we strive to give our guests the best ever experience that they can never forget. Meanwhile any comments and views are most welcome and we will improve our quality of service from time to time.

Once again, thank you for sleeping with us.

Thank you
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    782
    763
    323
    144
    101
See reviews for
446
755
149
292
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (529)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chard, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights and could not have chosen a better location. Prices were reasonable for the center of KL. First appearances via the grand entrance and large reception area lulls you into a false sense of bagging a real bargain and it’s only until you get to your room, that you realise the fairytale had to end soon. Without wanting to sound discourteous to this hotel, you would feel like a King staying in our room 20 years ago. The room had everything you needed from complimentary water to large 'old square' TV. All the usual were here too, safe, iron, hairdryer and the all-important free wifi.

The bathroom was spacious and despite hot water coming out of both hot and cold taps in all sink, bath and ‘yes’ separate shower, this was fixed immediately along with the loose toilet seat.

The staff are great and check in was done at the speed of light.

The staff attended pool area was tidy, with complimentary towels, iced water and fruit cocktail stick if you timed it right.

Best of all the lovely people at this hotel allowed us to check in at 10am after an over-night flight and for this they get a great big thumbs-up & thanks.

7 minute walk into City Centre
4 minute walk to Central Plaza shopping mall (has great ground floor food court)
5 minute walk to bus stop for free bus to Petronas Towers and other places
7 minute taxi ride to KL Tower (you could walk if you like going up hill)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing us to host your stay. We are honored to be part of your stay experience and will continue to deliver our award wining standard of services to you and to all our guests. It certainly brings great motivation to our fellow associates to further serve our guest with passions of Istana. We look forward to your next visit.

Thank you
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed there for 4 nights. Superb facilities and amenities close by. Very welcoming staff and I even met the Area general manager Mr Praba. G. Menon which was a privilege and the floor manager was very helpful and I would visit again in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing us to host your stay and we truly appreciate your kind recommendation. It certainly brings great motivation to our fellow associates to further serve our guest with passions of Istana. We do believed that you will re-visit us again in future and make us the number one choice of hotel for your stay.

Thank you
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Long overdue review - stayed 1 night in May 2012 at the Istana Hotel. The best thing about the hotel is its fantastic location in Bukit Bintang, just a short hop to the shops and malls. Apart from that, there isn't much to shout about the hotel - everything is just, fine. The rooms are clean and spacious, but decor is a little tired and plain, especially the bathroom - a makeover would be nice! Nice staff at the reception, very helpful and friendly despite being very busy with many people checking in or out. Free parking at the hotel is a nice touch!

Didn't take the breakfast package as there is plenty of dining places around.

Good value option if you want to be in the thick of the action (and if you can get a good deal!) and are not very particular with the room decor.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Sir,

First and foremost, we would like to thank you for your recent visit to Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre. For your kind information, our hotel will be experiencing a process of refurbishment which is done soon. Therefore, we seek your patience to experience our hosting in the new phase. Do come and visit us again soon and experience our new touch of difference.

Thank you
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

My wife and just returned from 5 nights & 6 days at Hotel Istana, Kuala Lumpur City Centre in Malaysia. We were there for our annual humanitarian & scholarships dinner to benefit UNICEF, Habitat for Humanity International, plus direct humanitaranian relief in Thailand and Cambodia; and to build our fund for scholarships for worthy students in need (and a romantic getaway).

Wow! Did we have a great stay. We are definitely returning to Hotel Istana on our next visit to Kuala Lumpur. The staff was so very warm, friendly and always there when you nededed them; but you never had the feeling they were "too close for comfort".

The room package for five nights included an upgrade to one of their upper level Executive Floors, which meant larger accommodations; and access to their Executive Lounge from morning to evening with breakfast, daily snacks and beverages, afternoon tea and specialties; and of course, evening cocktails with a generous, gourmet buffet, including your choice of free pour beer, wine and spirits; as well as a selection of non-alcoholic beverages (we paid a small premium for the upgrades, but it was a super value).

The reception and dinner was a wonderful success: The food & beverage was first rate; the service excellent; and the price was hard to beat (we shopped-around the big global brand name hotels at K-L before deciding on Hotel Istana).

And when the Director of Food & Beverage learned that my wife is expecting, he presented her with a beautiful bouquet of the largest red roses I have ever seen.

At K-L, why go anywhere else?!?

Room Tip: The higher floors afford a great view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Sir

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience with us here. It is with great pleasure to read your review knowing that you enjoyed your stay with us and what a great experience you had.
At Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur, we are strive to provides our guests with exceptional standards of service and to ensure all our guests are treated like king. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thank you
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hartlepool
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

As you walk into the lobble you will see this is a great hotel all the staff are warm and friendly.
The only criticsm I had if you can call it that were the carpets and furniture did look a little tired.
The location was excellant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre.
It is with great pleasure to read your review knowing that we have lived up to your expectations. Nevertheless we will continue to provides our guests with unconditional services and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Thank you
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I stayed with Istana many times before, and was quite satisfied with their friendly and efficient service but find something unpleasant this May with their pricing system.
I booked the double deluxe room through their web site in 1st April as special rate with breakfast was quoted. I noticed the price increased after I confirmed my booking, reason being the rate is quoted for one person only, price will change automatically if you key in 2 adults to stay in the room which I have no doubts that Double Deluxe is cater for 2 adults. When I spoke to the Manager Lilian on phone, she mentioned that there is no way for me to cancel as it is 'Promotion Offer'. Later on, I found this booking TRAP was removed from their web site, but I still have to bear it with no cancellation or amendment is allowed. I checked their web site in middle of May before I travel to KL, they have special offer for the Club Room stay one for one night free at M$300++ which is so much lesser than my M$600++ Double Deluxe for 2 nights. I called up to switch to the Club Room but again was denied by the reservation staff.
This is truly ruined my holiday mood as I usually celebrate my anniversary in May every year. I enjoyed so much with Cosmo Hotel HK last May with complementary red wine for the occasion,
I definitely choose HK for my next year vacation, or others in Bukit Bintang as I travel KL quite often.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre.

First and foremost, thank you for staying and providing us with your valued feedback. We will take serious note of your feedback and discuss the matter with the management for further improvement and measures to overcome the weaknesses. We look forward to welcoming you again for a new and refreshing experience.

Thank you.
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Istana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Istana

Address: 73 Jalan Raja Chulan | Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#24 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#28 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#29 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#30 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Istana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 505
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Istana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istana Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Istana Kuala Lumpur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Istana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.