We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Good location staff friendly and welcoming"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Istana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Istana to your Saves list
Hotel Istana
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   73 Jalan Raja Chulan | Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 274 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“"Good location staff friendly and welcoming"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The Hotell was recommended by a friend ! it was really nice to spent 2 nights there! very good location easy to walking to the main shopping malls.
My room wasnt that modern and the ac was away too cold! but i was informed that some of the rooms got some upgrated.
Breakfast was very good, the swimming pool was very nice to and sfaff super helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing us to host your stay. We truly appreciate your kind feedback and we hope to welcome you back, soon. Till then, have a pleasant day ahead.

Thank you
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    776
    760
    323
    144
    100
See reviews for
444
754
147
288
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (523)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

After many years stayed here now i came back and found the service still very good, the condition of the hotel is in the very good too.

In front is the monorail station, easy to go around any where in the city

To the right is shopping malls like sungei wang, lot 10, also high class pavillion mall, in the bukit bintang area

A bit walking to hard rock cafe and others nite club and disco also lots of foot massage in this area

Further down is the petronas twin tower klcc suria mall the iconic of malaysia

I was here for the F1 event and happy to stay again here

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are pleased to know that you have had a pleasant stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre in the future.

Thank you
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

When we arrived at Hotel Istana we were greeted at the door by multiple people. They whisked our luggage away, walked us to the desk, and informed us that we had been upgraded to a suite. The suite took my breath away. It was huge, and had a view of the Petronas Towers. We had two bathrooms, two televisions, and every amenity we might need. The rooms were maybe a bit older than some, but they were amazing. It was within short walking distance to the monorail and shopping. The employees were more than helpful when we had questions. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are pleased to know that you have had a pleasant stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre in the future.

Thank you
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, West Midlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed on the Club Floor. Arrived about 9pm, but had a tremendous welcome. Were taken up to the club floor for check in, offered refreshments, then went to our rooms. Breakfast was good, service and staff friendly and welcoming. Make you feel truly valued and special. Rooms were good, efficient housekeeping, turndown service, free internet. Only issue I found is that the room can get very cold even with the A/C switched off. Good location. Enjoyed the stay, and will definitley stay here again. I've stayed at various hotels in KL and this one seems to offer the best compromise between service, value and location.

Room Tip: Club room offers excellent value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are pleased to know that you have had a pleasant stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre in the future.

Thank you
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taif
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Hotel more than Raúaa very decorative and cleaners, reception and farewell, location truth of the nicest hotels
Location very, very suitable for those who visit Kuala Lumpur proximity to shopping and safety and outside the hotel available Wi-Fi network is available in hotel lobbies collection

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are pleased to know that you have had a pleasant stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre in the future.

Thank you
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed at the Istana Hotel again in KL and was well looked after. The rooms are being upgraded and this time I actually had a flat screen TV. Lily , a guest services manager is extremely courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing us to host your stay. We truly appreciate your kind feedback and we hope to welcome you back, soon. Till then, have a pleasant day ahead.

Thank you
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Good hotel, cheap price, aging room and furniture. Big bathroom, good services, clean room and good breakfast. Nice and quiet pool area in the middle of the town. Good location for night life and shopping, all within walking distance.

Room Tip: Sound isulation is not too good, choose a room away form elevators. The inner end of the corridor is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing us to host your stay. We truly appreciate your kind feedback and we hope to welcome you back, soon. Till then, have a pleasant day ahead.

Thank you
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Istana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Istana

Address: 73 Jalan Raja Chulan | Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#24 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#28 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#30 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#31 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Istana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 505
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Istana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istana Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Istana Kuala Lumpur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Istana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.