We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite a nice hotel but looking tired.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Istana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Istana to your Saves list
Hotel Istana
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   73 Jalan Raja Chulan | Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 282 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Quite a nice hotel but looking tired.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The Istana is a reasonable hotel - but don't expect it to be the five star standard as it really is quite old and dated. The carpets are generally dirty as are the bathroom areas and the whole hotel is really in need of an upgrade and refurbishment. However, it is in a good location and is generally well priced. The swimming pool is reasonable. While we were there our room became filled with fumes - we all ended up with a headache. When we complained we were told the room next door was being repainted and we were moved to a different room. The way it was handled wasn't very good, no apologies made and it took two hours to sort out the change. In decor and condition, the room moved to was far worse and the carpets were threadbare.
So all in all, yes it is worth staying at as long as you are aware that the quality etc is not going to be terrific and problems are not handled well.
The breakfast is very very nice with a wide range of choices and the chefs will cook things freshly for you as well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre.

Thank you for your constructive comments. We will take serious note of your feedbacks and discuss this matter with the management for further improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    880
    835
    345
    145
    104
See reviews for
488
816
158
334
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (591)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Let me just say the hotel lobby/lounge is beautiful and lounge staff very lovely and attentive, it is a grand space and every effort is made to make just a quiet coffee feel like a "grand" experience . . . . . however On our arrival the hotel had no record of our booking made 4months previous to our arrival so we waited after a tiring flight in quite a panic while they telephoned our travel company, where the hotel established they had made a mistake and had got our booking after all. When we got into the freezing cold room that smelt stongly of cigarettes with grubby carpet and chair whole room just felt uninviting, baron and worse than a lot of backpacker places i have stayed at in the past! Asked to move rooms which they promtly saw to, however the next room was identical bar the view which mildly improved. The rooms and corridors in this hotel are in desperate need of refurbishment and let the whole place down they also need to do something about the very strong smell of smoke all over the hotel, i realise smoking is not illegal indoors here but u dont expect your whole suitcase of fresh holiday clothes to stink of smoke when you head to your next destination! Overall poor and disapointing i'm affraid.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre.

Thank you for your constructive comments. We will take serious note of your feedbacks and discuss this matter with the management for further improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lejre, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We loved being here, were royally welcomed by the most charming and wonderful girls and guys. Our room was splendid, not only with a grand bed, all the facilities, and great service, but with a fantastic bathroom with bath, high-tech shower, and all sorts of nice little bottles and packages.

Every time we had been out we were warmly welcomed by the charming staff in wonderful clothes, always with a little joke or a compliment.

All our questions could be answered and all our wishes in terms of tours could be acommodated.

Great food at breakfast etc. and, again, fantastic staff to tell us what was what, what we could do on this particular day, and also about themselves and their lives. Friendly, warm, competent.

In short - we absolutely loved it!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre. We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your recent experience with us and hope to welcome you back, soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I agree with other postings about the location. It really cannot be beat. Surprisingly, the building is only 20 years old though it looks like it is much older (especially the rooms themselves...very dated!). The staff all seemed friendly and very accommodating. The wifi was not great.

My mixed review and reason for such low score is with the cost of the "extras" for the room/hotel. The dining rooms are very expensive. The front door staff will prefer to send you to one of the "executive taxis" -- hotels evidently have some kind of agreement with them. The staff somehow seemed put off that we asked for a regular street taxi (about 1/2 the cost of the executive, blue taxi). But the thing that took the cake was a 20 ringit (about $7.50) replacement cost for a lost hotel key card. Ridiculous!

I'm not sure that I would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent experience at Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre. We regret for any inconvenience that might have caused.
We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Thank you.
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosaville, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

For the second year in a row we ended our Malaysian holiday with a pampered stay at the Hotel Istana in a club suite with access to the club lounge and all its benefits. On arrival porters take your bags for delivery to your room and you are off to the 20th floor for a nice relaxing check-in by the friendly staff in the club lounge. Apart from check-in, check-out other benefits include complimentary breakfast 7.00am – 10-30am. Buffet style for salads, cereals, yoghurts, muesli, fruit, fruit juices, freshly baked breads, pastries, cheeses, smoked salmon, mackerel - Waiter service for your choice of hot dishes including eggs any style with all the trimmings, coffee, tea, toast. Complimentary all day refreshments 7.00am – 11.00pm, internet access including in your room, Afternoon tea 2.30pm-4.30pm. Cocktails 5.30pm-7.30pm which is superb served buffet style usually consisted of tasting spoons, salads, 2 hot dishes, fresh breads, cheeses, cakes, sweets, fruit, together with beer, wine, spirits and soft drinks .
The Hotel Istana is centrally located within walking distance to Pavillions, Bukit Bintang, Monorail and main shopping areas. We found the staff to be helpful, friendly and willing to go out of their way to ensure your stay is a memorable one – We will be back for another stay in 2013.

Room Tip: Book a Club room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre. We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your recent experience with us and hope to welcome you back, soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The hotel has lots of pluses: greenery front and back, good-sized swimming pool, fine breakfast buffet, interesting decor, biggish rooms, clean and well-maintained throughout, friendly helpful staff, excellent location.
There are some small minuses: no luggage stands, a rather dreary installation for the TV, huge amount of water wasted waiting for the hot water, the room is chilly even with the a/c turned off.
But in general it's a perhaps lower-end 5-star hotel with good value for the cost.

Room Tip: We had a 3rd floor room facing front which I feared would be noisy but it simply wasn't because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are pleased to know that you have had a pleasant stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre in the future.

Thank you
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The title says it all! We stayed here for 3 nights and could not have wished for a better located base for seeing the sights.

- 5 minutes walk from the communications tower
- surrounded by various shopping malls to suit all pockets
- practically underneath the monorail which is easy to use for getting into china town or for connecting to the rail network
- 10 minutes walk, via a secure, cool covered walkway which lifts you above the traffic and snakes through the buildings to drop you off on the doorstep of the Petronas Towers

And the best part is that you dont have to compromise to get all this convenience.The hotel itself is grand, clean and staffed by an army of professional yet extremely friendly employees. Check in was a breeze and when we mentioned to our porter that we were interested in a trip to the elephant sanctuary it was all taken care of, superb service. It has a great little pool which is perfect for cooling off after a days exploring and a restuarant which unfortunately we didnt get chance to try.

This was our first visit to Kuala Lumpur but we wouldnt hesitate to book here again should we ever come back to Malaysia!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are pleased to know that you have had a pleasant stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre in the future.

Thank you
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Istana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Istana

Address: 73 Jalan Raja Chulan | Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#20 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#25 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#27 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#27 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Istana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 505
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Istana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istana Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Istana Kuala Lumpur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Istana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.