We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Istana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Istana to your Saves list
Hotel Istana
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   73 Jalan Raja Chulan | Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 274 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Lejre, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Super place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We loved being here, were royally welcomed by the most charming and wonderful girls and guys. Our room was splendid, not only with a grand bed, all the facilities, and great service, but with a fantastic bathroom with bath, high-tech shower, and all sorts of nice little bottles and packages.

Every time we had been out we were warmly welcomed by the charming staff in wonderful clothes, always with a little joke or a compliment.

All our questions could be answered and all our wishes in terms of tours could be acommodated.

Great food at breakfast etc. and, again, fantastic staff to tell us what was what, what we could do on this particular day, and also about themselves and their lives. Friendly, warm, competent.

In short - we absolutely loved it!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre. We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your recent experience with us and hope to welcome you back, soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    780
    763
    323
    144
    101
See reviews for
446
754
148
292
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (527)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I agree with other postings about the location. It really cannot be beat. Surprisingly, the building is only 20 years old though it looks like it is much older (especially the rooms themselves...very dated!). The staff all seemed friendly and very accommodating. The wifi was not great.

My mixed review and reason for such low score is with the cost of the "extras" for the room/hotel. The dining rooms are very expensive. The front door staff will prefer to send you to one of the "executive taxis" -- hotels evidently have some kind of agreement with them. The staff somehow seemed put off that we asked for a regular street taxi (about 1/2 the cost of the executive, blue taxi). But the thing that took the cake was a 20 ringit (about $7.50) replacement cost for a lost hotel key card. Ridiculous!

I'm not sure that I would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent experience at Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre. We regret for any inconvenience that might have caused.
We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Thank you.
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosaville, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

For the second year in a row we ended our Malaysian holiday with a pampered stay at the Hotel Istana in a club suite with access to the club lounge and all its benefits. On arrival porters take your bags for delivery to your room and you are off to the 20th floor for a nice relaxing check-in by the friendly staff in the club lounge. Apart from check-in, check-out other benefits include complimentary breakfast 7.00am – 10-30am. Buffet style for salads, cereals, yoghurts, muesli, fruit, fruit juices, freshly baked breads, pastries, cheeses, smoked salmon, mackerel - Waiter service for your choice of hot dishes including eggs any style with all the trimmings, coffee, tea, toast. Complimentary all day refreshments 7.00am – 11.00pm, internet access including in your room, Afternoon tea 2.30pm-4.30pm. Cocktails 5.30pm-7.30pm which is superb served buffet style usually consisted of tasting spoons, salads, 2 hot dishes, fresh breads, cheeses, cakes, sweets, fruit, together with beer, wine, spirits and soft drinks .
The Hotel Istana is centrally located within walking distance to Pavillions, Bukit Bintang, Monorail and main shopping areas. We found the staff to be helpful, friendly and willing to go out of their way to ensure your stay is a memorable one – We will be back for another stay in 2013.

Room Tip: Book a Club room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre. We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your recent experience with us and hope to welcome you back, soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The hotel has lots of pluses: greenery front and back, good-sized swimming pool, fine breakfast buffet, interesting decor, biggish rooms, clean and well-maintained throughout, friendly helpful staff, excellent location.
There are some small minuses: no luggage stands, a rather dreary installation for the TV, huge amount of water wasted waiting for the hot water, the room is chilly even with the a/c turned off.
But in general it's a perhaps lower-end 5-star hotel with good value for the cost.

Room Tip: We had a 3rd floor room facing front which I feared would be noisy but it simply wasn't because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are pleased to know that you have had a pleasant stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre in the future.

Thank you
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The title says it all! We stayed here for 3 nights and could not have wished for a better located base for seeing the sights.

- 5 minutes walk from the communications tower
- surrounded by various shopping malls to suit all pockets
- practically underneath the monorail which is easy to use for getting into china town or for connecting to the rail network
- 10 minutes walk, via a secure, cool covered walkway which lifts you above the traffic and snakes through the buildings to drop you off on the doorstep of the Petronas Towers

And the best part is that you dont have to compromise to get all this convenience.The hotel itself is grand, clean and staffed by an army of professional yet extremely friendly employees. Check in was a breeze and when we mentioned to our porter that we were interested in a trip to the elephant sanctuary it was all taken care of, superb service. It has a great little pool which is perfect for cooling off after a days exploring and a restuarant which unfortunately we didnt get chance to try.

This was our first visit to Kuala Lumpur but we wouldnt hesitate to book here again should we ever come back to Malaysia!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are pleased to know that you have had a pleasant stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre in the future.

Thank you
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The hotel has good and polite staff. Always willing to help. Bathroom fixtures need to be updgraded. For example some of the bathroom fixtures kept falling off. The rooms should be properly maintained and repaired before the guests arrived. Room decor also needs to be spruced up. We were happy to find out that the treadmills in the GYM were upgraded. The hotel is very near major shopping complexes.

Room Tip: Choose non smoking rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are pleased to know that you have had a pleasant stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre in the future.

Thank you
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

though the Old architectured building ًand aged facilities , the Istana hotel is located in a perfect location that you gonna like , you just walk 15 - 20 min max to reach all the area spots.
Transportation is very easy , steady and nearby, but we prefered walking. Many cafes and clubs are around too.
Average room sized and old tv as well as wc old facilities wasnt a very big deal , as long as you get a good service , food and drinks. It was a guys trip so we didnt go for the picky mood .
Great varity in the breakfast is to be mentioned and pool relaxing area was my favorit. the very high ceiling and arches with crossing lines mirrors in the entrance and its islamic facades show scrawny ambiance , despite the vast spaces and expenses , you can feel the Clumsy mood

Room Tip: Try a club room to avoid the old tv
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre. We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your recent experience with us and hope to welcome you back, soon.

Thank you
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Istana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Istana

Address: 73 Jalan Raja Chulan | Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#24 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#28 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#29 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#30 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Istana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 505
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Istana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istana Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Istana Kuala Lumpur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Istana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.