We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel,warm & friendly staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Istana

Save Saved
You added Hotel Istana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Istana
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   73 Jalan Raja Chulan | Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 261 hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel,warm & friendly staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011 via mobile

By far one if the friendliest hotels we have stayed in, breakfast was with wide range of choice, service was second to none, we gave stayed at Istana twice now & will always be our first choice hotel whenever we're in KL

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,862 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    663
    681
    293
    131
    94
See reviews for
385
666
133
244
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

Spent to night at the Istana for the second year running whilst stopping over in KL Beautiful art deco style hotel close to some fantastic shopping centres and convenient for the city hop-on tour bus. Had some great set price three-course meals in the restaurant. There is even a reasonably priced gourmet meal option. We can recommend the steak and barramundi dishes beautifully cooked by Chef de Cuisine Sharusmizal Bin Salleh. Our host Jamilah Sulaiman was really charming and made us feel really welcome. Rose and Peter, London.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

stayed at the hotel istana, from 14th november until 18th november,lovely big lobby as you enter hotel,with hotel staff greeting you as you enter or leave. staff very friendly,can't comment much on facilities in hotel as we didn't use them,other than pool area,which was clean and tidy. room's where big and clean,with tea and coffee making facilities,colour tv,carpet had seen better day's. toilet was also big,clean and tidy.hotel is in an excellent location ,directly across the road from raja chulan monorail station, 5 minute walk to bukit bintang,where there is plenty of restuarant's and shopping, another 10-15 minute walk in the opposite direction to the petrona's tower's,all in all, we had a great stay at the hotel istana, and wouldn't hesitate in recommending it to anybody

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

Good location for shopping, around 10 minutes walking distance to main shopping district. 5 minutes walking to night market which is good to experience local food.

The hotel staffs are friendly, you could always see a smile on their face and they are very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We went on a Tour and this was the hotel the tour booked. It was a very comfortable stay and the rooms were large. Loved the large bathroom with seperate shower and bath. Within walking distance to many huge shopping malls. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

This is a great hotel in the heart of KL. The location is the biggest advantage since it is in the centre of the shopping district and within walking distance of two metro stations. The hotel rooms are very comfortable and we thought the bathroom was done up very well too. The bed was comfortable and the rooms are very peaceful. We also got a very good deal on the hotel and given the price we paid, we thought it was great value for money (even though it is a 5 star)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

I found some very good points with this hotel and some not so good. The rooms are very quiet and the beds are comfortable, so if this is important to you I would highly recommend this hotel. The location is great too within walking distance to many local attractions. The hot water and water pressure is good which is welcome after a long trip. The views were very nice too. I was very disappointed with décor of the room after seeing the splendid lobby. My room was tired and dated...the moldy grout had been painted with a gloss enamel rather than cleaned! The basin and tiles were chipped and the attempt to fix this was worse than a bad DIY job. The TV resembles the TVs you see dumped on nature strips! We also didn’t get the room we had booked so the idea of a double bed was 2 single beds pushed together. I must also note I had money stolen from my room so my advice to travelers is to ALWAYS put valuables into the safe which is in every room. We also had trouble with the number of staff who didn't speak English. The breakfast was good and the lobby staff were very nice. I recommend to travelers to look around a little if you are expecting top class modern hotel room. We won't stay there again and would prefer to pay more to get more.

Room Tip: lower floors are better make sure you double check your booking for a double bed or you get 2 singl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Istana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Istana

Address: 73 Jalan Raja Chulan | Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#26 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#30 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#32 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Istana 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Otel, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Istana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istana Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Istana Kuala Lumpur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Istana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.