We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious hotel in excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Hotel Kuala Lumpur to your Saves list
JW Marriott Hotel Kuala Lumpur
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   183 Jalan Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #9 of 274 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Denpasar, Bali
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Luxurious hotel in excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

This is a flagship Marriott hotel in Malaysia. Its location is just perfect; situated in the Bukit Bintang shopping street, its is linked to the upscale Starhill Shopping Center and sits just across the road from the huge Pavilion shopping center. All this while only a short walk away from the hawker food outlets at Jalan Alor offering wide array of local delicacies. The Petronas Twin Towers/ Kuala Lumpur Convention Center is only a 5 minutes drive away. Staff is very helpful and friendly. Guest room though is somewhat on the small side and the bathroom felt a bit cramped with separate shower and bathtub area. The bed and pillows are comfortable though. Free internet is not the speediest but guests have the option of buying a speedier connection should they need it. An excellent accomodation overall.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    323
    113
    45
    21
See reviews for
211
235
80
360
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

we stayed thre nights , a good choice , the location is excellent . The staff were very good and polite our checkin was fast . Ourroom was as expected , a good size and had comfortable beds and a great decor , loved the bathroom . The breakfast is superb , my wife is asian and chose from an extensive asian selection .

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skaf M, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Wrew T,

Warmest Greetings from Kuala Lumpur!
Thank you for taking the time share your experience with us.

I am delighted to read that you had a pleasant stay at the hotel. I will be sure to share your positive experience with the team on how we have made a significant impact on your stay with us.

Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you soon!

Warm Regards,
Mahmoud Skaf
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed there for one night coz we didnt book well in advance - but it was worth it. The location is great. The check in and check out were express... we requested for a higher floor with a view and got one instantly :) my 4 year old daughter appreciated the room as soon as we walked in --- so the difference was noticable. A 5* luxury property considering the location, service and efficiency. The breakfast was great and on time... all in all, money and time well spent. Must go!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skaf M, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Kapil K,

Warmest Greetings from JW Marriott Kuala Lumpur!
Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience with us.

I am thrilled that you and your family had an enjoyable time at the hotel, especially your daughter.

Trust that your kind words will be shared with the team on how we have made your recent stay with us a memorable one.

Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to your "home away from home" soon!

Warm Regards,
Mahmoud Skaf
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

I stayed at the JWM in KL for 7 nights and I must say it is a very nice hotel and the staff are tremendous. I arrived just after 8 in the morning and the staff were very helpful in having a room for me well before normal check-in time. Checking in was simple and fast. Extremely polite receptionist took all of my details quickly. Bell boy came and took my suitcase from me and escorted me to my room and what impressed me was that for the rest of my stay he remembered my name. The room was spotless and very spacious. The only very minor criticism I would have is that apart from the mini-bar which had beer and soft drinks there were no snacks, but as I say this is very minor. The business lounge has a nice atmosphere to it and again the staff there were very attentive. They stopped serving alcohol at 20:00 which myself and my colleagues found a little bit strange, but apart from that it was a nice lounge. Check-out was also very good, they were having a few problems with their computers and were very apologetic...eventually advising that express check-out would make more sense and they would mail my invoice to me. All in all I would thouroughly recommend this hotel for it's quality and also the location.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skaf M, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Mark B,

Warmest Greetings from JW Marriott Kuala Lumpur!
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

I am delighted to learn that you were very well taken cared of during your stay at the hotel. It is always our pleasure to have you stay with us.

I will definitely share your positive words of encouragement with the team on how our actions have impacted your experience with us.

Thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to JW Marriott Kuala Lumpur!

Warm Regards,
Mahmoud Skaf
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights. Check In was good and while we waited for my son to complete the paper work we were given a cold drink. Our room was not ready when we arrived as it was before 12 noon so we went and had some lunch at the Pavillion Mall which is just across the road. When we returned our room was ready we had a two double bed bedroom which was very nice but the colour could do with a bit of a upgrade to something a bit more modern. The room was clean and there was a separate shower as well as a bath. The room had a jug for hot water and tea bags and coffee, but no fresh milk for your tea so brought some at the supermarket across the road at the Mall. We had a turn down service at night which was very good. The breakfast was very good with plenty of choices but no pork bacon on the breakfast menu but they did have beef bacon. Staff were very friendly. Beds and pillows were very comfortable. We went to go to the Pool about 8.00p.m. but it was already closed. Would considered staying at this hotel again. Maybe when you arrive at the airport it would be best if you had a private car transfer booked as the taxis are not very good.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skaf M, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Tullagirl,

Warmest Greetings from JW Marriott Kuala Lumpur!
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your comments about the hotel.

I am delighted that your stay at the hotel was enjoyable. I will be sure to share your kind words with the team.

All of our restaurants are pork-free except Shanghai Restaurant which serves delicious Shanghainese cuisine for you to enjoy on your next visit to Kuala Lumpur. In addition, we also provide various transfer options for your convenience to and from the airport. We would be delighted to assist you during your next visit.

We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us.
Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Mahmoud Skaf
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

It was my third time staying at this hotel, i have a training program in kl for a week, so i decide to stay at this hotel. i have two devices mobile phone one is iphone 4s and 5s. On the next morning, i didnt bring my 4s because of the battery drains as i forgot to charged last night. After i came back from my course, I started looking for my phone where it was no where to be found,i keep looing for my phone but i couldnt find it ... i got ready i went to the front desk and told them the situation, the frontdesk lady until introduced me the lost and found office manager and said they will check with housekeeping department and they will call me to the room. And nobody find my phone or didnt call me to talk to me about. And i still contact them asking about my phone, the answers still remain the same? STILL UNDER CCTV INVESTIGATION!

I'm 100 percent the housekeeping took my phone..
if you are going to stay in this hotel make sure to use your safe in the room .
5 star?

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skaf M, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear LadyInBlack B,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your recent experience at the hotel.

I am very disappointed to read your unpleasant experience you had with us. I am truly sorry that you had the impression we did not give you the most appropriate solution for your missing iPhone. Please be informed that I took your issue very seriously and I am currently working with my Director of Loss Prevention to find a more comprehensive answer to share with you. At this moment, we are still investigating however I will ensure we revert to you shortly on this matter.

We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us.
Thank you and I truly hope to welcome you again to make sure to deliver the true luxury experience.

Warmest Regards
Mahmoud Skaf
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

JW Marriott KL, has great location near the Pavilion Mall, the rooms are excellent, the breakfast has wide variety, check in and check out is fast and efficient. The drawbacks: The concierge recommended a tour company. We picked a tour to Malaka historical city about 2 hours’ drive from KL. The tour is booked through the hotel by the brochure of the company recommended by the concierge; unfortunately the tour has no guide which is essential for a historical tour. The housekeeping are not experienced, they did not clean up the room while we were out (for 4 hours). After giving the comment to the manager they tried to cover their problem by slipping a note under the door saying that we requested to not be disturbed dated two days back. The manager on duty was informed he recognized and investigated the problem. I booked the hotel because of Marriott reputation; I think they need to clean up their staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skaf M, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Helal1,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your valuable feedback.

I am truly sorry and disappointed to read about your concerns.
This is definitely not the service we promised to our valued guests.

Trust that your feedback will not be taken lightly as I will address it to the respective departmental leaders concerned on how our actions have significantly impacted your recent experience with us.

We hope you would give us another opportunity to serve you better.
Thank you.

Warmest Regards,
Mahmoud Skaf
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Address: 183 Jalan Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#6 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#7 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 514
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern L-shaped Tower Hotel situated in Star Hill complex, a mixed-use development including a six-level retail mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Kuala Lumpur
Marriott Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Hotel Kuala Lumpur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.