We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hate to complain....BUT!!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Geo Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Geo Hotel Kuala Lumpur to your Saves list
Geo Hotel Kuala Lumpur
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No 7 Jalan Hang Kasturi, Kuala Lumpur 50050 , Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 274 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
AUS
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Hate to complain....BUT!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Ok will keep this short & perhaps not so sweet.
This is an ok hotel if u are travelling solo or as a couple...but please dont travel here with a baby, luggage and a pram (my bad for choosing this hotel). Yes the walls are thin, the staff unfortunately dont speak much English and as I had a baby and pram not even a door was opened for me as I entered OR exited to hotel lobby, not once!! The breakfast is barely there and the rooms very cramped especially with a cot. The level of customer service was hot and cold...? The kitchen downstairs makes a great club sandwich and the room service I have to say was delicious :)
Upon leaving I was over charged for my room rate of 1.5 days...when i tried to explain this to the staff on duty, they found this a complicated issue to deal with...complicated how?? They just thought they were correct, no matter how much I tried to explain to them their error..ahhhh!!! Then they were quite relieved when a certain manager took over (thankfully) to address this issue. Someone needs to take control in the reception/check in area, who are NOT afraid to make decisions...
I would not stay here again as I have been to KL many, many times and there REALLY are better places to stay if you pay a little extra..but hey if yr going solo or as a couple and dont mind the small rooms and want to save $$$ then enjoy...!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    191
    70
    6
    7
See reviews for
55
140
45
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We drove up to KL for a 2D1N stay and decided to try this hotel because of the super cheap rate at $50 per night, inclusive of free parking! This hotel is well located in Chinatown area with easy access to food and transport. We took the free city bus to go to klcc and bukit bantang for shopping, bus stop is right outside the hotel, save us the hassle of driving in kl.

Room is small but clean. Free wifi in the room. Staff is friendly too. However if you are driving to the hotel first time, it will take some time to find the way, we took an hr as many of the roads are one direction in Chinatown.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Nice to stay close to the center of kuala lumpur, few steps from metro station and bus station and taxi is easy to be found in front of the hotel.
Very close to china town and old market.
The room was small but well designed and well decorated as a 3 star hotel,room was clean.
The staff was friendly.
Wifi is fast and very good but they are changing the password periodically.

Highly recommended for business trips and budget holidays.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Positives:
1.) Biggest advantage location Next to Chinatown, Maharimma temple and shopping destinations
2.) Easy mobility - LRT, KTM, Free Go KL bus, Rapid bus are all right out side the hotel or within walking distance. Hop on hop off bus stops right in front of the hotel
3.) Clean and safe rooms, agreeable housekeeping and reception staff. Smooth Check in and out
4.) I am a vegetarian and found many eating options and Indian restaurants around the vicinity.
5.) Price of room is very reasonable. A lot of KL hotels do not even provide free water, WiFi and charge really high for the room. This hotel was perfect for a budget traveller like me.
6.) The speed of the free wifi was good.

Negatives:
1.) The place around the hotel is not safe at night to roam alone and has a bit shady appearance at night.
2.) The bathroom was very compact and difficult to move around.
3.) Walls are not thick. Could hear people at the corridor and the drainage line at times.
4.) The TV has only about 3 English channels.
5.) The breakfast buffet had always Chinese dishes and very few continental. The dishes were repeated all 4 days i stayed there!
6.) I wish they had included a mini fridge in the room.

I loved my room and the cheerful staff. I would definitely return to this hotel next time at KL.

Room Tip: Request for higher floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

i have stayed in Kl on many occasions and though i have stayed in some hotels a few times i never really found one that i was thrilled with.
Having tried the Geo, i will definitely keep cpming back. This hotel was a little dearer for us but oh so worth it.location, location, location.I looked out of our room window straight down at central market, up the street to the side a 2 minutes walk is china town a few minutes the other way is the railway station and just across the other wy is the post office.
Add to that a lovely hotel, with a bell hop to bring your luggage up, an elevator and a lovely room with tv and dvd player (though no fridge) a kettle, water, and coffee and tea.the staff were helpful and all was great, there is a driveway up to the door for easy loading and unloading of baggage.The matrass and pillows were the best we had in a 3 week trip.highly recommended .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I usually stay in Bukit Bintang, a friend suggested I try this central location instead, and I am very happy that I did. Nice sized rooms, very clean and comfortable. Bathrooms small but clean and adequate. Free internet works well. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is close to Chinatown and the free bus stops right outside. The room was clean and comfortable. We had breakfast in the restaurant in the foyer. The food was good and the price was reasonable. We would stay there again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Geo Hotel Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geo Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Address: No 7 Jalan Hang Kasturi, Kuala Lumpur 50050 , Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 274 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Geo Hotel Kuala Lumpur 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The opening of GEO HOTEL in the heart of central Kuala Lumpur marks the perfect address for the budget conscious travellers whether it is for business trip or for leisure. The strategic location of the hotel makes it to be one of the most seek-after modern hotel for travellers - whether you are driving personal transport, by taxi, using Light Rail Monorail, Train, bus or by foot - to experience the bustling and exciting China Town, the craft and art center in Central Market, Kuala Lumpur Old Railway Station, Petronas Twin Tower, KL Tower, Bukit Bintang, Bird Park, Puduraya Station , Jalan Alor , Merdeka Square or the tranquility of National Mosque and the Sri Mahamariamman Temple, Kuala Lumpur.Geo Hotel is less than 5 minutes’ walk to China Town, Central Market, Kasturi Walk, Pasar Seni LRT Station, Hop On Hop Off bus and the free shuttle GoKL bus station which will bring you to the haven for shoppers. Although it is very close to the main attraction places, the Hotel situated outskirt of the points so that our valuable guest can have a good night sleep in our comfortable bedding, facilities and warm hospitalies.The Hotel provides free parking spaces situated at the basement, free Wi Fi internet access at the lobby and every room, free usage of computer station with internet access to our guest, 24-hour reception service and security personnel, luggage storing service and various out-of-courtesy services such as printing airline tickets etc. The secured key-card system for the lift, the room doors with an electronic service-request in every room for your convenient will indirectly enhance your experience during your stay with us.Pasar Seni LRT station which is situated 50 meters from Geo Hotel entrance is one of the main stop for the major hub such as International Airport, Domestic Airport,the city attractions such as KLCC, Twin Tower etc. If you are coming from :1. KLIA, you can use the KLIA Express/transit to KL Sentral interchange LRT (Putra Line/Kelana Line)to Pasar Seni LRT station;2. LCCT - Low Cost Carrier Terminal (LCCT) Ekspres/Transit ) to KL Sentral interchange LRT (Putra Line / Kelana Line) to Pasar Seni LRT station;3. Express coach from Kuala Lumpur International Airport (KLIA) Main Terminal to KL Sentral station interchange LRT (Putra Line / Kelana Line) to Pasar Seni LRT station;4. SkyBus coach from Low Cost Carrier Terminal (LCCT) to KL Sentral station interchange LRT (Putra Line / Kelana Line) to Pasar Seni LRT station.For travellers wish to go to the LCCT or International Airport (KLIA), you can choose a few alternatives to reach your destination. The hotel staff can arrange an airport transfer, you take a taxi, ride a bus or you can hop on the KLIA Express from KL Sentral direct to the International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Geo Hotel Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Geo Hotel Kuala Lumpur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.