We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“valuable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel MinCott

Save Saved
You added Hotel MinCott to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel MinCott
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   B-G-1, Kuchai Exchange, No 43, Jalan Kuchai Maju 13, Kuala Lumpur 58200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #101 of 261 hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“valuable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

the location is in business area, so car park provided. surprisingly there provide a massage chair (with fee) for relaxing~ very useful , can find some restaurants and pub nearby in walking distance! i like the counter service friendly and wi-fi service fast!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    10
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
5
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Hotel MinCott was the best option for my friend and I as we wanted to be near the Bukit Jalil National Stadium. Checking in was smooth, and the receptionist was very friendly. Early check-in is chargeable at an hourly rate, but since we were early by an hour and a half, she was very nice and charged us for only an hour.

A refundable cash deposit was required, and we complied even though we were slightly concerned about it - we weren't sure how safe this was and whether we would even get it back. The room was very clean and tidy, and was impressive considering that it was a budget hotel. Standard could be comparable to a regular hotel except for the lack of a minibar. We had gotten the most basic - Superior Room with twin beds and those were comfortable enough. The toilet was surprisingly big, and it had a steady supply of hot water as well as basic toiletries.

Nearby was a "mama store" where we had our meals but prices were quite high compared to other places I've eaten in KL.

Overall a pleasant stay, and we definitely got a good value for the price we paid (discounted through Agoda.com). Will stay again if we ever head back to KL for any event in that area.

Room Tip: Opt for a room with a window if you plan on smoking in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Sadly, I became very ill with Malaria while staying in this hotel. The fever came quickly and escalated in half an hour. I had to be rushed to a hospital in an ambulance. My partner from there there called MinCott to inform them of the situation- and they, showing absolutely no empathy- regretted to inform her they had called the police prior to the ambulance arrived, and the Malaysian police had shown up ARMED in the lobby the hotel because of an potentially harmful guest! (I had 100 F in fever and was talking to Gandalf, anyone who´s ever experienced the horrors of Malaria would know what I´m talking about, but come on, I was not dangerous). To make matters worse, as my partner returned the following day she discovered our (locked) hotel-room robbed of all our valuables. Watches, my brand new Macbook, wallet with money - my grandfather´s golden watch... the whole lot.

What can you say. NO, REALLY. WHAT CAN YOU SAY.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMincott_Kuchai, General Manager at Hotel MinCott, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
To TripAdvisor :

This is a Very Serious Malicious Allegation to our Hotel, we have Never Received any report of Stolen cases from the staying guest and also the Scene which she described.

We need the Reviewer to provide her detail particular (Name, Contact Number/Skype Number, email,Check In/Check Out Date) more Evidences (Her Local Police Report,Name of the hotel staff she talked to) , so we can proceed for further Investigation.
So right now, to be fare to hotel which have business listing in TripAdvisor, please kindly remove this review from your website until the truth has been discovered.

We feel very Disappointed that TripAdvisor can just simply published this kind of accusation without getting prove from your partner hotel.

Thanks & Regards

Stanley Foo
+6012-2068733
stfoo@hotelmincott.com.my
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Book on booking.com for discounted rate. We took a deluxe double, meaning we had a window. Rather small room, but very clean, not that cheap but the location suited us and was reassuring to know we were booked into a decent hotel, with twin beds and a window. Nice bathroom, with towels and toiketries, newspaper left outside the door in the morning, also wake up call and taxi service. Perfect for one night.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Friends and I shared a triple room, it was very nice, if a bit expensive for what we got. Service was excellent, very helpful when it came to booking tours or any other information we might need, and they let us print boarding passes for our flights with no problems. A bit hard to find-we drove around in a taxi for about 20mins before we found it-make sure you've got a good map! Beds were comfy and the amenities were nice. There's also a cafe right around the corner that does a killer lemon slushie which is great for a hot night at 11pm!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

100% marks for its location if you have a car with you, a strategic location and easily access to few township nearby (PJ, Midvalley City, KL City, Scott Garden)
It looks quite new and the room is clean, with daily room service provided. lowest rate at RM101 (Booking.com) and its definitely a good place for you to rest comfortably. Good place, no complain.

Room Tip: Booking via Agoda/Booking.com and you can get cheaper room rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Stayed with my wife for 2 nights for a trip to KL. The hotel itself is good. It provides free basement car park for guests, the lobby design is modern/simple type and the staff are quite friendly.

Generally, the room is alright for its price. We booked a deluxe room, it is specious, have a big window and provides sufficient lighting. WiFi speed is fast. However, there are some scratch marks on the wall (not really a problem if you don't mind). The toilet/bathroom is on the small side but facilities like water, ventilation and hot water supply are working fine during our stay.

The bed and pillow is comfortable, but I found some very small blood stain on my pillow cover.

Location wise, it is not right inside KL City Center or the heart of KL, so expect a bit of driving from the hotel to KLCC. Driving time depends on traffic condition. During our stay, we experienced an 1 hour drive to KLCC area due to Friday evening jam. However, on a Saturday morning when traffic is clear, it's just 10 minutes drive to KLCC on the same route.

There is a Indian Muslim restaurant right at the back of the hotel (same building), which provides quite a nice food.

Pros: Free basement parking, deluxe room is specious, comfortable bed, fast WiFi, reasonable price, complimentary newspaper provided if you're staying 2 nights or longer.

Cons: Toilet/bathroom is quite small. The highway to KLCC will jam severely during peak hours. Location is a bit hard to find but not a problem once you recognize the entry.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel MinCott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel MinCott

Address: B-G-1, Kuchai Exchange, No 43, Jalan Kuchai Maju 13, Kuala Lumpur 58200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 261 hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel MinCott 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO THE HOTEL MINCOTT – the best place to stay when away from home A business hotel in Kuchai Exchange, Kuala Lumpur is setting in with the appreciation of personalized comfort, exquisite services and contemporary surroundings. Whether you are a traveller of business or leisure, Hotel MinCott is more than a place to stay, it is “your place” to stay away from home. Come For The Convenience, Stay For Choice – Hotel MinCott is made for those who choose it. Hotel MinCott gives the convenience and benefits from our ideal location, a flourishing new center of business and culture. We are an experience ourselves – we have the comfort and urban simplicity that you can enjoy during your stay in the city. Places of Interests & Transportation•Less than 15 minutes to Sunway Pyramid Shopping Complex via the New Pantai Expressway (NPE)•Less than 10 minutes to Mid Vallley City and its surroundings including the famous Thean Hou Temple•6 km to The Technology Park Of Malaysia (TPM) including Malaysia's first satellite TV provider – the All Asia Satellite And Radio Organization (ASTRO)•Less than 15 minutes to Sri Kembangan and its surrounding areas including The Mines Shopping Centre and The Mines Theme Park•Less than 10 minutes to Terminal Bersepadu Selatan, the state-of-the-art public transport terminal at Bandar Tasik Selatan•An hour drive to Kuala Lumpur International Airport (KLIA) and the LCCT•Less than 30 minutes via NPE & KESAS highways to the new night attraction – I-City•An hour drive to Kajang town and its surrounding areas to savour the famous Kajang satay i.e. Haji Samuri Satay•Less than 10 minutes drive to the Bukit Jalil National Stadium & Sports Centre ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel MinCott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel MinCott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.