We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really cheap, not really good” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Eclipse Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Eclipse Guesthouse to your Saves list
Eclipse Guesthouse
No. 55, Jalan Sultan, Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
La Coruna, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not really cheap, not really good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

I paid 28ringgit for a Dorm bed, and... So dirt! And it,s no really cheap. There's another backpacker's guesthouse a few meters before in the same street, called Seven Nite Inn, so much better. Only 25ringgit, better bed, so much clean and confortable, and breakfast included!!! Awesome!

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    21
    10
    11
    9
See reviews for
1
11
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Staff was Smiley and friendly even upon being awoken in the middle if the night by me. But rooms are small & dark. Bathrooms always out Of TP, and the only PC there was not working. That being said it is pretty cheap & the bed was comfy!

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Egypt, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

I'm actually more valuable this great effort that you are doing for our comfort
This is a great effort that you have done, we enjoyed spending time with you really fun and nice and comfy with you
Thank you very much indeed for this hospitality
Certainly I will visit you again and will also tell my friends about this wonderful place
I thank you with all my heart
My thanks also to Professor Rafiq
Also all workers in this place
I would like to also thank the lady who takes care of the flowers and preview-fed and the place in the morning and arrange a library I would like to thank her warmly actually
I would like to thank the owner of this wonderful place and I thank him for the good selection of employees
With my best wishes and good luck abdallah essam hassan

Room Tip: Single room bed s2
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

It is in excellent location. It is in the heart of China Town and also very near to international Bus terminal. From here u get bus for Singapore, Thailand and to different destinations. Staffs are very friendly, nice place to stay for a week or so.

Room Tip: i like this guest house with very friendly staff, cleanliness. Location excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

I ended up staying here for a night because all other hostels were booked. For the price it is the worst hostel I stayed at so far backpacking in Asia. The rooms were dark and musty, the lockers didn't work, bathrooms were dirty and the staff were of no help. The only thing good is the location being closed to Chinatown.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK- South East
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We only ended up here because the place we were staying was fully booked!

For near on £7 per person per night it is an absolute rip off! The rooms are so small, 3 of us shared what was supposedly a triple room, we couldn't even place our rucksacks down on the floor! The mattresses were so thin and lumpy and the pillow wasn't much better. Air conditioning just continued to freeze the room, no remote to correct this so that or bake if we turned it off. I don't even know where to begin on the bathrooms, I didn't want to go in them. Didn't eat breakfast as the kitchen looked pretty filthy.
Also there are, I believe the owners children, staying in one of the rooms who run up and down the corridor all day and night which makes loads of noise!
Wifi slow, service average at best.
You can do far better in the area and for cheaper!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed a few nights here and and we haven't seen any of the pros related in the other reviews. No good service: The guy at the front desk was not helpful at all, not able to answer any simple question. Speaking on the phone in the back, saying "dunno" by a headsign... The rooms are teeny tiny with carpet and a weird smell. AC doesn't work. The kitchen and bathrooms are very dirty, I won't even have a coffee here. Yes there is a "kitchen" but we can't use the fridge (it's locked) so what's the point? Oh and no more bread for breakfast. I know it's cheap but you can find cheap and nice elsewhere!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eclipse Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eclipse Guesthouse

Address: No. 55, Jalan Sultan, Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 165 Specialty Lodging in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Eclipse Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eclipse Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.