We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect backpacker spot!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bird Nest Guest House I

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bird Nest Guest House I to your Saves list
Bird Nest Guest House I
135, 1ST Floor, Jalan Petaling, Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 274 Kuala Lumpur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuenca, Ecuador
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Perfect backpacker spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Birdnest Guesthouse is a great place for backpackers. My wife and I stayed here for four days in a private room with a bunk bed. At 35RM/night for the room, it's the cheapest place we've seen in KL. If you're looking for luxury, look elsewhere, as Birdnest is definitely a no-frills, strictly basics backpacker spot. But there's free wi-fi, friendly and helpful staff, free coffee and tea, and like the best backpacker spots, the place really creates a great, laid-back atmosphere for meeting and socializing with other travelers.

Many of the rooms only have windows that open to the inside corridor, so if you don't set an alarm, it's easy to sleep until noon! The location is excellent, a stone's throw from the major metro lines in KL. The only downsides for us were that the only two toilets/showers sometimes weren't enough when many people were waiting, and also the staff seemed to be absent a lot of the time, though when they were there they were extremely pleasant and helpful. All in all, the goods far outweighed the bads for us, and if we return to KL (and we hope to), we'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    21
    10
    7
    9
See reviews for
3
43
30
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We have stayed at Birdsnest a number of times during various ventures through KL.
It ticks all the boxes for us.
It is clean and cheap. In a very good Chinatown location. It is basic yet still provides all the necessary amenities (towels, laundry, kitchen, hot drinks, hot showers, social area and a cat). Best of all is the advice and helpfulness provided by the staff, in particular by Willie.
We planned some onward destinations through the advice of Willie, it seems that he has great knowledge and a host of contacts across Malaysia.
For us one of the most important things about the accommodation you choose to stay in is the service provided by the staff to ensure you make the most of the place you're visiting. Birdsnest has got this service perfect.
For people looking for a more upmarket stay, there are a few things that may bother you. The hostel has a friendly yet smelly cat. The smell seems to only be hovering around the entrance, hold your breath and dash through! A few things around the place are a bit worn and in a state of repair (toilet flushing handles, some of the fans) but it is important to realise that this is a cheap and basic guesthouse.
For us the service provided outweighs any little niggles or annoyances that may bother a more picky type of guest.
Thank you Birdsnest!

Room Tip: Aircon rooms are good value if travelling as a couple, they are at RM50, can go as cheap as RM15 in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

it was the second stay at the birdnest for me and I still love it. I was coming from Australia where I paid 70 $ for a poor double room in a loud hostel with WiFi what wasn't working. the birdnest is exactly the opposite. It is very nice and cheap and has such a nice atmosphere, good to relax and have a chat to other travellers. The location is great and whatever you need is nearby (food, shops, transport, nightlife). And there is the friendly and helpful owner Willi & staff. Definitely a good value for the money and not that overpriced like other hostels. I definitely will come back!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

If you like a convivial environment with a nice living room, outside area and sharing with people or just relax, it`s definitely the place to stay.
And if you are traveling on budget it s not a problem because it s also very cheap, 15RM for a dormitory, free tea, coffee, fridge, wifi...and smile!!! Without to forget the owner(Wili) and his staff very nice, helpful, friendly and carefully people!
Any question about the city...just ask and you will always have best answer about visits, transport, prices...
If you are curious, let`s have a look, come and check by yourself ;)
I really love this place and people and any time I would be in KL I will be here for sure!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here for a week in March, decent room, had a fan, towel, exactly what I needed. Is extremely affordable, the owner will always greet you by name and ask how you are, is fantastic for information on the area and all the staff are helpful and friendly. They have a hillarious cat, and two iguana's(they're in a cage).

It's located 5 minutes from the train station(which is extremely cheap to catch around) and 30seconds away from Chinatown. All in all a great hostel, definatly heading back here when I'm back in KL.

Room Tip: Pretty sure the doublebedroom has an aircon instead of a fan, but is slightly more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gausdal
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We had a very good time at birdnest guesthouse. So good that we came back our second visit in Kuala Lumpur. Willie is a great guy who gave us tip about where to travel in Malaysia.
After traveling for a long time it was nice to be able to make your own breakfast in the kitchen. Jackie the cat was also a big plus. Perfect location in Chinatown.
It is also very clean and has good showers. Thanks Willie. We will see you again next time we go to KL.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I stayed in different geusthouses in KL before I found the bird nest and i'm not lying if I say it is the best geusthouse in KL. A perfect location, close to the busstation and several different skyline station. It's in the middle of Chinatown but not right in the middle of the markets so there is no hassle when you want to go out the door, it's nice and quit :)
I stayed here many times and it became my home on my travels. The rooms are clean and all with fan and 2 with arcon. The Dorm is perfect with 4 beds and a window that looks over the street. They have a fridge and a small kitchen where you can cook anything you like. The staff is really friendly and Willi always finds time to answer you're quistions about anything you want to know. What this geusthouse makes it so special for me is the atmosphere. They have 2 common area's, one inside and one outside. both are nice decorated. Inside it looks like a real livingroom, with things on the wall and a bookcase where you can exchange books. Outside it is like a garden with a nice sitting area and a lot of green plants! Its cosy and really nice to just hang out after a day exploring the city or to exchange you're travel stories with the other travellers. There are always nice travellers to talk to!
Ow, I almost forgot the hot shower, free wifi and use of computer and the free coffee&thee!
I can talk a long time over the nice and special moments I had in this geusthouse but i will keep it short;

Stay at the bird nest I'm sure you will love it!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bird Nest Guest House I? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bird Nest Guest House I

Address: 135, 1ST Floor, Jalan Petaling, Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 274 B&Bs / Inns in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Birdnest Guesthouse is a budget backpackers in the heart of Chinatown, Kuala Lumpur. We have dormitories, single, double and triple rooms, with or without AC, a communal chill-out and kitchen area, book exchange and free WIFI ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Bird Nest Guest House I reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bird Nest Guest House I, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.