We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bird Nest Guest House I

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bird Nest Guest House I to your Saves list
Bird Nest Guest House I
135, 1ST Floor, Jalan Petaling, Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 267 Kuala Lumpur B&B and Inns
Gaimersheim, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Loved this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I stayed here for a few days and just loved this quiet and peaceful place in the middle of KL. Willi, his staff and the lovely cat make you feel like home all the time. Would love to go back one day. :)
Thanks for all Willi! :))

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    20
    9
    7
    9
See reviews for
3
43
30
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Venray, Limburg, Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed here 3 times during our worldtrip and 2 years later we came back again. It's a peaceful place with an amazing nice owner, Willy. He makes you feel like home. If we come an other time again, we definately go here again. So if you read this, go there!!!
Gijs and Sietske, The Netherlands

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We have stayed in guesthouses and hotels from cheap to expensive in Chinatown in Kuala Lumpur, and Birdnest Guesthouse is our favorite by far. The atmosphere is chill and hip, the staff are super friendly, and the culture of the guests we met was open and kind. They have cool cats and iguanas, and the art all over the guesthouse creates a very chill vibe. Our favorite things though are the workable kitchen complete with a fridge, kitchenware, and a stove (which is so nice to have after months on the road), as well as the very, very cheap prices. Cheapest prices we could find anywhere, but with better service even than the $100/night hotel down the street (Swiss Inn Hotel). Just ignore the friendly cat aroma when you walk in the door. It dissipates by the time you get to the top of the stairs!

Room Tip: The AC rooms are of course cooler, but if you go for the fan room, remember to leave the ventilator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed for over a week and loved it. The new guest house is great too.
Rooms are comfortable and cheap, we made some good friends during our stay.
Come here you will meet many people and feel right at home.
Willie and his staff were very friendly and made us feel very welcome, they are accommodating and will help you out any way they can.
Great food around the area, and close to public transport monorail, train and bus services to get elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Absolutely loved this place! I felt like I was with family, mainly a place for travellers I'd say but everyone is always made to feel welcome. The main markets of Chinatown are just around the corner and it has great connections with it being so close monorail stations! They are very helpful with sightseeing and even offer free internet as long as your not spending hours on there! Would love to go back and see Willy (The main man there) and the gang soon. Thanks for making my trip one to remember!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

After six months of backpacking sound s.e asia I have a lot of guest houses and hostels to compare but I have to say birdnest is the best I havestayed in.
The manager Willi is one of the must genuinely nice guys I've met, he really goes out of his way to help every single guest that passes through.
The guest house has a lovely garden area which is a great place to meet people and chill out. There is also a communal kitchen area do you can make your own food which is great!
The staff are lovely and with a check out time of 2pm you can really relax here.
Three location is perfect, three minute walk from tube station and right at the top of the road of the fabulous Chinese market.

I have stayed here twice already and look forward to returning many more times in the future.

thanks for everything Willi & staff :)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

we spent 3 nights in this guesthouse which has a real backpacking vibe with a few chill out areas and a very friendly and helpful staff. The place is ideally located in chinatown where you can eat for a few ringgit or wandering around the market. What else? lets see... free wifi, cheap beer, long story short, we definitely found our spot in the capital!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bird Nest Guest House I? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bird Nest Guest House I

Address: 135, 1ST Floor, Jalan Petaling, Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 267 B&Bs / Inns in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Birdnest Guesthouse is a budget backpackers in the heart of Chinatown, Kuala Lumpur. We have dormitories, single, double and triple rooms, with or without AC, a communal chill-out and kitchen area, book exchange and free WIFI ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Bird Nest Guest House I reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bird Nest Guest House I, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.