We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a let down, what a disappointment” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hokkaido Ichiba

Hokkaido Ichiba
Gardens | Mid Valley, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Improve this listing
Ranked #738 of 2,515 Restaurants in Kuala Lumpur
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Such a let down, what a disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We'd been here before a few years ago and thought it was ok, but today's meal was just insulting. The best things were the iced water and the view (of a busy construction site and the trains).
Seriously, the miso cod was overcooked and so full of bones it was virtually inedible, the teriyaki chicken had no taste, and the miso ramen we ordered was just boring. We were so disappointed. Our son, who normally wolfs everything down if it's in a Japanese restaurant stopped after the edamame and refused to eat anything else.
The staff were disinterested, brought the ramen soup without any soup bowls, brought cold tea instead of water, and seems totally reluctant to be there.
We wished we'd gone to our usual Japanese restaurant in Mont Kiara, it would have been worth the drive (even on a Saturday lunchtime).

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    16
    5
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Restaurants served by a bunch of children”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

What happened to all the adult waiters/waitresses ? We waited for a good 15 minutes before a waiter come up to take my order, even though I have been waiving for one with the menu !
Food was slow and then they missed out my father's meal - the one who supposed to eat first because he was already hungry.

Overall the food was so so. But they should get better trained waiters/waitresses. They looked afraid to come and take orders.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Top quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

The service was excellent/attentive and way better than many places in Malaysia. (I'm a 'many-time' visitor, born in Malaysia, now overseas, and have noticed the continual decline of customer service in this country. Sad when the govt tries so hard with its Visit Malaysia campaign.)
The food was top notch - good quality rice, fish, wasabe, nori, etc. it was possible to taste the freshness and authenticity of the ingredients.
It is surprising how huge the menu is. So many choices made it a long process of ordering.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best Japanese food so far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Very nice atmosphere (if you avoid late night hours). Huge varieties of meals, it is hard to choose from several menu books you will get. Raw fish is very tasty and fresh.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miri, Sarawak, Malaysia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Worth the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Located in Mid Valley shopping mall.
Good freshness of the food, the taste is authentic. Spacious place and in fact a great place for gatherings or dining alone alike.
Generally good service but I did notice the chef assistant horse play with his colleague while cooking.
Overalll it's a great experience and I think this is my 4th visit to-date.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hokkaido Ichiba also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Hokkaido Ichiba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hokkaido Ichiba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.