We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent for backpackers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Serenity Hostels

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Serenity Hostels to your Saves list
Serenity Hostels
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   20 Jalan Changkat | Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia (Formerly Serenity Bed & Breakfast)   |  
Hotel amenities
Mashhad, Iran
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“excellent for backpackers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I booked this hostel for one night and decided to check it at first but i stayed there for 3 night more(31 oct-4nov 2013) because location was good, staff were friendly,facilities were suitable,Cleanliness excellent and one of more important factor for backpackers is safety. safety in serenity hostel is high, you can have safety box for 1 RM/night. you can smoke at rooftop and i suggest you to use the showers at rooftop for more water presser.Good location, it is very close to the street withdraw all kinds of Asian foods,train station bus stop on walking distance, near to all tourist places, like china town, Klcc, KL tower, and all shopping centers also very near. Cheap rate, value for money.

Room Tip: rooms on the back side and higher floor are more suitable because less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    20
    19
    6
    5
See reviews for
2
2
34
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

I have stayed in serenity for more than 15 nights over 2 month period. Not only is it dirt cheap 20 ringgit (w/o) breakfast , it is right ON the most happening street in kuala lumpur with the best bars , eating joints . Also extremely safe for a girl traveling alone. The staff particularly mr. Anwar take care of you like their own family. Almost a second home for me. Highly recommended.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I traveled from Singapore to Malaysia! I stayed in Serenity Hostel in Changkat Bukit Bintang. It is very easy to look for the place. It is really a good place for people who love pubs. I love the place. Very clean and comfortable. And from here, it is easy to go to Petronas Tower which is actually walking distance from the hostel. Of course, for a budget traveler like me, this is very affordable. I was really satisfied with the place and their wifi is very fast. Thank you so much to the accommodating receptionists! I will definitely stay here again when I go back to KL!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I just love this hostel. I only stayed there for a night of short stay and head to somewhere on the next day. On my return home day, I needed a place to keep my backpack for few hours and take a shower before going to airport. So I went to this hostel and asked if I can pay for the shower and keeping my backpack. The owner was so friendly and helpful to allow me to do it for free. The location was also great and I never feel unsafe, even the first time I arrived there at 3-4am being as a solo female traveler. I'd definitely stay at this hostel whenever I need a shelter in KL.

Room Tip: The female dorm room on 3/F was quite noisy coz it is just up on the street which is full of bars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is a cheap hostel so don't expect anything like that of a hotel.

Its near the monorail station (Bukit Bintang) which makes it very accessible to everything -- the only thing that mattered to us during our stay there.

Its in the area where bars are located so expect a noisy environment but the noise wont reach inside the room so its fine...else, get earplugs.

Shoes are not allowed (hostels usually have that policy so no shock there) inside. You dont get a keycard or room key because you can not lock it from inside. Yes, the blanket is miniature...wont cover your body properly.

The laptop for public use has missing keys- goodluck with that. Weak WIFI connection.

If you want a locker for your documents and valuables, you have to pay MYR1/day. Towels costs MYR3. If you want a bathroom with lock, use the one on the "1st floor" as the bathrooms on the rooftop dont have locks.

I don't think the staff and the owner are rude. Was able to talk to one of the staff and she's quite okay. Maybe they just experienced way too many problem guests that made them more distant to new guests. But they have to find a way to be more friendly and warm though :)

As I've said, you get what you paid for. Its okay for me and my friend cos we just needed a place to sleep but if you are quite meticulous, I think you can look for other options as there are many cheap hostels around Bukit Bintang.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Java, Indonesia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Located above the bar, at busy bukit bintang area, .Music will keep going on until around 4 am past midnight. If you are a light sleeper, you can't sleep for sure..
The hostel in good shape, clean, the staff helpfull. i stayed at dorm for 10, . they only have male and female dorm, no mixed dorm, which is good. They provide towel and blanket. But for me the blanket is too thin.
Communal area nice to sit and talk with other guest.
Good location, near bukit bintang monorail station, easy to get around. easy to find food, the famous food street jalan alor nearby
Cheap rate, value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The rooms were damp and mouldy, you're not allowed to wear shoes even though the place was dirty. There's only one toilet for the place. You don't get a room key and there's no lockers so there's no security. The workers sleep in the dorms with you and the workers are hostile and rude. You only get one tiny itchy blanket that doesn't cover you properly, and if you take another you're charged for it without any warning.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Serenity Hostels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serenity Hostels

Address: 20 Jalan Changkat | Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia (Formerly Serenity Bed & Breakfast)
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 159 Specialty Lodging in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Serenity Hostels 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay with us at Serenity, the new bed and breakfast for backpackers in the heart of Kuala Lumpur. Serenity is simplicity done right: we are clean, cozy and central. Serenity is situated in Changkat bukit bintang, off the trendy Bukit Bintang tourist belt, where nightlife life is cool and long. Wedged between classy restaurants and hearty bars, Serenity allows travelers to unwind and rest after a day in the city. We offer just what you need at a great price. Enjoy the free breakfast and wi-fi. Take your time to relax. The party is just a stroll away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Serenity Hostels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Serenity Hostels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.