We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PLOY was a great choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of PLOY

PLOY
G-02, Ground Floor, Work Clearwater | Changkat Semantan, Damansara Heights, Kuala Lumpur 50490, Malaysia
+60 3-2095 0999
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 2,319 restaurants in Kuala Lumpur
Price range: $7 - $100
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Description: Ploy is all about Modern Asian Cuisine. It also means 'gem' in Thai. Inspired by the true gems of Japanese and Thai cuisine, we love the interplay of sweet, sour, salty, spicy and umami flavours, we believe in meticulous preparation and are dedicated to using only the freshest ingredients. By applying these basic tenets to our favorite foods – we think you'll find dining at Ploy dazzling.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“PLOY was a great choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I had booked PLOY a few months ago when it was ranked #1 on Trip Advisor. I had never heard of it and it was in an unusual location. I took the gamble and it paid off. It was a great fusion of food culture, we ordered way too much however enjoyed it all.

They even had an iPad with pics to help with ordering the meals. A great place to dine in KL.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ploywithyourfood, Manager at PLOY, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thanks for the shout-out, It's always good to hear that you guys really enjoy at PLOY :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    66
    29
    13
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dine at Ploy, Had a Joy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Came here with my friends over weekdays for casual catch ups. The food pics introduced through ipad were vivid, easy to eat as in it keep your hand clean, cocktail wise was so so. The dining atmosphere was fine, but i wish the waiters/waitresses could be more attentive! Appreciate their modern Japanese cuisine.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't ploy ploy~ it's delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Had a wonderful, brand new dining experience, love the creativeness of the food by bringing Japanese, Thai & Italian food. Great experience, great taste!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cozy ambience,great service & marvellous food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Excellent appetizer of glazy & crunchy fried squid,can't stop digging in the bowl! Beautiful presentation of the black rice with shrimp(serve with one raw egg on top),such a unique yet tasty experience.You won't regret for this dish. Their specialty of pizza - spicy salmon pizza,sauce was creamy and the based was a thin layer of crunchy biscuit, ( sort like taco / thicker type of nachos) serve with salmon on top,heavenly! And the plus point,chocholate lava cake serve with vanilla ice cream~eat it with the ice cream and savour your taste buds! Lots of dishes to try and it's definately worth of every penny!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Ploy with your food at Ploy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Ploy was absolutely amazing. On holiday in KL with my sister we needed a break away from the crowds and shopping. Ploy was the anwer! Interesting decor, a fantastic atmosphere and super friendly staff makes for a perfect dining experience. We enjoyed the ipad menus with great pictures of the food and even videos of how its made. Portions are for sharing ensuring that everybody at the table can get a taste of the best meals. We van recommend the duck confit, crab cakes and plum drinks. A definite must do!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PLOY also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to PLOY? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PLOY, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.