We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its ok but too expensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pinchos Tapas Bar

Pinchos Tapas Bar
18 Jalan Chankat Bukit Bintang, KL, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
03-21458482
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 2,479 Restaurants in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: We serve authentic spanish tapas and pinchos
Tokyo, Japan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Its ok but too expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I found this restaurant a tad expensive for the food and wines they serve. The equivalent in Barcelona would cost 40% less. Not very elaborate. In the end it kind of boils down to being more of a watering hole than a true restaurant. I did eyeball some great take-away "food" though.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    78
    21
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Fantastic Tapas Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I have been to Pinchos many times and finally found the time to review it. It has been consistent every visit and the food is yummy and the closest to Spain that I can find here in Kuala Lumpur. The interior created a very good atmosphere and service was up to par. Unfortunately the location is getting more and more dodgy. It is situated in Changkat Bukit bintang, Kuala Lumpur red light district.

I just wished they will move to a proper location. Hope to be back soon but unlikely.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Rusty water...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Buyer beware. The place looks good, and the food does too, and it is actually very tasty. However, like myself and two other colleagues you may end up paying for more than you bargain for. Lets just say that that I was so thankful for the pack of Imodium that I was carrying around. We may have been unlucky however this is one place I will never return or recommend to anyone eating in KL.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Another pick up joint”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I visit KL frequently and have been to Changkat Bukit Bintang many times. This place used to be one of my favourite joints on the street but it's getting really tired and feels more and more like a sleazy pick-up joint like the rest of the bars on the street. Food wise, i feel it's rather over rated but that's just my opinion.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great location and good food for a fair price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Popped into here for a bit of tapas on our first night out in Kuala Lumpur, it was by no means the best tapas I have ever had but was decent fare for a reasonable price and the atmosphere and girls serving were friendly and welcoming. I don't think it's the best restaurant in KL but it's in a great location for a few drinks in nearby bars after dinner... or before!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pinchos Tapas Bar also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Pinchos Tapas Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pinchos Tapas Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.