We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located and good value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orange Pekoe Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Orange Pekoe Guesthouse to your Saves list
Orange Pekoe Guesthouse
No. 1-1, Jalan Angsoka | Off Jalan Nagasari, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia (Formerly The Nest)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 267 Kuala Lumpur B&B and Inns
Ecuador
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Well located and good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This place is very central and conveniently located as well as clean. The room was comfortable and the wifi worked really well. The staff were friendly and helpful. There were several decent restaurants close by.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyrenite, Owner at Orange Pekoe Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Mat1lda, thank you for your review. Great that we have even guests from Ecuador. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. All the best, your OP Team :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    230
    45
    9
    5
See reviews for
74
226
77
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clare, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Booked here from Australia based on TA reviews. Arrived 11:30pm - check-in was smooth but service was short. Our room (#35 on 3rd floor), a superior double with internal ensuite, was quiet - equipped with QS bed, desk, chair, bedside tables, luggage rack/table & plenty of hanging racks (appreciated). Ensuite is miniscule - we nicknamed it the swamp! Room is a/c - mandatory with 90% humidity & temps of 30+C! Wifi available. Would've appreciated a box of tissues in the room. Light b/f supplied in the communal kitchen (called 'The Pantry') - cereal, bread for toasting, jams, bananas & local tidbits (we experienced Nyonya cakes, fresh fruit, roti chanai & dhal curry). Tea, coffee available all the time & drinks can be purchased (water, beer, soft drinks) at a reasonable cost. The street appears dodgy but the location of this Guesthouse is fantastic - close to Jalan Alor for local food, to Changkat Bukit Bintang for bars/nightlife/dining, to Jalan Bukit Bintang for the plethora of shopping. Many money changers in the area. Only a 5-10 minute walk to the Raja Chulan monorail station. I recommend using the MRT or LRT in central KL as the roads appear to be continually gridlocked & bus travel would be slow.
Huge variation in the demeanour of reception staff - the pick would have to be Mac (afternoon shift) who is most helpful with information (I overheard his spiel & I was impressed!). I paid MYR160/nt, which I thought was a tad steep for what I received but the location of being super central in central KL could not be bettered. Close enough to everything to be convenient but sufficiently far away enough not to be disturbed by traffic/people/nightlife noise.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Small, clean and very good value for money and close to the main shopping malls. it was a bit hidden, but follow the instruction giving by the host and you will have no problem to find it. The breakfast is average and the wifi works properly. Also there is a computer in the reception that you can use for free.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos City, Philippines
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

its unforgettable experience to meet new friends specially , the ones who made your stay a comfortable and a pleasant one..its neat and tidy place with moderate space enough for a guest to relax..but want i like the most is the pantry where I'm looking forward for the dish prepared for the day..or you can create your own breakfast...

to orange pekoe staff..thank you and more power.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We can recommend this cozy little hotel in the city centre of Kuala Lumpur!
When we arrived we didn't expect such a nice hotel as it look quite "budget" from the outside. But inside it looks very clean, cozy, modern, friendly with a lot of room which couldn't be seen from the outside. The staff received us in a very friendly way and we got a lot of good recommendations for the city.
The rooms are really big, absolutely clean and with modern furniture. And it is quiet and you can have a good nights sleep.
The bathrooms are clean as well and have warm water.
In the morning you have to prepare your breakfast on your own, but the kitchen is big and offers anything you need.
The hotel is situated in the city centre of Kuala Lumpur, about a 10 minute walk from the Petronas Towers. There are sight seeing busses all around.
We would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed at Orange Pekoe last week for two nights and we fell in love with the place. The staff is friendly, the rooms are neatly kept and the premises are really well-maintained. The staff can help you with to plan your routes as well as make reservations to nearby places, if required. We found the location to be extremely good. You can confortably stroll to Petronas, Bukit Bintang, Changkat and Jalan Alor. I have put a few pics and a lengthier review of the place on my blog
http://skimble-scamble.blogspot.in/2013/05/orange-pekoe-guesthouse-our-stay-in-kl.html

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

it is my second stay in orange pekoe. Same like my review before, the room is clean, comfort and the hotel is closed to monorail rajachulan and monorail bukit bintang.

from the orange pekoe, you can go to Alor Street to eat.

The Staff is Helpful and can give some advice if you dont know about Kuala Lumpur.

Near the guesthouse, you can looking around Kuala Lumpur by GO KL Free Bus.

Room Tip: Family Room (4 Person) is comfort and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Orange Pekoe Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orange Pekoe Guesthouse

Address: No. 1-1, Jalan Angsoka | Off Jalan Nagasari, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia (Formerly The Nest)
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 267 B&Bs / Inns in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Orange Pekoe (formerly known as The Nest), our award-winning guesthouse in downtown KL. Located on a quiet side-road in the Golden Triangle area, Orange Pekoe is the perfect starting point for your KL adventure. Bukit Bintang’s shopping district, famous Jalan Alor with its countless local restaurants and the hip bar strip of Changkat Bukit Bintang are all just a 5 minutes stroll away. Free Wifi in all rooms, daily change of towels and safe boxes (Sup., Deluxe, Family Rooms) are all elements of the feel-good accommodation that we offer our guests. We accept Visa/Master/Amex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Orange Pekoe Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nest Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orange Pekoe Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.