We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cant wait to come back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orange Pekoe Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Orange Pekoe Guesthouse to your Saves list
Orange Pekoe Guesthouse
No. 1-1, Jalan Angsoka | Off Jalan Nagasari, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia (Formerly The Nest)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 265 Kuala Lumpur B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“cant wait to come back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

The Nest is very clean, in a quiet location, hard to find but definitely worth the effort. The staff are very helpful and the family room we stayed in had loads of space. Free breakfast and internet were great and its close to lots of cheap local restaurants and 10 minute walk to monorail station. If you need somewhere to stay in KL this is the place to go!! After staying in many places, this is the one my children never wanted to leave!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyrenite, Owner at Orange Pekoe Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Dear 639kjc, thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are particularly happy to hear that your kids liked The Nest - children certainly vote with their feet. So if they didn't want to leave, it is the biggest compliment we could get! Please come again. Until then, all the best from all of us here - your Nest Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    226
    44
    9
    5
See reviews for
72
223
75
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Have always stayed in a nearby hostel, but since that closed down we decided to try something new thos time. The Nest was an excellent choice! It is close to everything and is nice and clean. The staff are welcoming and has a lot of knowledge of the area. Free Internet, free breakfast, niced common area and balcony, 24 hour security, luggage storage and more. However, I wouldn't want to stay there alone as a girl, because the streets surrounding it are not the most welcoming. And the taxi driver used a long time to find it so it is best to show them on the Lonely Planet map where it is. Other than that I have only positive things to say about this hostel. Will recommend it for anybody wanting to stay close to CBD and shopping areas for a low cost. It is a great hostel!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyrenite, Owner at Orange Pekoe Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
Dear Miss TravelFreak, thank you for taking the time to write a review and for calling The Nest a "great place". On our website we have put up a local map as well as directions for taxi drivers. We hope that this will make it easy for everybody to reach our place in the heart of the city. Cheers, your Nest Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

This is now our second stay at the Nest during which we have stayed in 3 different types of rooms.

All have been very clean, comfortable and cozy. The rooms are a bit small but it is to be expected in KL at these prices. All the rooms have AC and Hot showers which function very well. The WIFI connection is very fast.

The staff are always friendly, welcoming, and professional.

The location is practical, close to monorail and to much of the Bukit Bintang shopping.

We've appreciated the great value of the Nest and will come back next time we are in KL.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyrenite, Owner at Orange Pekoe Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
Dear Samantha B, thank you for your review. We believe that a good guesthouse starts with a friendly and professional team. If we could live up to your expectations, we are glad and will pass on your compliments to everybody here. Best, your Nest Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

What a surprise!!! Cool, quiet, clean, well located, etc..... Very nice staff!!!! What else to say....we stayed there for nights, and that guest house has really been our "nest"!!! Do not hesitate and book, you won't be disapointed!!!

Room Tip: Number 27!!! Huge room 1 double, and 2 single!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyrenite, Owner at Orange Pekoe Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
Dear Orlando1972, thank you for your feedback and the Whouaouhhhhh that you have awarded us. We are happy that you experienced our feel-good accommodation in the heart of KL and wish you all the best! Cheers, your Nest Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

A really nice hostel with clean rooms and somewhat spacious (stayed at the deluxe double room). Private bathroom which worked fine for us, although the floor stays wet hours after a shower but no big deal. OK breakfast with toast, fruit (mostly bananas), jam, butter, tea and coffee (the latter two is free all day and night). The location is in the heart of Bukit Bintang where you A LOT of shopping malls, food courts, restaurants (especially on Jalan Alor), nightlife and much more so you wont get bored. Because of this it is somewhat noisy outside during nighttime as well but this shouldn't be a problem if you get yourself some earplugs.
The staff was really friendly. The helpfulness varied though. Depending on who was at the reception when you asked for something (i.e. how to get somewhere or checking accommodations in other parts of Malaysia) the response would vary greatly. Sometimes the staff would make the phone calls themselves and spend (what it seemed) an hour to find out how things were. Other times we would just get a short two word answer. And this was actually after asking the SAME question twice to two separate staff members during the same day. This actually changed our route through Malaysia in the end (for the better) so I think it's pretty important thing to get right.
This doesn't change the fact that this is a really nice and clean hostel which we would recommend to anyone and if we were to come back to KL again, we would surely book it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

hubby and i, together with our friends from Manila stayed here for 5 nights and never had any problems at all. the place is spot on in every aspect. the staff are well rounded and very approachable, we never encountered any impolite or rough attitude from them.

though nothing is fancy with the breakfast fare, it is enough to fill you. kitchen is spic and span, rooms are all tidy and surprisingly huge considering the price that you pay for it.

hubby and i have been to Kuala Lumpur a couple of times and we just regret that this place wasn't yet around during our previous visits to KL. Nevertheless, our stay here was all worth it.

another thing, despite its proximity to the entertainment hub of KL, the place is relatively quiet and will give you a peaceful sleep at night.

Room Tip: all the rooms are relatively quiet. you just need to book earlier since the place tends to be fille...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyrenite, Owner at Orange Pekoe Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Dear desolate_tigress, it was a pleasure to have you and your husband as our guests and we are happy to hear that you like our place. The Nest is supposed to be a place where you can relax, chill and recharge your batteries in a nice, friendly and personal environment. When you call this "haven", we have achieved our goal. Please come again! Your Nest Tream
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Don't be fooled by the decrepit and old buildings surrounding this cozy little enclave called "The Nest". Located in an extremely convenient location that is a few minutes walk from Bukit Bintang and Raja Chulan monorail station, it provided my partner and I easy access to the tourist attractions and megamalls in the area. We were here from Singapore for only a couple nights and just needed a simple accommodation, and The Nest provided us with all of the basic necessities.

Not only that, the services provided by the hotel staff were remarkable! Fresh towels were exchanged for free on request and they were very helpful in directing us to shopping locations nearby (a free map was provided) and one even recommended us a popular Mexican restaurant, El Cerdo, nearby for dinner (which we found it really good). They were really friendly too, and had long conversations with them.

Guests here are generally quiet and decent as most are backpackers and are willing to start a friendly conversation. We'll definitely visit again next month!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyrenite, Owner at Orange Pekoe Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Dear Andy L, thank you for your review! We are glad to know that you like our little guesthouse and are looking forward to having you and your partner stay with us again next month. For now, cheers from KL to SG - will see you soon! Your Nest Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Orange Pekoe Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orange Pekoe Guesthouse

Address: No. 1-1, Jalan Angsoka | Off Jalan Nagasari, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia (Formerly The Nest)
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 265 B&Bs / Inns in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Orange Pekoe (formerly known as The Nest), our award-winning guesthouse in downtown KL. Located on a quiet side-road in the Golden Triangle area, Orange Pekoe is the perfect starting point for your KL adventure. Bukit Bintang’s shopping district, famous Jalan Alor with its countless local restaurants and the hip bar strip of Changkat Bukit Bintang are all just a 5 minutes stroll away. Free Wifi in all rooms, daily change of towels and safe boxes (Sup., Deluxe, Family Rooms) are all elements of the feel-good accommodation that we offer our guests. We accept Visa/Master/Amex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Orange Pekoe Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nest Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orange Pekoe Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.