We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and private” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Reggae Mansion Kuala Lumpur

Save Saved
You added Reggae Mansion Kuala Lumpur to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Reggae Mansion Kuala Lumpur
49 - 59, Jalan Tun H.S. Lee, Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very clean and private”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I stayed in a 32bed mixed dorm - I couldn't have chosen better! The beds offer a great deal of privacy and I found it quite comfy! The staff clean the rooms daily to keep it extremely clean! The room IO stayed in was very large and comfortably accomodated everyone staying in there. It also contained 2 air conditioners and 3 fans which meant we were all comfy!

The beds had the curtain at the front for privacy and within your bed (I called it a 'cubby house') you also have a light and a power point - this was fantastic!

The resturant was ok - prices a tad high, staff very nice and one even taught me how to use chop sticks during one of my visits!!

The building and interior itself is very nice and makes you feel right at home from the moment you get there! The only downfall I found was that because there were so many people there and so many different areas, if you wanted to sit and meet new people you had to go out of your way to start talking to someone... it wasn't a problem but just not as intermate as other hostels.

Over all I was very impressed with everything! Staff very friendly, food was good, roof top bar was good to chill but nothing overly exciting, and mostly rooms very nice, spacious and clean!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    175
    99
    26
    6
    13
See reviews for
5
53
97
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Set in an old mansion, this place is a wonderful maze of rooms, halls, stairways and good atmosphere. The place is pretty big considering it's a hostel, but they manage to keep the intimate feeling by having lots of smaller dorms (they have a big 24 one too though).

Everything looks new and everything just works. Bunk beds are holes in the wall, so you won't be disturbed every time someone crawls into the upper/lower bunk. They are all supplied with lights, power supply and storage and the beds are wide and could easily fit a couple.

They feature a cinema as well, but that's kind of a rip off. You would naturally think that it would be free to watch a movie when it's inhouse, but it costs 7rm for the movie (9rm in a real cinema down in KLCC!!). To their defense, the 7rm includes a soda and popcorn.

The restaurant they have attached is not backpacker-friendly though. It's quite expensive and just a soda goes for 5rm which is over double the prize of any street kitchen.

But let's end an overall good review with a good thing. Their super awesome rooftop bar is a killer! Everything roof top bar generally is, but this one has a big screen for sports events, a rather cheap bar (8rm for drinks), a fantastic view of the tv tower and the twin towers. And there's a good vibe everyday up there!

I'd go again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This hostel was 5 star quality! It's immaculately clean and huge. I stayed in an 8 bed dorm and it was wonderful. Each bed is covered on 3 sides by walls and has a curtain to cover the 4th side. It's like you're in your own little pod. Each bed has its own electric socket, bright light (not a lame one just for reading), a mirror that opens into more storage, and your own storage compartment for your belongings. Even when everyone in the room was sleeping, I could chill in my pod with my light on writing in my notebook, reading, or whatever without having to feel bad that the light was on. The AC is on in the room 24/7 so it's always nice and cool. The top bunks are really hard to climb into so if you think that will bother you, request a bottom bunk.

The bathrooms are separate just a step right outside the door. Each bathroom has a toilet and shower and there are about 8 bathrooms to choose from. I never once had an issue of it being too crowded or having to wait for one. The whole mansion is modern and everything is in working condition.

The rooftop bar was really cool. It was low season when I was here so it wasn't too packed up there when I went but I could just imagine how crazy it gets during high season. A great place to meet other travelers. The train station is a 2 minute walk away and it's easy to get to the airport, twin towers, or whatever other landmark you'd like to go.

The only bad thing I'd say is that we got ripped off by booking a taxi through the front desk to head to the airport. We got charged up front and we saw the front desk collect about 40% of our money from the cab driver. He even let the meter run so we saw that we got charged double the price than the meter would have cost, and he just pocketed the rest. I'd suggest you call or waive down a meter taxi yourself to the airport. Or better yet just take the train- we took the train on the way to Reggae but our flight was so early when we left that we were lazy and called a cab.

Room Tip: if you don't want loud music pumping in all hours of the night, request a non-party dorm. The to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We had a fantastic time at a renovated, historic hostel/hotel. The design is light and airy, the building divided so that loud music wasn't an issue and our only complaint is that the computers, drinks and food can be a little pricy and travelers are left without the option of eating and drinking in the common area. That being said, the common areas are stylish, clean and very comfortable.

Room Tip: Do not get a room adjacent to the common area as they share a window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

We stated here for two nights in August on a recommendation from a fellow traveller. The hostel is clean and the beds are HUGE - a private light plug and mirrored cupboard are found in each bunk. This is definitely a 'party' hostel - the rooftop bar is pumping music until the early hours even if the crowd has fizzled. We stayed on the first floor and could hardly hear the music but had definitely chatted with ppl who found the volume level quite high on upper floors

Also we found the upper 'bunk' to be a challenge to get in and out of - they are easily 7 feet off the ground and the rungs on the ladder are spaced quite wide.

The location is fantastic and allows you to get around with ease - the front desk has lots of tours and activities to recommend but they need more than one person working as I never saw fewer than 4 or 5 people waiting in line

Overall a great hostel aimed at a younger crowd!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

This hostel is a must for anyone visiting KL. It's in a great location between Chinatown and little India and a two min walk from the train station.
Rooms and bathrooms are spotlessly clean, dorms have pod like beds so there is still some privacy. Excellent storage space for each pod also big enough for all baggage.
Room is great value for money and a basic breakfast is included. Avoid drinks and meals here as it is more than twice the price of going out and buying it.
It is a party hostel and the rooftop terrace is fab but if you need silence to sleep this probably isn't for you.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights, fleeting visit through KL. absolutely spotless hostel/mansion. Roof top bar easy to meet people. Outdoor area where everyone has free breakfast. Dorms include individual 'pods' as little bedrooms with own light, plug sockets, safety locker. Activities on during the day and night - great day city tour by the hostel :) loved this place!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Reggae Mansion Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reggae Mansion Kuala Lumpur

Address: 49 - 59, Jalan Tun H.S. Lee, Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 133 Specialty lodging in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by towering skyscrapers and buildings in Kuala Lumpur, Reggae Mansion is a colonial style building which invokes a sense of nostalgia both to locals and visitors which is scarce these days. Happily, these nostalgic feelings are now captured by Reggae Mansion KL with its unspoiled, colonial charm reminiscent to days gone by. The Reggae Mansion Hostel, Kitchen and Bar is the newest and most funky place in town. We are located in the heart of bustling China Town in a beautifully renovated 3-storey building. This is KL’s most happening and atmospheric hostel for international travellers. Our bar serves a wide range of *ALCOHOLIC drinks and the kitchen offers our famous WESTERN and ASIAN food menus *NON HALAL. Our comfy outdoor terraced area and garden is a hub for travellers from all over the world to meet, share stories and party. We have so much to offer, you will never want to leave!! Our facilities include:• Free continental breakfast with tea/coffee & fruits• Internet station with skype headphones• Free WIFI throughout the mansion• Safety deposit box at reception & in private rooms• Filtered drinking water dispenses on every floor• IDD call phones• Door card access key• Coin operated Laundrette• Bar & restaurant• Guest courtyard with BBQ area• Sky bar on the roof (Unobstructed view overlooking the Twin Towers & KL Tower)• Transfer service to Airport (chargeable)We even bring you a 40 seat cinema room (Equip with latest high-tech THX sound) for your entertainment experience. In-room facilities feature 2 power points and reading lamp for every bed, free lockers (padlock for sale) in the dorms, AC in all rooms. Universal adapters, irons, hair dryers/straighteners available for free rental. Free shampoo/shower gel, linen, blanket and towel. Cable Satellite LCD TV in private rooms. Our Reggae Tours help organise and arrange all sorts of exciting activities and tours around Malaysia. We also operate an exclusive city tour for our in-house guests. PLEASE TAKE NOTICE BEFORE MAKING A BOOKING• Wheel chair is not accessible since our hostel has no lift. • Reggae Mansion is a backpacker and party hostel. We have an age limit to 60 years old above.• We do not accept online bookings from Malaysia, India and middle east countries. Bookings made and paid online by these countries shall not be refundable. We accept walk in check in only for these countries and it is subjected to the room availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Reggae Mansion Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reggae Mansion Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reggae Mansion Kuala Lumpur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.