We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice budget hotel, in the heart of city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lotus Family Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Lotus Family Hotel to your Saves list
Lotus Family Hotel
No.45, Jalan Melayu | Off Jalan Tun Perak, Kuala Lumpur 50100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #99 of 274 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice budget hotel, in the heart of city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

The hotel fits all the parameters, incase looking for a budget hotel. The best part is the location. it is next to an LRT interchange and market. The rooms are clean, though not big and the amenities basic.

The people are nice at reception and not like normal weary employee looks.
The food might be a let down as the hotel gives a voucher redeamable at resturants nearby. However, food itself is cheap in Malaysia and therefore not a big issue.

Overall enjoyed

Room Tip: none..though higher floors at better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    47
    20
    6
    3
See reviews for
20
29
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

The Lotus hotel is really well located in Little India, right opposite Masjid Jamek station and within walking distance of Chinatown and the famous night markets.

I found the room very comfortable and good value. The reception staff were friendly, and the nightstaff in particular were very helpful with recommendations for Indian restaurants nearby.

I really enjoyed staying at the lotus, and particularly valued the fact that I felt very safe and non-hassled, as a solo female traveller.

I would definitely go back. Its a safe bet, very good location and good value.

Room Tip: I particularly liked having a room overlooking the street so I could glimpse the bustle of the stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murcia, Spain
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

This hotel is well appointed in the 'golden triangle' and adjacent to the Masjid Jamek rail. The reception staff were very ploite but not everly helpful?
The rooms were neat and tidy and kept very clean except a dirty cloth to clean the room was left on the floor. The room was rather on the small side and a lot of noise was heard from adjacent rooms.
The so called 'breakfast' was a disaster. We were given a voucher and had a choice of the nearby Jaihind or President Restraunt. We first went to the Jaihind, sat down and was then ignored whilst the person in charge served those who came in after us, After 20 minutes of being ignored, I informed the staff member that he was rude and ignorant and left. We went to the President where service was a little better but the food was of a poor standard and served cold.
Informing the head receptionist of the hotel about our experience, I may as well as saved my breath as he was not interested in what I had to say.
Sorry but would not return again

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

staying at the hotel currently,looked for many hotels on trip advisor as it was our first time in kl....booked for a superior room thinking it would be spacious, got a shock when we saw the room it was triangular room...with some dirty piplines seen through the window which was closed....approached the manager of the hotel...asking him to shift, he gave us a standard room very tiny and small on the 8th floor for which we had to carry our luggage from 7 th to 8th floor as there is no lift after 7th floor....other wise the hotel is ok for bufget travellers....in the midst of market places .....but would strongly recommend staying close to bukit bintang even if the rooms are a little more expensive its worth it...

Room Tip: go for a standard room it at all ....the superior are all triangular
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Close to the train and markets and cheap local food. Daily room cleaning and complementary snacks. The room was quite small, and the sound from the mosque at prayer times can be quite loud. It woke us up the first morning, but not after that.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We often visit KL on a short term basis, so good and clean amenities, easy access to public transportation is a must. You will find it in Lotus.
Hotel is situated in 30 sec walk from LRT/MRT station Masjid Jamek. Very clean and modern rooms (not spacious, but enough to stay to overnight), free WiFi, breakfast in the neighboring canteens in the Little India district, friendly and helpful staff.
Definitely will stay their many more times.

Room Tip: some rooms are facing another building and they are dark, higher floors have a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Good clean and modern rooms. A bit noisy between rooms and it's right near the Mosque so you hear the prayers throughout the day, but it didn't bother me. I didn't try the breakfast, but the restaurants where you could have breakfast didn't look very appealing. Overall very good for the price.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lotus Family Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Family Hotel

Address: No.45, Jalan Melayu | Off Jalan Tun Perak, Kuala Lumpur 50100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 274 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Masjid India, you will be pampered with the abundance of shops selling traditional clothings and soveniers.The Masjid Jamek LRT Station is right beside our Hotel.Guests will be able to tour attraction spots such as the Twin Towers, Merdeka Square, K.L.Tower, China Town,National Monument and many more places with public transport that is so very easily avaialable right at our doorstep.At the Lotus Hotel, you will experience "HOSPITALITY IN A TRUE MALAYSIAN WAY" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Lotus Family Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lotus Family Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.